Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-07, 07:08 PM   #1
llavalle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

Ok, here's my setup :
GF7900GT(1) --> 20" samsung lcd (dvi)
GF7900GT(2) --> 17" LG lcd (vga)
GF7600GS(1) --> 17" LG lcd (vga).


When I use only the 7900GT in twinview mode, everything is fine. I know I must configure an extra screen for the second video card. I did it, and all 3 screens showed data. Mouse was going from one to the other OK... but one problem tho : xinerama would only report 2 screens instead of 3!

One on the 7600GS and one on the 7900GT (the 2 screens combined).
That's kind of frustating cause apps show their screens in the middle of the 2 rights monitor...

Is there a way to fix that?? (telling xinerama to distinguish between the 2 card and between the 2 screen on the 7900GT)

Here's my xorg.conf file :

Using drivers : 1.0-9755 and Xorg 1.1 on gentoo

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 1280 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath         "/usr/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "LG L1720B"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "LG L1720B"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 7900 GT/GTO"
    BusID          "PCI:6:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 7600 GS"
    BusID          "PCI:5:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1600+0, DFP: 1600x1200 +0+0; CRT: 1024x768 +0+0, DFP: NULL; CRT: 800x600 +0+0, DFP: NULL; CRT: 640x480 +0+0, DFP: NULL"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Videocard1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
llavalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-07, 07:10 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

I'm I'm following you correctly, then this is expected behavior. Twinview counts as a single X screen (not two).
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-07, 07:55 AM   #3
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

Hi!

I have created a patch for the Xserver to fix that:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...7&postcount=10

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-07, 11:03 PM   #4
llavalle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
I'm I'm following you correctly, then this is expected behavior. Twinview counts as a single X screen (not two).
What I mean is that the applications think I have 2 screens instead of 3... (when using 3 monitor on 2 cards)

When using only one card (2 monitors on 1 card) it's fine.
llavalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-07, 11:11 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-07, 10:19 PM   #6
llavalle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

Heres the report
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (125.8 KB, 86 views)
llavalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-07, 10:22 PM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

As I stated earlier, you do have two X screens. One with Twinview, and a 2nd using the 7600GS card. There's nothing wrong here.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-07, 01:54 PM   #8
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
There's nothing wrong here.
The situation is that loosing the nvidia twinview xinerama extension
can be pretty annoying for a triple-head setup. For details, please check:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...95&postcount=1
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...7&postcount=10

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-23-07, 10:04 PM   #9
llavalle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird xinerama behavior using 3 sceens(on 2 Nvidia Cards)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN
The situation is that loosing the nvidia twinview xinerama extension
can be pretty annoying for a triple-head setup. For details, please check:
Bernhard
Exactly. As soon as I enable a 2nd screen, Xinerama on the first one is lost.
llavalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 04:48 PM
NVIDIA could rule if they really wanted to Vid_craze NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 25 08-16-02 05:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.