Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-07, 06:02 PM   #1
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,721
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

Intel® Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe Processor 2.4GHz, 1066FSB, LGA775, 4MB Cache Retail

or.......

Intel® Xeon Processor 3060 2.4GHz 1066MHz LGA775 65nm 2MB L2 Cache Dual Core Retail

What the hell chip is better?!?!! I can get both for the same exact price and to be honest I don't have a clue which one would be better. Any help you can give me would be great. I could not find anything on google that really would help me out on this.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 460 1GB GDDR5 (Currently @ 835MHz Core / 4200MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-07, 07:30 PM   #2
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

The Duo is better as it has more cache. Also the Xeon is a multi (server/workstation) processor so you can have more then one CPU while the core2 you can only use one in a system.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-07, 07:40 PM   #3
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

If you are going for OC then go for the Xeon, at stock the Duo is better.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-07, 07:46 PM   #4
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazz
The Duo is better as it has more cache. Also the Xeon is a multi (server/workstation) processor so you can have more then one CPU while the core2 you can only use one in a system.
They look the same to me

Xeon 3060
64 bit Support: Yes
FSB: 1066MHz
Hyper-Threading Support: No
L1 Cache: 32KB+32KB
L2 Cache: 4M shared
Manufacturing Tech: 65 nm
Multi-Core: Dual-Core
Processors Type: Server
Series: Xeon

Core 2 Duo E6600
64 bit Support: Yes
FSB: 1066MHz
Hyper-Threading Support: No
L1 Cache: 32KB+32KB
L2 Cache: 4M shared
Manufacturing Tech: 65 nm
Multi-Core: Dual-Core
Processors Type: Desktop
Series: Core 2 Duo
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-07, 08:17 PM   #5
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

They have the same cache They are practically the same CPU.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-07, 08:27 PM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

Well he labled it as 2MB so i don't know. The only diffrence is the Xeon can work with more processors of the same model. So with the Duo you can have 1x 6600 or with the Xeon you can have 1 x 2 3060.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-07, 11:26 PM   #7
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,721
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

I was just curious if there was some subtle difference I was not aware of that would make one better than the other. I never plan on using 2 CPU's in the same machine but OC quality is always a plus. Baaaa... so many options! That 2M is wrong .. should be 4M. I copied off ZipZoom... apperently they got the label wrong. Opps.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 460 1GB GDDR5 (Currently @ 835MHz Core / 4200MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-07, 11:57 PM   #8
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

After much reading... it appears that with the Xeon 3060 you have a better chance of getting a rev. "B" chip, which scales higher at lower voltages... I say go with the Xeon. Other than that they are the same, but Xeon's may be binned differently.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-18-07, 12:05 AM   #9
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
After much reading... it appears that with the Xeon 3060 you have a better chance of getting a rev. "B" chip, which scales higher at lower voltages... I say go with the Xeon. Other than that they are the same, but Xeon's may be binned differently.
Yeah, mines a rev B
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-07, 12:28 AM   #10
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

Xeon hands down,no contest.
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-07, 12:43 AM   #11
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

Xeon always, will be my next CPU, only quad
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-07, 07:38 AM   #12
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600

I do know the Xeon 3220 quads overclock alot better (FSB wise) then the Core2 Quad Q6600.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.