Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-06, 12:06 PM   #1
am2020
Quadro4
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Default Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

I cannot get the stock kernel 2.6.17 to recognize my second card.
I can't believe I am the only one in the world with this setup !
am2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 12:11 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

By "stock kernel 2.6.17" do you mean the kernel that ships with Ubuntu, or a kernel.org kernel?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 12:18 PM   #3
am2020
Quadro4
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

The one that comes with ubuntu. I am not sure how to use a kernel.org kernel with ubuntu, I am new to the whole debian way. Any advice here is greatly appreciated and with help others since I can't find anything realated to these very popular items: ubuntu 6.10, hp xw9300, and nividia SLI (btw, my cards are two quadro fx4500)
am2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 12:26 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

This is an Ubuntu kernel bug. You should report it to Ubuntu, as they're not detecting all the devices on the PCI bus.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 03:53 PM   #5
nemesis740
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

It may be a kernel bug but I know the HP xw9300 has a segmented pci bus which acpi, at the moment, doesn't handle properly. There are a number of things you could try. In the bios under "chipset and cpu" I think there is an option to disable pci bus segmentation. You could also try booting the kernel with the pci=noacpi option, or acpi=off.

I seem to remember another issue if you're running a single opteron in that machine. If the cpu is installed as cpu1, the socket on the left, then the second pci express slot is not activated. Try moving the cpu to socket 0, the socket on the right next to the hd's. I may have this the wrong way round and if you've got dual opterons in the machine it's not the problem anyway.

Hope this is of some help.

Last edited by nemesis740; 10-27-06 at 04:05 PM.
nemesis740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 04:02 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

SLI will not work if ACPI is disabled.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 04:07 PM   #7
nemesis740
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

Check out this page, the xw9300 has an hp version of the k8we mb.

http://www.k8we.com/?q=gettingstarted
nemesis740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 11:21 PM   #8
am2020
Quadro4
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

At this point I'm willing to opt for SLI off and at least get the two video cards back. I'm going to try the forum mentioned above...
am2020 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-06, 01:42 AM   #9
fhj52
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nemesis740
It may be a kernel bug but I know the HP xw9300 has a segmented pci bus which acpi, at the moment, doesn't handle properly. There are a number of things you could try. In the bios under "chipset and cpu" I think there is an option to disable pci bus segmentation. You could also try booting the kernel with the pci=noacpi option, or acpi=off.

I seem to remember another issue if you're running a single opteron in that machine. If the cpu is installed as cpu1, the socket on the left, then the second pci express slot is not activated. Try moving the cpu to socket 0, the socket on the right next to the hd's. I may have this the wrong way round and if you've got dual opterons in the machine it's not the problem anyway.

Hope this is of some help.
FYI:
ACPI Segments otherwise known as Multiple PCI Domains is for the PCI bus, not PCIe bus. It affects PCI and of course the PCIX. PCIe is a different bus. Turning off the multiple domains should not have any effect on the PCIe except what might be the effect of allowing more memory for the PCIe during POST but that can be had by turning OFF all ''Option ROM'' options that are not needed. The only ones needed are for adapter cards that are used for/to boot disks.
__________________
When two people meet and exchange gifts, each has one object.
When two people meet and exchange ideas, each has two ideas.
... Open Source. Just do it.

---------------------------------
System: BFG GTX260^2 graphics but has ** TERRIBLE BLINKING OS **
SuperMicro H8DCi+AMI BIOS;dual Opt'285;8GB;LSI 320-2x w/ 6xU320 Fuji' MAXs in RAID 10; 4xSATAII on LSI 3041E for backup. Multi-boot Mandriva Linux, openSUSE, WinXPx64 & Win2k-AS; Creative Audigy2-Digital audio.
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH & NVRAID are GONE ... Finally!!
fhj52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-06, 07:45 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

am2020,
I believe that booting with noapic and/or acpi=off might allow the second graphics card to appear on the PCI bus.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-06, 12:30 PM   #11
am2020
Quadro4
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

Thanks Lonni, acpi=off did the trick. I can see the second VGA card on the PCIe bus doing 'lspci -t', although I think it is not located in the right node. Of course I lost ACPI control.

FYI, this is kubuntu kernel 2.6.15-23-amd64-k8.

I am now happily running with 3 monitors, 4 soon
am2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-06, 06:10 PM   #12
am2020
Quadro4
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Default Re: Anybody using hp xw9300 with SLI and ubuntu 6.10?

Obviously, I can't do SLI now.
am2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.