Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-07, 10:52 AM   #1
kam03
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 345
Send a message via MSN to kam03
Default 4gb ram with readyboost...

is it worth having readyboost if you have 4gb ram?

thanks
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Asus P8Z77-V,
8GB 1866Mhz CL9,
Gigabyte 7950,
Crucial M4 128GB,
Seagate 3TB,
Enermax Galaxy 1000W DXX,
Windows 7 Ultimate x64,
NEC LCD2690WUXi,
Yamaha RX-V667 Receiver,
Monitor Audio Vector 5.1
kam03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-07, 12:04 PM   #2
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: 4gb ram with readyboost...

Probably not. I think Toms Hardware did some benchmarks of readyboost on high-RAM systems and the results were barely any difference.

Of course if you've got a flashdrive just sitting around it's not likely to hurt anything.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 07:54 PM   #3
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: 4gb ram with readyboost...

I need to buy a Handy Steno ht203 200x before I fill up on ram and readyboost becomes pointless!!!!
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 08:32 AM   #4
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: 4gb ram with readyboost...

does ready boost automatically launch if you put in the right type of mem stick ?
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 08:39 AM   #5
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: 4gb ram with readyboost...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt_Ram
does ready boost automatically launch if you put in the right type of mem stick ?
You have to enable it.

And it's basically to assist with your system (smaller file fetches) so you may not see a discernible difference.

It's not really designed to speed-up the system, but it does feel like it makes certain applications open more snappily.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 09:25 AM   #6
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: 4gb ram with readyboost...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
You have to enable it.

And it's basically to assist with your system (smaller file fetches) so you may not see a discernible difference.

It's not really designed to speed-up the system, but it does feel like it makes certain applications open more snappily.
and how do you enable it? sorry
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 11:48 AM   #7
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: 4gb ram with readyboost...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt_Ram
and how do you enable it? sorry
If the stick is fast enough it will ask you if you want to enable readyboost when you plug it in
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 12:32 PM   #8
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: 4gb ram with readyboost...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nick
If the stick is fast enough it will ask you if you want to enable readyboost when you plug it in
ohok, cool. ty
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA Releases GeForce GTX 680 Classified with 4GB Memory News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable muelo1000 Microsoft Windows 7 29 05-01-12 10:08 AM
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 11:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.