Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-07, 05:04 AM   #13
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
If your having that much trouble with your old copy...shoot, I'd want to frisbee it too.

Personally, the more I use it, which is everyday now, I am really liking this OS alot. Very stable and very few game glitches.

Methinks you'd really enjoy it.
Okay. Well, I'm gonna' give XP a go one more time. Here's hoping it works just fine. *Crosses Fingers and prays real hard*



If it don't work this time, I'm (more than likely) gonna' pick up a copy of Vista Ultimate Upgrade tomorrow. If I can atleast get to the desktop in XP, then the upgrade cd for Vista should work without a sweat.
Redeemed is offline  
Old 04-11-07, 05:36 AM   #14
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Okay. Well, I'm gonna' give XP a go one more time. Here's hoping it works just fine. *Crosses Fingers and prays real hard*



If it don't work this time, I'm (more than likely) gonna' pick up a copy of Vista Ultimate Upgrade tomorrow. If I can atleast get to the desktop in XP, then the upgrade cd for Vista should work without a sweat.
Good luck with it Bro.

Just curious as you had/have so much trouble with it atm. Do you have more than one optical drive? Any chance the one your using is problematic? I have had that trouble before, real p.i.t.a.
 
Old 04-11-07, 08:21 AM   #15
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

haha, a linux thread turned into how well do vista run games thread

well i have over 50 games installed, all run about the same as on xp, some run faster. and out of 50 games only 1 doesn't work (deus ex IW)

speaking of xp, what version are you using? did you try to do your own nlite version?

if you had such a serious sound issues, you or who ever made the nlite verison, might ahve removed the sound HAL.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 04-11-07, 08:25 AM   #16
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
I don't know- I'm just tired of dealing with this. I'm figurin' my copy of XP is probably on its last leg (it is near 6 years old after all, very used, and also a "burned" copy- no I didn't pay anybody for it either). I don't want to purchase another copy of XP Pro as it seems like it'd be a waste with Vista already out.

The only logical choice seems to be to just break down and purchase a copy of Vista- wouldn't you say? I like Kubuntu, especially since I got the internet to work. But I also want to be able to game on my rig, which I can't quite do that well using Kubuntu. As such, Vista does seem like the more logical choice- doesn't it?
WAIT?? did you say 6 year old cd?? then its XP with no SP1, or SP2

That could be part of the issue. you need to slipstream SP2 and burn a new copy.

or just go vista
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 04-11-07, 12:08 PM   #17
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

edit.
 
Old 04-11-07, 12:12 PM   #18
kevp׀a1@cox.net
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NN VA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
edit.
can you hel pme with vista?
kevp׀a1@cox.net is offline  
Old 04-11-07, 12:40 PM   #19
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevp׀a1@cox.net
can you hel pme with vista?
How about posting the problem in the windows vista forum?
 
Old 04-11-07, 03:21 PM   #20
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Wow, this thread to an unexpected turn.

Well, XP is re-installing now. And yes, my copy is pre-SP1.

I've thought about it being the Optical drive, but they haven't acted up before. I can load my Kubuntu LiveCD using the drive without issue.

Anyhow, if it don't work this time, I'm gonna' grab Vista later today. If it does work- I'll save me about $265!

Thanks again for all your help!
Redeemed is offline  

Old 04-11-07, 04:28 PM   #21
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Wow, this thread to an unexpected turn.

Well, XP is re-installing now. And yes, my copy is pre-SP1.

I've thought about it being the Optical drive, but they haven't acted up before. I can load my Kubuntu LiveCD using the drive without issue.

Anyhow, if it don't work this time, I'm gonna' grab Vista later today. If it does work- I'll save me about $265!

Thanks again for all your help!
you do know you can slipstream SP2 into your copy of xp?

just google nlite, and use it, its very easy. installing pre-sp1 xp on brand new hardware is NOT a good idea.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 04-11-07, 05:01 PM   #22
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
you do know you can slipstream SP2 into your copy of xp?

just google nlite, and use it, its very easy. installing pre-sp1 xp on brand new hardware is NOT a good idea.
I've tried nlite, and have had 0 luck. So far it seems to be working without issue. Heck, I'm typing this from Windows right now.

Gotta' restart though, just finished a bunch of windows updates.
Redeemed is offline  
Old 04-11-07, 07:16 PM   #23
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

Okay, so far this install is working without issue. I'm quite pleased.

It saved me from dropping down around $265 for Vista Ultimate upgrade.

I'm gonna' re-install Kubuntu tonight.

And, now onto a Linux problem I had...

When I had Kubuntu installed, I tried installing some new desktop backgrounds (wallpapers). Some of the required a resolution higher than 1024x768. Any how, I tried to apply them (hoping it'd automatically up the resolution) and it wouldn't work- I got an error message instead (can't recall what the error message was). So then I go and try to up the resolution manually, and notice that it wont go higher than 1024x768. Is that because I don't have the drivers for my 8800GTS installed, or is that the resolution at which Kubuntu peaks at?
Redeemed is offline  
Old 04-11-07, 08:31 PM   #24
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Evilghost would've been proud. :p

dl the drivers here. and move them to /redeemed/home assuming you use redeemed on it.

This is what I do, it saves me grief. Others may differ.

Open terminal.

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

sudo /etc/init.d/kdm stop <-this will shut down X, bring you to a command line.

Do ls. This lists everything in the directory you are in. In this case, your home dir. This way you'll have the name of the file in front of you.

sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9755-pkg1.run <just verify the file name.

accept all the prompts, don't worry if it tells you it has to guess a path or anything.

The only problem you might have is if kubuntu doesn't install a particular file by default that the drivers need. header files and gcc come to mind.

If the install fails for a file do

apt cache search [file_name_here]

then sudo apt-get install [file_name_here]

back to the "sh NVIDIA" part to install drivers

After install...

sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Look for the resolution lines that are under the "driver" section, where it will say "nvidia" for the driver. ctrl+v is pg down, ctrl+y pg up

Using the same format thats in there

Doing from memory so forgive mistakes please

"1920x1200" "1680x1050" and so on add your native, or desired res in there.

For example, if you want 1600x1200 it would look simply like this.

"1600x1200"

Then ctrl+o to save, hit enter, then ctrl+x to exit nano

reboot if you like, or do "sudo /etc/init.d/kdm start



For the easy way, look around for your nvidia settings in the menu. I don't know where it defaults to in KDE, but your display can be changed there also.
 
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia: RT @NVIDIAGeForce: We are proud to announce the GeForce GTX 670! http://t.co/ News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.