Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-07, 04:19 PM   #13
Abraxus#
Registered User
 
Abraxus#'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 273
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Ok, cheers for the replies. I (fingers crossed) have solved the problem, I formatted again and made sure I installed the drivers in the right order, there were some chipset inf drivers on the Mobo cd that I forgot to install right away last time. I haven't had any of the system instability this time ....yet...

As for the psu, I had it in my old system and a new one would have added another £100 that I didn't really want to pay. The manual for the motherboard says about 360w is needed for a setup like mine so I figured i'd be ok. I may get a new one when I feel the need to overclock.

what the hell would I want nine HDD's for? there isn't enough data in the world to fill that many high capacity ones!

I was feeling pretty crap about the whole upgrade last night, thinking of the hassle of sending all this stuff back. I dont think i'll ever do a major upgrade again, it is way too stressful.

Today my new 22" WS Samsung sm-226bw arrived and I was cheerful again, dammit, this thing is HUGE, way better than the 17"crt I had before!
__________________
Core2Quad Q9550
ASUS Commando
4GB Kingston HyperX PC2 8500
EVGA GTX 260 216
Intel X25M G2 160GB SSD
X-Fi Xtreme Music
Corsair TX 650
Samsung SM226BW
Abraxus# is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 04:48 PM   #14
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

I have an old computer I use just to dick around with Linux on and it even has a 500W PSU. For your setup I would get no less than 600W to play it safe. But if you got things working then all is good I guess
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 09:35 PM   #15
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

With all you have I would except you to see more crashes later on even if it is working right now ,because a 420 watt power supply just is not enough for what you are running and a power supply is something you do not want to skimp on.And since the spec's I have seen only rate the Targan 12v rail at
22amps You do not have enough power to be running all you have the 8800GTS 320mb recomends at power supply of at least 26amps.I would look to have farther problems in the future due to the power supply that is under rated for all that yo have running on it.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 09:47 PM   #16
VW_Factor
Registered User
 
VW_Factor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 16
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Try disconnecting a few of those 9 HDDs you have and see if it helps. If it does, it's a PSU problem.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by red_star
If you ask me Bible is a significant Scientific Book as well, if you want to call it like that.
VW_Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 11:15 PM   #17
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abraxus#
what the hell would I want nine HDD's for? there isn't enough data in the world to fill that many high capacity ones!
Haha. There was somebody a few weeks ago that posted about his 8 750GB Seagate HD's that he had.....he had a lot of DVD's backed up...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 12:05 AM   #18
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

You really need to upgrade that PSU. When you can aquire the funds, the PSU needs to be your top priority for your system. It may be sufficient right now, but add one more component to that system, and it's possible that you will encounter some less that favorible problems. ie random restarts, BSOD's, etc.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 02:47 AM   #19
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Hey, some guys run some crazy RAID setups where they use 8+ HDD's, aight? I thought he may have been one of those with the way he worded that sentence.

Maybe I've just been spending too much time on Xtremesystems, though. They're less common over here.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 03:56 AM   #20
Abraxus#
Registered User
 
Abraxus#'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 273
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

I'm not sure about 420w being insufficient. It says pretty clearly in the Commando manual that for a system with a 2.93 GHz conroe, 2gb ram, 1 8800(gtx or gts), 4 sata hdd's, 1 ide hdd and 1 dvd drive that 394 watts is needed at full load and standard load is about 290w. Also the 'extreme' psu calculator says around 300w. My psu goes up to 500w max (roughly).

I wouldn't have though ASUS would write those figures unless they had actually tested them.

As for the having multiple HDD's, there is no way I could fill those things up, it would make everything so damn slow, I only have about 70GB of data on my 120GB HDD right now.
__________________
Core2Quad Q9550
ASUS Commando
4GB Kingston HyperX PC2 8500
EVGA GTX 260 216
Intel X25M G2 160GB SSD
X-Fi Xtreme Music
Corsair TX 650
Samsung SM226BW
Abraxus# is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-07, 08:58 AM   #21
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Still, 500-watts should be a minimum for an enthusiast as it gives room for overclocking and such. 420-watt PSU may be great on stock, but load that up with a couple more components, and you run into trouble.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 09:04 AM   #22
krocodile
Registered User
 
krocodile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abraxus#
I'm not sure about 420w being insufficient. It says pretty clearly in the Commando manual that for a system with a 2.93 GHz conroe.
manual, what is that we don't need no stinking manuals. I recently had to upgrade my PS, and I'm running a 4800+, I was pulling to much on my 510W and had some squirlyness about my computer. Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't power supplies tend to lose their efficiency over time?
__________________
Intel i7 LGA 2011 Quad Core (HT @ 3.6Ghz)
Asus Sabertooth X79
ZALMAN CNPS12X CPU Cooler
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 (PC3-1866)
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III 850W
eVGA 770 (2GB) x 2 in SLI
2 x 1TB WD VelociRaptor (SATA 6)
PCIe Sound Blaster Z
Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Win 7 Ult. (64 bit)
krocodile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 05:02 PM   #23
Abraxus#
Registered User
 
Abraxus#'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 273
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

I don't know what I would have done without the manual, destroyed the lot most likely.

On a bit of a tangent: for some reason my Geil PC6400 4-4-4-12 ram was set to 5-6-6-18 initially, which is pretty crap. I just set it to the proper values and everything seems fine, still at 800mhz, why would it have been autoset to those values?
__________________
Core2Quad Q9550
ASUS Commando
4GB Kingston HyperX PC2 8500
EVGA GTX 260 216
Intel X25M G2 160GB SSD
X-Fi Xtreme Music
Corsair TX 650
Samsung SM226BW
Abraxus# is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 05:32 PM   #24
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: I was right to be afraid...

Most likely the bios detected the wrong values or set the wrong values.

Sometimes you just have to manually set them. I have to.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(FleshEatingZipper) E3 2012 ' Derek Smart Isn't Afraid Of PlanetSide 2 With Line News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.