Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-05, 03:53 AM   #1
Trikster1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 7
Default HL2 Flashlight Bug?

Two weeks ago I have bought a 6600GT from PNY and now some textures turn black, when I use the Flashlight on them. It is the same with CS Source

I am new in this forum and maybe someone knows if its a driver problem or a hl2 bug or could my 6600GT be damaged?

I use 66.93 driver
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	d1_canals_010005.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	166.9 KB
ID:	10649  
Trikster1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-05, 07:46 AM   #2
msxyz
Hybrid Microprocessor
 
msxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Milan (Italy)
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

Since I switched from my 5700U to a 6600GT I had all sort of problems with HL2. Water, unlit surfaces, random clipped polygons, etc.. I had to revert to DX8.1 rendering to solve the problems. But with every other program my card runs just fine. I think that also in your case it's a problem with that goddam game, not the card.
__________________
Powered by:
Pentium Dual E2180 (2GHz, 200MHz FSB)
Abit L95C (The one and only mATX with dual PCIe slots!) + 2x1 Geil Black Dragon PC6400
XFX 9600GSO 384MB
Little freak wonder
msxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-05, 09:00 AM   #3
Trikster1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 7
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

Thanx for your answer
This could be a way - I have to try it.

Now I am interested in this:
Could someone solve this problem through driver change to a newer beta driver?

I have only tried 66.93 and I think 67.66 (I am not shure about the .66)
With both i have this bug

About the bug:
its not that the texture turns only black; it's also that the flashlight works on some textures and some stay "normal"
Trikster1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-05, 09:13 AM   #4
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by msxyz
I think that also in your case it's a problem with that goddam game, not the card.
Bingo.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-05, 10:22 AM   #5
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

So its been proven its a problem with the game and not Nvidia? Just like it was proven that SOE is the cause of stuttering in EQ2 and yet Nvidia is fixing it in a future driver release?

http://nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthre...ght=Flashlight

Even though many people are blaming valve, look at the people who have the issue... Nvidia users.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-05, 11:08 AM   #6
f|LtH fR@g
 
f|LtH fR@g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City 17
Posts: 93
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

It boggles my mind that HL2 can be so buggy. It was in development since 2000 and as we all know they delayed it an extra year to work on it, yet we get stuttering, odd textures, bad sound, etc. Doom 3 might have been alot less fun to play for me, bit I'll give credit where it's due, at least id made a game with alot less flaws.
__________________
@643200+ 1MB Cache / 1024 PC-3200 DDR 400 / eVGA 6800 GT / WD 120 GB HD + 8MB Cache / Dvd 16x/cd-r 52x /
f|LtH fR@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-05, 11:13 AM   #7
Trikster1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 7
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

Does anybody really know why this flashlight-bug is on Nvidia cards? Is there a statemant or something else from Nvidia or Valve? Will it be fixed in future?

It's a great game. With my old card - 9800pro it worked very well.

I really don't like to play the game with this bug.
And yes, I know I don't have to play it
I only think it would be great if the bug was not there!
__________________
Athlon XP 2.8
Asus nforce2
Kingston 1024Ram
PNY GeForce 6600GT
Trikster1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-05, 11:17 AM   #8
f|LtH fR@g
 
f|LtH fR@g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City 17
Posts: 93
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

yea, dont get me wrong, its a great game, but the bugs make it really frustrating. Have you tried different drivers, the 66.93's are kinda old at this point.
__________________
@643200+ 1MB Cache / 1024 PC-3200 DDR 400 / eVGA 6800 GT / WD 120 GB HD + 8MB Cache / Dvd 16x/cd-r 52x /
f|LtH fR@g is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-03-05, 12:25 PM   #9
Trikster1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 7
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

No I have not! But I removed the game and now I have to wait until I can drive to a friend who has internet connection.

But maybe the problem only comes because I changed to a new card without new installation of the game. Could it be that there are saved configs for the old ATI card or so?

Has anyone the same problem without changing to a new card?
__________________
Athlon XP 2.8
Asus nforce2
Kingston 1024Ram
PNY GeForce 6600GT
Trikster1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-05, 08:29 PM   #10
photophreak314
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 183
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

Yes. That happens on only some staircases in the game, and only when you're going DOWN them, coming up is fine. Also happens in vents sometimes (walls or floor not being lit correctly) Mind this bug only affected gameplay for about 1 minute max, as I was through those areas quickly and didn't have to return. This happened with all driver sets from 66.XX through to current 71.20 that I am running. I think its a Source problem. Only one of the many bugs I found. Like not being able to hit certain objects with other objects, ie exploding canister against airship when using gravity gun (it would have helped if it exploded when hitting it, not just going right through)

Speaking of bugs in this game ... See attachment. WTF is THAT!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	d3_c17_12b0000.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	156.7 KB
ID:	10667  
__________________
Core 2 Duo E4400 | 2GB DDR2 | EVGA 8800GTS 640MB SSC (625/1464/2006) | 42" 1080P Sharp Aquos
photophreak314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-05, 08:48 AM   #11
Trikster1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 7
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

Now I've tried to use DX 8.1 and it works!

OK, but this could not be the "final" solution!!??

I want to play in 9.0
__________________
Athlon XP 2.8
Asus nforce2
Kingston 1024Ram
PNY GeForce 6600GT
Trikster1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-05, 08:58 AM   #12
Ruined
Registered User
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: HL2 Flashlight Bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trikster1000
Now I've tried to use DX 8.1 and it works!

OK, but this could not be the "final" solution!!??

I want to play in 9.0
final solution is for valve to fix their buggy game
__________________
We're all in it together.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU | Intel G965WH mobo | 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2-667mhz CAS5 RAM (1066MHz FSB) | BFG GeForce 285 GTX OC 1GB | Dell E228WFP 22" DVI-HDCP LCD Monitor | 1TB Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Main Drive | 500GBx2 Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Scratch Drives in RAID0 | Western Digital RE3 1TB SATA2 Media Drive | External 2TB Western Digital MyBook Backup Drive | Adaptec eSATA 3.0gbps PCI-E interface | Sandisk External 12-in-1 Flash Card Reader | LG GGC-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD writer | LG GGW-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD/BD writer | Microsoft E4000 Ergonomic Keyboard | Logitech Trackman Wheel | Antec P182 ATX Case | Thermaltake ToughPower XT 850w modular PSU | KRK RP-8 Rokit Studio Monitors | Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Ruined is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I got a computer bug!!! sillyeagle General Hardware 16 06-05-12 02:44 AM
Asus Bios bug nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 04:15 AM
Nero5.5.9.9 & "Empty Start Menu Entries" bug !!! cenkog General Software 2 09-21-02 12:57 AM
Antialiasing bug in 31.00 drivers? Mark_fox NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 7 08-26-02 02:48 PM
bug: clockspeeds/render/MX400 obiwan NVIDIA Linux 3 08-23-02 10:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.