Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-07, 09:09 AM   #1
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

Hello guys!

Wondering if nvidias 680 chipset can handle the upcoming new processores from Intel aka Penryn with 1333 FSB ?

If not it feels a little stupid to buy an expensive 680i motherboard now as I will get the new quad later and to then the 4300 C2D proc will do..if it so it's probably better to just buy a board with the 650 chipset or so!
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-07, 11:26 AM   #2
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

If it uses socket 775 it should work, b/c the older pentium d's work.
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-07, 12:27 PM   #3
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevpla1@cox.net
If it uses socket 775 it should work, b/c the older pentium d's work.
Well see there you atleast answer my question, maybe I should not be to hard on you..thanks mate

And yes I know that it will work if it use the 775 socket but I dont know if it will..but probably it will as the 680i chipset suport up to 1333 FSB!

It better be I i fork out some money for an EVGA 680i board grrr
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-07, 12:29 PM   #4
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

Well the proto type Penryn was using a Intel 975X board so yeah it will work on a 680i board......... with a BIOS update of course.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-07, 12:32 PM   #5
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwedX
Well see there you atleast answer my question, maybe I should not be to hard on you..thanks mate

And yes I know that it will work if it use the 775 socket but I dont know if it will..but probably it will as the 680i chipset suport up to 1333 FSB!

It better be I i fork out some money for an EVGA 680i board grrr
Be sure to get the A1 revision.

I Hope this helps.
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-07, 12:50 PM   #6
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

Thanks guys!
I stamble upon this and it seems it will use the 775 socket..so 680i seems to be doing just fine for it

http://discuss.extremetech.com/forum...004373574.aspx

And kevpla, you mean Revison 2 as I know the first one was terrible!
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-07, 06:58 PM   #7
Sycario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to Sycario
Default Re: 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevpla1@cox.net
If it uses socket 775 it should work, b/c the older pentium d's work.
I think that's a little backwards. It should be more like will a core 2 duo work in an older board for pentium D.
__________________

Comp Specs:
Intel Q9650 @ 3.95Ghz
Asus Rampage Extreme
2x2GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 @ 6-6-6-17
eVGA GTX 280 SSC
BFG ES-800 PSU
Sycario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 10:22 AM   #8
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default Re: 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

penryn is going to a default higher fsb and lower voltage requirements so im sure intel is coiming out with new chipsets, nvidia will follow this as well, since it seems intel and nvidia have developed a working relationship unlike a few yrs ago.


I am not all that positve the 680I chipset will allow the higher fsb and voltage requirements of penryn

its just going to be a kick ass cpu.I am waiting to upgrade till penryn hits the streets sometime this yr(according to the articles ive read on the web)

heres a pretty good read

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/200..._future/1.html
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-03-07, 10:41 AM   #9
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: 680i Chipset for Penryn ?

I think it will as the 680i chipset has 1333 mhz support so it should be no problem, atleats i hope it will
Great link and I have just earlier today read it!
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Riva TNT 2 - Debian (Woody) chipset problem sindra NVIDIA Linux 4 08-26-02 03:21 AM
Ali M1541 chipset problem perun NVIDIA Linux 3 08-12-02 05:35 PM
SiS648 Chipset Marty McFly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 08-08-02 05:51 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.