Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-07, 08:59 PM   #109
thunderhippo
Quadcore Vista Confusion
 
thunderhippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: China
Posts: 187
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

Direct2Drive has it...
Downloading now.

http://www.direct2drive.com/2/3285/p...nobyl-Download
thunderhippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 09:00 PM   #110
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

Why would you pay $50 to download it when you can get it retail for $40?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 09:04 PM   #111
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Only for static lights though.
i've tried several ways to get it to work with dynamic lights & couldnt do it.
(ingame-app in CP , force from CP- disable ingame & force on both).
Did you try forcing an SSAA mode?
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 09:09 PM   #112
thunderhippo
Quadcore Vista Confusion
 
thunderhippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: China
Posts: 187
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

I dunno some people might live in Zanazabar or something.
Just trying to be helpful.

Stores don't have it here yet.
thunderhippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 09:14 PM   #113
tacos4me
 
tacos4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 531
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku
Why would you pay $50 to download it when you can get it retail for $40?
It's worth the extra $10 to me, since I don't have to leave my house and drive 120 miles to the nearest store that has a copy in stock.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 || Intel i7 920 @ 4.0GHz (20x200) || 6GB Corsair Dominator 1600 (1600MHz 8-8-8-24)
Radeon 4870 512MB x 2 || Dell 3007WFP || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 || X-Fi Fatality FPS || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
tacos4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 09:42 PM   #114
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

I'm getting some lock-ups in the game. I played about 40 minutes now it locks up after about 5 minutes in the game everytime.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 09:47 PM   #115
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

I'm loving this game so far...tons of fun. The weapons (the 9mm at least) are a tad underwhelming, but I assume once I get more powerful weapons, I'll be tearing **** up.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 09:48 PM   #116
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
Did you try forcing an SSAA mode?
Nope. besides , performance is barely ok for me @1600x1200,16xAF .. i dont want to make it even worse.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-21-07, 09:52 PM   #117
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Nope. besides , performance is barely ok for me @1600x1200,16xAF .. i dont want to make it even worse.
Well SSAA is real nice so going down a res (if you can) would look just as good as 1600 w/out AA and more likely even better...
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 10:08 PM   #118
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
Well SSAA is real nice so going down a res (if you can) would look just as good as 1600 w/out AA and more likely even better...
Well thats not the case in STALKER. going down to 1280x1024 didnt improve my performance much ... i think the high number of dynamic lights is seriously limiting the GPU power even at lower resolutions.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 10:19 PM   #119
MaXThReAT
GTX to the MaX
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

OMG, okay, six freaking years. I install in XP and it just locks my CPU 100% at the client synchronizing, no BSOD. PC doesn't respond the three finger salute and I reset over and over. Tried every setting I could. Gave up. Installed in Vista, loads perfectly to a blank sky background. Shut AA off in CP 2048x1536 looks jagglie, whatever I start playing. Go outside, massive stutters and lag. 2-3 min in, crash to the desktop over and over. So I go back to try XP, changed nothing, nothing. It works on the first load. WTF......six freakin years. O and no 5.1 audio.
__________________
Asrock z77 Extreme3 Intel i5 3470 @ 4.0Ghz
Gigabyte GTX660 OC 2GB
DDR3-1600 / 8Gig Ripjaw
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!
"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 10:37 PM   #120
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Well thats not the case in STALKER. going down to 1280x1024 didnt improve my performance much ... i think the high number of dynamic lights is seriously limiting the GPU power even at lower resolutions.
What are you guys changing? I'm at max settings 1920x1200 with dynamic lighting and it plays smooth as can be.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 11:45 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 12:38 PM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 07:54 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 10:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.