Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-07, 07:19 AM   #1
Abraxus#
Registered User
 
Abraxus#'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 273
Default I was right to be afraid...

Ok, I have put together my new computer (E6600, Commando, Geil PC6400C4 2GB, GTS 320, Maxtor diamondmax plus 9 HDD, tagan 420w psu) and I am getting some seriously annoying issues. I formatted the HDD and re-installed windows XP so it should all be fresh and new, also I flashed to bios to the new version (0803). One weird thing was that the memory was detected as 5,5,5,16 , when its mean to be 4,4,4,12, but that is the only obvious problem I ccan see with the hardware.

Temps of the processor and GFX ard are fine and everything is detected by the system and I have installed all the neccessary drivers but for some reason I get processes crashing regularly, from general folders to dvd's, to installations. Also, a lot of things I double click on take ages to open or dont open at at all.

At first I thought it was a problem with the hard drive but it was working fine on my old setup and I didn't touch it during the upgrade. Then I thought it may be a memory problem, whih seems likely due to the erratic behaviour. Also I guess it could be a psu problem but 420w should be fine.

I'm at a loss to explain this so maybe you can help, thanks.
__________________
Core2Quad Q9550
ASUS Commando
4GB Kingston HyperX PC2 8500
EVGA GTX 260 216
Intel X25M G2 160GB SSD
X-Fi Xtreme Music
Corsair TX 650
Samsung SM226BW
Abraxus# is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 07:43 AM   #2
OldOfEvil
Parrots + Xanax =
 
OldOfEvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 662
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

I would check your PSU, that seems a bit anemic for all that stuff.
__________________
i5 3570k | Sabertooth z77 | GTX 680 (320.49) | 16GB DDR2 | Win7 x64 Pro
OldOfEvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 07:53 AM   #3
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Try disconnecting a few of those 9 HDDs you have and see if it helps. If it does, it's a PSU problem.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 09:38 AM   #4
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Try disconnecting a few of those 9 HDDs you have and see if it helps. If it does, it's a PSU problem.
Maxtor diamondmax plus 9 is just the name of the HD.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 11:22 AM   #5
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Have you tried running Memtest and orthos? The PSU is barely over the minimum (400w) and it should put out 26A on the +12v line
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 12:48 PM   #6
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Out of curiosity. Why did you build a system like that, and go cheap on the PSU?

Like the others have said. It wouldn't surprise me if that is the culprit.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 12:59 PM   #7
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abraxus#
Ok, I have put together my new computer (E6600, Commando, Geil PC6400C4 2GB, GTS 320, Maxtor diamondmax plus 9 HDD, tagan 420w psu) and I am getting some seriously annoying issues. I formatted the HDD and re-installed windows XP so it should all be fresh and new, also I flashed to bios to the new version (0803). One weird thing was that the memory was detected as 5,5,5,16 , when its mean to be 4,4,4,12, but that is the only obvious problem I ccan see with the hardware.

Temps of the processor and GFX ard are fine and everything is detected by the system and I have installed all the neccessary drivers but for some reason I get processes crashing regularly, from general folders to dvd's, to installations. Also, a lot of things I double click on take ages to open or dont open at at all.

At first I thought it was a problem with the hard drive but it was working fine on my old setup and I didn't touch it during the upgrade. Then I thought it may be a memory problem, whih seems likely due to the erratic behaviour. Also I guess it could be a psu problem but 420w should be fine.

I'm at a loss to explain this so maybe you can help, thanks.
This is probably happening due to the psu, but I just switched my mobo because the other one died , and now I'm having problems with my HDD for some absurd reason. So you could try switching cables, trying other drivers or something.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 01:38 PM   #8
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Maxtor diamondmax plus 9 is just the name of the HD.
That's what I thought..9 hard drives is a little excessive. I don't think even Venturi has 9.

But, I would go with the PSU. I haven't heard much from that brand at all so I can't vouge for it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-07, 01:55 PM   #9
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Maxtor diamondmax plus 9 is just the name of the HD.
LOL. I thought he was saying "plus I have 9 HDD."
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 01:56 PM   #10
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearclaw
That's what I thought..9 hard drives is a little excessive. I don't think even Venturi has 9.

But, I would go with the PSU. I haven't heard much from that brand at all so I can't vouge for it.
Venturi has Tagan PSUs--LOL. And I think he has at least 8 drives, if not more.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 02:00 PM   #11
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Venturi has Tagan PSUs--LOL. And I think he has at least 8 drives, if not more.
Ya, I am not even sure, it's a lot though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 02:15 PM   #12
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

You need to upgrade to a 500+ watt PSU for futureproofing that system.

With that 8800 on there, you need to have a clean and steady stream of power. Most of that system is very energy efficent, but the 8800 is a power hog. Don't skimp on the PSU.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(FleshEatingZipper) E3 2012 ' Derek Smart Isn't Afraid Of PlanetSide 2 With Line News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.