Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-07, 09:26 AM   #1
johanreinink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

I just got a 6800LE in my computer. Previously, I had a radeon 9600XT. It was working fine and I had my screen running at 1600x1200 at about 78 hz.

Now, with my nvidia card, I can't get any higher than 1280x1024. It was a pain in the "you-know" to get the drivers installed and even get the X server running, but eventually it worked.

But only at 1280x1024. I'm using opensuse 10.2, and I'm using sax2 to configure the display stuff. When I select 1600x1200 and apply, it first comes up with the nvidia logo. But the logo had very dark and twisted colors. Eventually, the test screen comes up at a resolution of 1600x1024 (not what I asked) and the colors are twisted and some parts are even scrambled.

Now, How can I ever get 1600x1200? I tried to modify the Xorg.conf file, but without succes.

Anyway, this are what I think the relevant parts of the log file Xorg.0.log:


Code:
(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 6800 LE at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 131072 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 05.40.02.23.c1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6800 LE at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0):     Silicon Graphics GDM-4011P (CRT-1)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Silicon Graphics GDM-4011P (CRT-1): 400.0 MHz maximum pixel
(--) NVIDIA(0):     clock
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: CRT-1
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1280x800"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1280x768"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1280x600"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1024x600"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "768x576"; removing.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1280x1024"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1280x960"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1152x864"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1024x768"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "800x600"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "640x480"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1280 x 1024
(--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (85, 89); computed from "UseEdidDpi" X config
(--) NVIDIA(0):     option
(--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
I think this is from my attempt with the xorg.conf file (from Xorg.99.log):

Code:
(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 6800 LE at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 131072 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 05.40.02.23.c1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6800 LE at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0):     Silicon Graphics GDM-4011P (CRT-1)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Silicon Graphics GDM-4011P (CRT-1): 400.0 MHz maximum pixel
(--) NVIDIA(0):     clock
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: CRT-1
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1600x1200"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1600x1000"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1440x900"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1366x768"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1280x800"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1280x768"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1280x600"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1024x600"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "768x576"; removing.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1600x1024"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1400x1050"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1280x1024"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1280x960"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1152x864"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1024x768"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "800x600"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "640x480"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1600 x 1050
(--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (106, 89); computed from "UseEdidDpi" X config
(--) NVIDIA(0):     option
(--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
(II) do I need RAC?  No, I don't.
I quite new to this stuff, so if I miss some important log, just ask. Its just that it feels wrong that the card displays everything scrambled and twisted at 1600x1024. I once got it to work with 1600x1200 by modifying the xorg.conf file, but only at 50hz, and that is really way too low.
johanreinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 11:06 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 11:25 AM   #3
johanreinink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Eeuh, would you mind explaining a bit?
I hope you mean the nvidia-installer.log, I can't even find the nvidia-bug-report.log...
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-installer.log (30.4 KB, 128 views)
johanreinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 11:26 AM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

No, I meant an nvidia-bug-report. Instructions how to generate one are included in the link I provided (as well as in the driver README0.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 11:47 AM   #5
johanreinink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

Sorry, my mistake, couldn't find the output file...
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (138.9 KB, 123 views)
johanreinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 12:23 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

According to the bug report, you're requesting a 1280x1024 mode in xorg.conf, so that's what you're getting.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 04:33 PM   #7
johanreinink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
According to the bug report, you're requesting a 1280x1024 mode in xorg.conf, so that's what you're getting.
I'm amazed. I just use sax2, select 1600x1200, and what do I get? a color shifted en distorted picture saying I'm on 1600x1024!
What could this be? with my previous card, it didn't gave any problems. Is thing a driver thing or Xorg thing? Or is my card just limited?

Anyway, I tried modified the Xorg.conf file, added the resolutions in the screen section, but that even made it worse. I didn't run sax or whatever, ond added those resolutions, and after a reboot it gave the image the usual bad way, at 1280x1024. What is this?
In windows, my monitor is recognised as one that doesn't go past 1280x1024. With a small trick, removing it from the device manager, I can use up to 1600x1200, at least I did that with my old graphics card.

Is it possible the nvidia driver goes weird because it sees a limitation in this monitor? That limitation isn't there, but apparently nvidia drivers or Xorg thinks different. Could that be something? Looking at the second log file in my first post, it removes all the modes higher than 1600x1024 because those are invalid according to the nividia driver. Would that be the reason why it doesn't give 1600x1200, only 1600x1024? Although that won't explain the distorted image with twisted and dark colors.
johanreinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 05:26 PM   #8
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

Quote:
Originally Posted by johanreinink
Is it possible the nvidia driver goes weird because it sees a limitation in this monitor? That limitation isn't there, but apparently nvidia drivers or Xorg thinks different.
The nvidia driver considers the EDID information from the monitor to be more authoritative than the configuration information in the xorg.conf file. This is different from other drivers.
So, when your monitor says "I can work up to 1280x1024", this will cause the driver to reject your attempts at 1600x1200 as invalid even when you have a modeline within the hsync/vsync spec.

Some monitors have broken EDID information. You can try to turn off the use of the EDID and specify the hsync and vsync ranges manually, and provide a correct modeline (from your old config, or calculated with "cvt" or another tool).
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-04-07, 05:38 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

johanreinink,
I can't comment on the behavior you're reporting until you provide a bug report which captures it.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 08:54 AM   #10
johanreinink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

When Would I have to run the nvidia-bug-report, just after I tested a new configuration in sax2 that gives the strange behaviour?
johanreinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 12:01 PM   #11
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

You should generate a bug report while the problem you're reporting is present.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-07, 05:20 AM   #12
johanreinink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't get my card to display 1600x1200, 1280x1024 seems the limit

I made one while I tested a new configuration with sax2.
I asked for 1600x1200, and got a weird 1600x1024. When the weird test screen was on, I made the bug report.
unfortunately, is seems to bee too big to upload, it;s around 170k. I putted it online:
http://bluefan.nl/nvidia-bug-report.log
I hope you can do something with it. Thanks for your help anyway.
johanreinink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce GTX 690 - World's Fastest Graphics Card Adjust Power Limit (MSI) News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 07:40 AM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 10:55 AM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 07:45 AM
Getting GeForce 4 Go Card w/h Laptop Display Working eridu NVIDIA Linux 1 09-09-02 06:36 AM
Suse 8.0 Dual display on Quadro 4 700XGL TheCowStir NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 01:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.