Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-07, 09:07 AM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default How do my overclocks look?

Im pretty new to this overclocking... especially with my new intel(just switched from AMD)... after looking about on the net and afew days messing with the bios i finally got round to overclocking(what i think is the right way lol) anyways im after some people that actually know how to overclock intels correctly to tell me if this looks ok and if theres anything i could change to better it!..... it runs stable and the temps in the pic(below)are idle temps!

I have it set as follows....

FSB - 333
DRAM Frequency - 833MHz
Memory Voltage - 2.00v
CPU VCore Voltage - 1.4000v
(Everything else in the bios is on auto)

Does every thing look ok?(safe)

Any input is grateful....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	overclock.JPG
Views:	162
Size:	111.6 KB
ID:	24513  
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:24 AM   #2
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

UPDATE:

Well i managed to get the Memory Voltage down to 1.95v and stable, if i lower the voltage any lower my system hangs at boot!

Do you think the memory is ok overclocked that far(832MHz)? it normally runs at 667MHz!
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:36 AM   #3
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

How do you test for stability

I would use core temp to check temperatures not pc probe.
And going by pc probe if your cores are really 40c. That is at 2 Ghz. Not 3 Ghz.
Running at 3 Ghz is going to be hotter.

Cpu-Z says 1996mhz.

I can only assume you have cpu throttling options enabled in the bios.
What they do is when your cpu isn't being used, it lowers the clock speed. Conserves power and heat when the cpu isn't in use.
When you do need the power, the clock speed increases.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:45 AM   #4
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
I can only assume you have cpu throttling options enabled in the bios.
What they do is when your cpu isn't being used, it lowers the clock speed. Conserves power and heat when the cpu isn't in use.
When you do need the power, the clock speed increases.
Is there anyway i can disable this cpu throttling option in the bios so i can try afew tests?.... what option will it be under in the bios?

How long is needed to run intel thermal analysis tool for?...i ran it for 15mins with 100% workload level and neither core past 56c at 3000MHz!
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 11:15 AM   #5
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlieTheSecond
I can only assume you have cpu throttling options enabled in the bios.
What they do is when your cpu isn't being used, it lowers the clock speed. Conserves power and heat when the cpu isn't in use.
When you do need the power, the clock speed increases.
I checked in the power options in the control panel and set the power schemes to minimal power management and this is what happened...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v355/ATOJAR/other.jpg

As you can see in the first picture(my first post)it says the cpu is running at 3.0GHz where as with minimal power management it runs at 1.98GHz.....

intel thermal analysis tool says the same thing 3000MHz with home/office desk and 2000MHz with minimal power management
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 11:54 AM   #6
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

Disable C1E Enhanced Halt State, will stop CPU Throttling. You can reach 3.0GHz without any voltage increase at all.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 12:36 PM   #7
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

If it doesn't pass Orthos it ain't stable
http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm

I like to run it for a day (24h) to make sure but most are happy with 8+ hours.
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 12:54 PM   #8
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,054
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nick
If it doesn't pass Orthos it ain't stable
http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm

I like to run it for a day (24h) to make sure but most are happy with 8+ hours.
Agreed, it has to pass orthos for at least 8 hours.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-07, 01:52 PM   #9
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nick
If it doesn't pass Orthos it ain't stable
Thanks ill give that a try tonight(overnight)and see what happenes!

After disabling C1E Support(cpu throttling)in the bios i ran the intel thermal analysis tool for 20-30 mins and the temps didnt go past 60c with 100% workload(and the central heating on, its cold here in england lol)!.... the cpu sits idle at around 45c! are these temps normal for a 3.0GHz overclock?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 01:55 PM   #10
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

Idles higher then mine but it don't reach as high of a core temp as mine. Mine idles at 40c, and on load gets around 44-56c depending on what I am doing to load it. Encoding a DVD Video its about 47c.

On that digital thing yeah at around 70c if I have it O/C. It climbs up to 65c. I need better cooling.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 01:58 PM   #11
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

Forgot to add this :P
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	overclock.JPG
Views:	152
Size:	141.6 KB
ID:	24519  
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 02:01 PM   #12
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: How do my overclocks look?

Run that Orthos test and get back to us.

Just some advice for the longrun, in case you find you have more headroom in your chip (which you likely will): make sure that you keep your fsb and memory running 1:1 ratio (look in CPU-z) (also do you have the latest version of CPUZ? The clocks are off, from your dropped multiplier)

you can also run a higher fsb with a lower multi (which it looks like you are doing), Conroes get quite a boost from having higher bus speeds.
but your maximum performance will always be the highest FSB you can acheive with a 1:1 ratio.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.