Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-07, 11:20 PM   #13
Heinz68
Registered User
 
Heinz68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto-CAN, Hamburg-DE, Prague-CZ
Posts: 1,893
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Based on the option I sure would get the E6600.
Could not believe how low the price was in $CDN, until I checked with TigerDirect.ca and realized it's the OEM version.
Well if you're about to buy or already have another cooler anyway, the remaining difference is only
the warranty. OEM 12months compare to Inbox 36 months.

There is a rumor about Intel price reduction on April 22, probably I would wait but you should search Google and decide on your own.
__________________
Stop The Meter On Your Internet Use

------------------------------------------------------------
Core i7 980X EE @ 4316 MHz 1.35V - Corsair Hydro Series H50
ASUS Rampage II Extreme - Corsair Dominator 1600MHz 12GB Triple-Channel
Sapphire HD 6990 - ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe
Intel X25-M 160GB 34nm G2 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB 32mb
Cosmos S Case - Corsair HX1000W PSU
Pioner Blu-ray Burner 6X BD-R - Westinghouse LVM-37w3, 37inch 1080p
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel - Logitech Cordless RumblePad 2
Sennheiser RS 180 - Windows 7 64-bit Pro
Heinz68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 11:42 PM   #14
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Yea, I'm opting for OEM as I'm saving almost 100 bucks, which I will be sinking into possibly a water cooling kit.
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 11:50 PM   #15
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanM
Yea, I'm opting for OEM as I'm saving almost 100 bucks, which I will be sinking into possibly a water cooling kit.
Smart man. On both counts.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 11:52 PM   #16
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

I followed a couple of your guys advice and tried to get more details about the price drop.

I found this page on X-bit stating the 6600 should drop to $ 224US ~ $ 255CDN.

I also found this article on the Inquirer (I know) stating the same price. So it looks like I'll be waiting a tad to maximize my savings.

Thanks for your help guys.
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 12:15 AM   #17
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanM
I followed a couple of your guys advice and tried to get more details about the price drop.

I found this page on X-bit stating the 6600 should drop to $ 224US ~ $ 255CDN.

I also found this article on the Inquirer (I know) stating the same price. So it looks like I'll be waiting a tad to maximize my savings.

Thanks for your help guys.
Smart move. You'll love the Core 2, no matter which model you get.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 01:40 AM   #18
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rytr
The processor is 1333MHz capable. Combine with a 1333MHz capable motherboard with PC6400 ram set at 800MHz frequency and you have a solid performing 3GHz machine.
The processor is far beyond 1333MHz capable. Also, PC5300 DDR2-667MHz RAM would be all that is needed in that case.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 12:41 PM   #19
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Whats wrong with my E4300 it's cheap and overclocks stella. 90% overclock 3.4GHz so far and i am sure it has plenty left in it. This is on air cooling too.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 01:54 PM   #20
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

I would get the E6600 because of the extra cache ,not that it that big of a deal ,but they overclock good ,I run mine E6600 at 3.6gigs at 1.31v.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-13-07, 02:02 PM   #21
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055
I would get the E6600 because of the extra cache ,not that it that big of a deal ,but they overclock good ,I run mine E6600 at 3.6gigs at 1.31v.
^^That's an unusually good OC at that voltage though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 10:34 PM   #22
daveao
Registered User
 
daveao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Go out and get the 6600.
__________________

Lian Li 1100B+
Seasonic 700M
EVGA 680i
2 G OCZ Gold PC2 6400
2 G Supertalent Readyboost
CD2 6600 @3.02Ghz 36deg/idle
Zerotherm BTP80
EVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked
Hitachi Deskstar 500 sata2
Seagate Barac. 400 sata2
Samsung 46" LCD
2-Samsung DVD lightscribe
Klipsh 5.1- Vista 64 bit
daveao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 10:58 PM   #23
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffbiff21
The processor is far beyond 1333MHz capable. Also, PC5300 DDR2-667MHz RAM would be all that is needed in that case.
Thanks for the revelation!
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.