Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-07, 04:48 PM   #1
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default How the heck do I mute my microphone?

Hi, Vista Ultimate 32bit here. I have my Mic plugged into my Creative X-Fi, and the new Windows volume panel says its working, which it is. But how the heck do I mute the thing? I want to be able to talk into the mic while playing CS:S but not actually hear the sound come out my speakers. I know this is probably a dumb question and im just overlooking something easy but if someone could help me out I'd appreciate it.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 05:05 PM   #2
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

There should be an option somewhere to mute it....do you have the X-Fi software installed? See here if not: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=87928&

In the volume panel goto the mixer and then mute the microphone. You might be able to do it through the audio console as well...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 05:15 PM   #3
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

hmmm, this is what my volume mixer looks like. This is with the mic enabled btw
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vol.jpg
Views:	2401
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	24658  
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 05:20 PM   #4
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

Step1:


Step2:


Step3:
PROFIT!
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 05:40 PM   #5
Ancient
Occasional User
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Too far from the beach
Posts: 619
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevemedes
hmmm, this is what my volume mixer looks like. This is with the mic enabled btw
Right-click on the taskbar icon and select Recording Devices.
__________________
"You know the difference between cannibals and liberals? Cannibals only eat their enemies."
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 05:46 PM   #6
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ancient
Right-click on the taskbar icon and select Recording Devices.
Yeah ive tried that, then what? Theres no mute button or anything.


Oh, also a ? about those Ipax drivers. Do you really have to uninstall creatives drivers?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 06:27 PM   #7
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

recording devices, click on microphone, properties, levels and click on little speaker to nute
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 06:32 PM   #8
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

I got it working by installing the driver pack that einstein linked to.
My only concern is are those drivers up to date? Am i missing/losing any functionality as opposed to using the latest off of creative's site?

Nekro, check this BS out, look at my screen, im missing the little speaker? Lame.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mic.jpg
Views:	1400
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	24661  
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-21-07, 07:02 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

weird, i have it

__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 07:18 PM   #10
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

Maybe its this crappy Cyberacoustics standup mic I have.. who knows.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-07, 08:13 PM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

well i don't have a mic, it just allows me to mute the plug on x-fi
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 04:44 PM   #12
jessebedard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: How the heck do I mute my microphone?

After about 45 minutes of slaving I figured it out.

Go to Control Panel/Sound.
Then click on the speakers icon.
Click properties.
Then you might be able to mute your microphone, I couldn't so I moved the level to 0 achieving the same result.

My mic still works I just cant hear it on my speakers anymore.
jessebedard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where the heck is nForce2? SocketAzzWipe CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 8 10-20-02 04:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.