Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-07, 01:32 PM   #1
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

I just purchased this and I will install this to my system tonight.

I would like to know who here have one, and what is your impression? How hard was it for you to install? Any tricks into getting the most out of this?
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 05:53 PM   #2
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Put up some before and after temps.

I was looking into getting this. My Zalman is nice now in the winter. But I fear when summer comes shes gonna get a lot hotter.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 07:15 PM   #3
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC
I just purchased this and I will install this to my system tonight.

I would like to know who here have one, and what is your impression? How hard was it for you to install? Any tricks into getting the most out of this?
If you need anyone help with this man just PM me.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 07:16 PM   #4
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

The trick is really having the freezone on max settings.



http://www.extrememhz.com/freezone-p1.shtml
Quote:
There is a potentiometer in the upper center part of the included PCB Thermal Control Module labeled RV1. If you don't have a precision screwdriver handy, you can use the other end of the included tool to adjust it. Now, at first, I was accidentally turning it the wrong direction. This is because of the way I had positioned the control module on the case. Just make sure the CoolIT name is on the upper left hand corner of the PCB. This is where the magic happens! The potentiometer basically will act as a thermostat. It ships with it at center position by default but you'll want to turn it counter clockwise (to the left) to really unleash its max cooling capabilities. You'll know you have adjusted it properly because the water block should now be cold to the touch rather than warm.
Also using Artic Silver 5 got me 3-5C better temps than the paste that comes with the cooler. On my E6700 overclocked to 3.5GHz the highest temp I ever saw was 34C.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 08:39 PM   #5
Dual Core Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 151
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

I just bought one of these myself... Cant wait to install her. Ill be posting more later.

Right now my CPU averages 45+ without much load. I wonder what she'll be at idle after installing this?
__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
Cooler: CoolITsystems Freezone
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Extreme
Processor: Intel Core 2 QX9650 (4.25GHz)
PSU: Silverstone OP1000w ATX
Memory: (2 Gig) Patriot Viper DDR3 2000
Graphics Cards: Diamond 4870x2
HD: 4 WD RaptorX in Raid0
Audio Card: Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Operating System: Vista Ultimate
Dual Core Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 12:52 AM   #6
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

I got all of my stuff (read this thread), and I will begin this weekend to put it together. I don't have the time right now, but I will take plenty of pics.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 09:23 AM   #7
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Temps are getting better here but since Core Temp doesn't work under Vista x64 I can't compare the temps to the Zalman 9700. All I can say is that the Zalman handled the Quad really well because the Freezone isn't better right now
I think my PSU could be too weak...
What are you using for thermal paste?
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 09:24 AM   #8
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiKiMaN1
What are you using for thermal paste?
I have some AS 3 that I am gonna use.

I can't wait to see what this baby can do!
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-09-07, 09:53 AM   #9
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
First I used the one that came with the unit. Than I tried the Zalman STG1 which is a great product and now I'm using AS5.
Good choices!
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 09:54 AM   #10
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC
I have some AS 3 that I am gonna use.

I can't wait to see what this baby can do!
Can't wait to see your signature update.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 11:46 AM   #11
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiKiMaN1
Can't wait to see your signature update.
I can't wait either. I was going to do it today at work, but I'm getting involved in alot of projects right now.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-07, 12:03 PM   #12
Dual Core Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 151
Default Re: CoolIT Freezone/Eliminator Thread

Im running two XRaptors in raid0 with vista 64bit ultimate, and the same with XP Pro 32 bit. With XP I can use Nvidias monitor program and when I do my CPU temps typically are in the 45c to 50c NOT under load! Im going to use that program again when I plug in the freeze unit and see what the difference is. Right now Im using the stock fan that came with the cpu.
__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
Cooler: CoolITsystems Freezone
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage Extreme
Processor: Intel Core 2 QX9650 (4.25GHz)
PSU: Silverstone OP1000w ATX
Memory: (2 Gig) Patriot Viper DDR3 2000
Graphics Cards: Diamond 4870x2
HD: 4 WD RaptorX in Raid0
Audio Card: Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Operating System: Vista Ultimate
Dual Core Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.