Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-07, 11:37 AM   #13
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: TwinView incorrectly indicates Xinerama as off when using two cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebf
as far as I know it is not currently possible to have both Xinerama and XRandR enabled.
Right, but you don't need XRandR to rotate the screens! The nvidia driver
can do that for you internaly i.e. by applying the option "Rotate" "Left"

Please find attached an example xorg.conf file that uses three 1600x1200
LCDs rotated for a 3600x1200 setup. It uses separate screens, so the
xinerama information will be fine. However, i have noticed that there
is quite some 3D performance drop (only 1/3 of the FPS for UT2K4).

There is basically nothing wrong about having three separate screens,
but dragging windows from one screen to another causes redraw-event,
which can be pretty annoying. This is why i created the beforementioned
patch so that you can avoid the redraw events by using twinview but
still get the desired XineramaInfo.

I think it should be possible to have a triple head setup with a rotated
twinview screen by i.e. adding both options "TwinViewOrientation" "Above"
and "Rotation" "Left", but i never tried that out.

regards

Bernhard


regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-07, 01:13 PM   #14
ebf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: TwinView incorrectly indicates Xinerama as off when using two cards

Thank you both, Bernhard and Aaron.

I had actually tried using the Rotate option some time in the past. However, even the 2D performance was prohibitively slow. In particular, it seemed the rotation was being executed in software (i.e., by my CPU) rather than by the GPU. By contrast, when I use TwinView+XRandR, the speed is normal.

I should try it again, of course, since you are both suggesting it. But any idea as to why the Rotate option is apparently not performed by the graphics card?

Eric
ebf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 12:54 AM   #15
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: TwinView incorrectly indicates Xinerama as off when using two cards

The rotation is performed by the GPU. While there's some slowdown because the GPU is doing more work, it shouldn't be as slow as you're saying it was.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 01:19 PM   #16
ebf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: TwinView incorrectly indicates Xinerama as off when using two cards

I tried the Rotate option again. I'm not sure what's different from last time, but it works perfectly, including Xinerama support. Thanks!
ebf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 07:38 PM   #17
ebf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: TwinView incorrectly indicates Xinerama as off when using two cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP
The rotation is performed by the GPU. While there's some slowdown because the GPU is doing more work, it shouldn't be as slow as you're saying it was.
Aaron,

Though I reported success earlier today, I think there is actually still the problem I experienced a year ago last time I tried the Rotate option. The difference now, I think, is that I am using a dual-core processor, so I didn't notice the slowdown right away.

In particular, even just sitting with top(1) running but otherwise idle, I observe that X consumes about 7% of one of my cores. By contrast, when I run without the Rotate option, this is under 1%. To me, this suggests my CPU is doing work for the rotation that is normally performed by the GPU.

The reason I checked my CPU usage is that I noticed slowdown while performing compilation, which nearly fully-utilizes both cores. When both cores are utilized, my UI experience starts to become noticeably slower. This happens with the Rotate option, but it would never happen when rotating via RandR.

So, is this a bug in (my version of) X, or in the nvidia drivers?

Thanks,

Eric
ebf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 10:23 PM   #18
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: TwinView incorrectly indicates Xinerama as off when using two cards

I don't think this is a bug. Both the CPU and the GPU have to do more work when rotation is enabled.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-07, 11:57 AM   #19
ebf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: TwinView incorrectly indicates Xinerama as off when using two cards

Aaron,

Why such a noticeable difference between TwinView+RandR versus Xinerama+Rotate, then? The issue I reported with CPU usage for the Rotate option is not a problem at all when using TwinView+RandR, even though I am rotating in that case as well.

Eric
ebf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-07, 05:33 PM   #20
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: TwinView incorrectly indicates Xinerama as off when using two cards

Xinerama also creates more work for the CPU and GPU.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Video Cards -- Disable Open GL on single? amites NVIDIA Linux 5 05-30-12 03:51 PM
Twinview? ghorsepower NVIDIA Linux 2 10-11-02 12:46 PM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
Dual Monitor cards GF2 or GF4 Geoinfo SRL NVIDIA Linux 15 08-06-02 04:48 AM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.