Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-07, 01:37 PM   #1
Maxibon7724
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default Monitor troubles

When i boot up using a CRT the everything is fine and windows boots no problem plays games etc. When i use a TFT i get the first few lines of bios then it goes blank, the monitor light stays green so it is receiving a signal. I have changed the gfx card but to no avail. Can you think of a problem? Im thinking PSU or Mobo but it doesnt make any sense. Thx
Maxibon7724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 02:24 PM   #2
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Monitor troubles

I doubt if it's your mobo or psu. If it was, it would do the same thing for your crt. Check your dvi/vga cable (if you're using a different cable than the one for your crt monitor.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 02:26 PM   #3
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: Monitor troubles

Is the TFT monitor connected through a DVI cable?

A lot of times the graphics card will default to outputting through the VGA adapter, and if you are connecting the TFT through DVI you may have to go and set the default output to DVI.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 03:45 PM   #4
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Monitor troubles

What TFT model and video card are you running?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 03:52 PM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Monitor troubles

do you let it continue booting or do you just restart it?

if not, let it boot up to windows or w/e OS you have.

if you let it go, does the signal come back when windows starts? i had the same problem a while ago, dont know how it resolved itself
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.