Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-07, 10:04 AM   #1
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default 6400 or 8500 For C2Quad?

Finaly been getting some money so now I will start building a new gaming comp

I think for saving some money I will go for the C2 4300 and then later in the year when the prices comes down I will get a nice C2Quadro CPU!

But im not really sure what the best memory to get, I know many have 6400 Mhz but wouldent it be better to just get some 8500Mhz ram as the quad I will get later probably has a 1333mhz bus and of course I will O/C as far as it can go

So what do you guys think ?

PS! The much needed money comes from that I sold my xbox 360 .it was just collecting dust mostly annyway heheh!
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-07, 10:08 AM   #2
Technoholic
Registered User
 
Technoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under your chair
Posts: 1,729
Send a message via MSN to Technoholic
Default Re: 6400 or 8500 For C2Quad?

GO for PC2-8500, then underclock it.

I bought 6400, and I realized I should have got 8500 instead. Too late, though..
__________________
[MY PC]
-- 3DMarkVantage: H7522
-- Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ 1.15V | THERMALRIGHT TRUE BLACK ULTRA-120 | DFI LANPARTY DK P45-T2RS | 4GB G.SKILL DDR2-1000
-- EVGA 280GTX | SAMSUNG 225BW | X-FI XTREMEGAMER FPS | Z-5300e | Z-2300 | 250GB SEAGATE | RAZER LACHESIS
-- 320GB WESTERNDIGITAL | TAGAN 700W | G15 rev. 2 | NINE HUNDRED | VISTA HOME PREMIUM
-- no longer own this system

[MY LAPTOP]
-- MAC BOOK PRO 13" | DUAL BOOT WITH WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64-BIT | 2.3GHz i5 | 4GB DDR3 |
-- OSX LION | 320GB HDD
-- Stolen :^(

[STUFF]
-- PSN: lqfocus06
-- AEKDB
Technoholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-07, 10:34 AM   #3
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: 6400 or 8500 For C2Quad?

Yepp I think it will be the best to be more future prof and so and as you say underclock it for my 4300 seems nice so I can up the timings some!

Thanks mate
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-07, 10:46 AM   #4
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: 6400 or 8500 For C2Quad?

Just to point out. It is PC2-6400 which is 800mhz and PC2-8500 which is 1066mhz. Not 6400mhz and 8500mhz. Your going to confuse some people if you say it that way.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-07, 11:41 AM   #5
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: 6400 or 8500 For C2Quad?

My signature tells how I feel. If you have the cash of course.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-07, 11:42 AM   #6
marqmajere
GeVooForceDoo
 
marqmajere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: 6400 or 8500 For C2Quad?

Any cas.4 ram will do at any speed.
__________________
Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature file to help me spread!

Desktop - Asus M3A78-CM | AMD Phenom II 965 | 4 gigs G. Skill 1066 | ATI 5850 1 gig | WD 1TB Black
| Windows7 64-bit


Laptop - m11x
marqmajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-07, 12:06 PM   #7
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: 6400 or 8500 For C2Quad?

Thanks guys I found these OCZ PC2-8500 for a bargain so I will definatly go for them

And SlieTheSecond yes you are right, thanks for putting things straight!
Sorry my misstake!
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retail Radeon 8500 64MB Megatron For Sale/Trade 3 09-24-02 09:32 PM
Another 8500 owner turns to the darkside MajBlunder NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-23-02 03:32 PM
Color quality of the GeForce4 Ti 4600 and Radeon 8500 Turnbolt NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 23 08-27-02 08:12 PM
Switched from a Radeon 8500 to a GeForce4 Ti 4400 Alceryes NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 7 08-07-02 03:51 AM
[Built by] ATI Radeon 8500 for sale bchreng For Sale/Trade 2 07-30-02 08:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.