Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-07, 01:06 PM   #1
Labyrinth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 291
Default switching mobo's with same chipset?

Ok..here's my n00blet moment for the day..

If I'm switching mobo's with the same chipset, will I still need to do a format and new install of Windows?

Or do you think it would "hot swap"?

(i.e. going from a Asus Striker Extreme to an EVGA 680i mobo?)
__________________
New 24" Apple Aluminum iMac
C2D Extreme 2.8Ghz-- 24-inch glossy widescreen display -- 4GB memory -- 500GB hard drive -- 8x SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW) -- ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB memory -- Built-in iSight Camera

16GB IPod Touch (2nd Generation)
Labyrinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-07, 01:58 PM   #2
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: switching mobo's with same chipset?

I don't believe you have to do a format.

This is the exact reason I run an add-in RAID card. Ive used the same install through many upgrades with no issues.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-07, 03:18 PM   #3
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: switching mobo's with same chipset?

I'd say you should be okay....
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-07, 03:58 PM   #4
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: switching mobo's with same chipset?

technically if you uninstall all of the old drivers (and it must be every last one) you should be able to switch out a mobo with a whole new chipset all together. I enjoy doing a fresh install though every so often anyways to keep things clean
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-07, 05:33 PM   #5
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: switching mobo's with same chipset?

I recently swapped out a 965p ds3 for a p5b and all I had to do was reactivate windows. I didn't have to format
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-07, 07:31 AM   #6
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: switching mobo's with same chipset?

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
technically if you uninstall all of the old drivers (and it must be every last one) you should be able to switch out a mobo with a whole new chipset all together. I enjoy doing a fresh install though every so often anyways to keep things clean
I have ran into problems when switching chipsets that have different drive controllers, like going from an Intel chipset to an Nvidia one. Even after uninstalling all the old drivers, it was like windows couldnt find itself after it would start booting and then do a hard reset on its own.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-07, 10:01 AM   #7
jcniest5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN., USA
Posts: 678
Default Re: switching mobo's with same chipset?

Believe it or not, I just did a complete platform switch without reinstalling Windows XP Pro (going from NF4 SLI chipset to Intel P965). No BSOD, no lock, no problem whatsoever, so I said to myself, "The heck with new installation." I only did some driver refresh and uninstalled some old drivers (after it was running stable with the new chipset already), but other than that, it was a POC.
__________________
Asus Rampage Extreme with Intel E1400@3.2Ghz, 4GB (2x2GB) OCZ Platinum PC3-1600, EVGA GTX285 SC 1GB DDR3
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe 1.01G, AMD A64 X2 3800+, 2x1GB Ultra PC-3200, BFG 9600GT OC 512MB DDR3
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe, A64 3200 Venice, 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix PC-4000 and EVGA 7600GT 256MB DDR3
Abit KN8 Rev. 1.1, A64 3200+, 2x512MB Samsung PC-3700, MSI 8500GT 256MB DDR3
Gigabyte P4M900-M7 Rev. 7.0, Intel Celeron 440, 1GB Kingston, 6600LE
Gigabyte P4M900-M4 Rev. 6.1, P4 3Ghz Prescott, 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2, EVGA 8500GT 1GB DDR2
ECS L4VXA2, P4 2Ghz, 768MB and 6600GT AGP
jcniest5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-07, 11:52 AM   #8
Sem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 77
Default Re: switching mobo's with same chipset?

it depends on what other hardware you got but you should be fine

i went from a EVGA 680i to a Asus P5N32-E and then back to the EVGA 680i without any issue
Sem is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenGL apps crashing in NVIDIA driver when switching desktop dinosaur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-01-12 07:09 PM
Black screen after switching between graphical virtual consoles five times rrr-wtf NVIDIA Linux 1 05-21-12 04:40 PM
Where are nforce2 mobos? Fotis Rumor Mill 2 09-03-02 07:16 PM
tv-out on nForce mobos token NVIDIA Linux 3 08-14-02 11:27 AM
Ali M1541 chipset problem perun NVIDIA Linux 3 08-12-02 05:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.