Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Console World

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-07, 07:52 AM   #1
russ_3d
museikal rtisdt
 
russ_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: woot
Posts: 580
Default anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

i cant find a cable for dvi or vga?

whats the deal here?

i nearly bought a ps3 and didnt even notice there wasnt any cables


i know nothing about hdcmi or whatever it is btw (im still using crt)


edit* and is there any loss of quality?
russ_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 07:54 AM   #2
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

go to monoprice.com and look for hdmi to dvi cable. you should be able to hook it up on pc monitor. i haven't tried it myself. maybe i should since my monitor is 1080p.

i don't think there'll be quality loss since hdmi is pure digital and dvi is also digital if not pure.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 08:20 AM   #3
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

yeap you can hook ps3 up with a hdmi to dvi cable, you can get one anywhere

But you will need to hook up the sound through the optical out port
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 08:30 AM   #4
russ_3d
museikal rtisdt
 
russ_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: woot
Posts: 580
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

np i have a recording studio with optical inputs and lovely D/A convertors

im guessing blu-ray will give me problems?
russ_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 08:39 AM   #5
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by russ_3d
np i have a recording studio with optical inputs and lovely D/A convertors

im guessing blu-ray will give me problems?
yes if you monitor isnt HDCP compatible I think
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 09:21 AM   #6
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badboy_12345
yes if you monitor isnt HDCP compatible I think
pretty much any namebrade LCD today is HDCP compatible. older LCD's probably wont support it though.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 09:26 AM   #7
russ_3d
museikal rtisdt
 
russ_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: woot
Posts: 580
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
pretty much any namebrade LCD today is HDCP compatible. older LCD's probably wont support it though.
diamondtron 2070sb crt


so ill have to buy a tv just to watch blu-ray


gg
russ_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 09:51 AM   #8
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by russ_3d
diamondtron 2070sb crt


so ill have to buy a tv just to watch blu-ray


gg
or buy a 24" lcd pc monitor
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-29-07, 09:58 AM   #9
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

I'm using my PS3 on my Dell 2407FPW via DVI input, will be getting a 2707 this summer.

Anyways, I'm using a female HDMI to male DVI adapter with a HDMI cable instead of a HDMI-DVI cable, and this way I can reuse the HDMI cable later if I'm ever going to hook my PS3 up with a HDTV. I've also got a DVI swticher to connect both the PS3 and PC to the same DVI input on the monitor.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 10:54 AM   #10
russ_3d
museikal rtisdt
 
russ_3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: woot
Posts: 580
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badboy_12345
or buy a 24" lcd pc monitor

nah, ill go 50" if i ever upgrade innit, no use mucking about

edit* or 3d-monitor if they sort out the depth issues, and nvidia sort out the drivers (which i hope will happen if stereo-tvs become the norm)
russ_3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 12:59 PM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

maybe some day they will have an HDCP decoder

(is it even possible?)
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-07, 01:12 PM   #12
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: anyone using a ps3 on pc monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
maybe some day they will have an HDCP decoder

(is it even possible?)
Anything is possible, and yes, I'm also waiting for the day that they come out with a bypass device.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 nvidiaXineramaInfoOverride not working properly hlandgar NVIDIA Linux 11 01-21-13 09:53 AM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 01:10 AM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 10:35 PM
Sony SDM-S51 monitor and GeForce4 problem hassasin NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 4 10-12-02 05:10 PM
Monitor packed in? Head_slinger General Hardware 2 09-16-02 12:27 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.