Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-07, 12:36 PM   #1
s.beam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default wrong rez on Acer AL1916W

Hello

I am getting the wrong resolution on an Acer AL1916W LCD - I am getting 1400x1050

the max rez of this monitor is 1440x900 - which is also a different ratio so everything looks d-i-s-t-o-r-t-e-d
http://www.acer.com.sg/products/moni...toral1916w.asp

under nvidia-settings there is no option for 1440x900 at all.

works fine with the nv driver with the normal Display settings in xorg.conf

I tried all the following options as well pulled from other threads:
#Option "Metamodes" "1440x900_60"
#Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
#Option "UseEDIDFreqs" "false"
#Option "UseEDID" "false"

but nothing had any positive effect. Seems like EDID overrides it no matter what, and if the driver can't use it I get 600x400

Please let me know how to fix. Thanks!

s.am
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (85.0 KB, 93 views)
s.beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 12:48 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: wrong rez on Acer AL1916W

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 01:52 PM   #3
s.beam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: wrong rez on Acer AL1916W

here it is, I think
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (32.4 KB, 124 views)
s.beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 11:22 PM   #4
s.beam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: wrong rez on Acer AL1916W

bump da bump - any potential workaround for this?
thanks
s.beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 11:41 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: wrong rez on Acer AL1916W

Please try adding the following option:
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 05:44 AM   #6
s.beam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: wrong rez on Acer AL1916W

thank you!! that nailed it
s.beam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer to Offer PBS Pro in Pre-configured Clusters News Archived News Items 0 06-24-12 11:30 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.