Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-07, 10:55 AM   #1
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

Anyone know which one is faster for scientific computing? I'm not that familiar with the Xeons and basically the only ones we have at work are for a file server and video analysis system. Basically, is the Xeon better suited for running Mathworks (Simulink, Matlab, etc.) than the regular dual-core/quad-core desktop cpus?

Also, I've seen some mention there being issues with using 4 Gig of RAM. We were thinking of getting 4 gig but it would be under XP. Don't want to order it configured like that if it can't be used though.

Thanks for any input. Basically, we're trying to find the fastest computer we can for around $5k. Note, this usually doesn't involve needing a gaming graphics card.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 11:01 AM   #2
Greeno
Registered User
 
Greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 180
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

That's all we do at work

http://www.xworksinteractive.com/

Top end Xeons have 1333Mhz front side buses, whereas the C2Q etc have 1066MHz, so just comparing the chips and not RAM etc, the Xeon's are a better bet.
Greeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 11:17 AM   #3
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

If past iterations are any indication, Xeons are just C2Ds with a different name. That's how it was back in the Prescott days.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 11:24 AM   #4
Greeno
Registered User
 
Greeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 180
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
If past iterations are any indication, Xeons are just C2Ds with a different name. That's how it was back in the Prescott days.
Exactly
Greeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 11:28 AM   #5
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

Thanks for the input.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 11:53 AM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

Xeon's overclock better from what i heard. Maybe not CPU clock speed wise but FSB overclocking is better which is what you need.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 12:26 PM   #7
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

Since this is for work, I don't think we'll be interested in overclocking. We're looking to buy a pre-built system (i.e. won't be building it ourselves) so that means places like Dell, HP, or some other place if anyone has any recommendations. We usually just go with Dell since it's easier but it's not a requirement.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 01:13 PM   #8
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

In which case get the Core2 unless you are looking to having more then 1 processor.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-12-07, 01:31 PM   #9
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Anyone know which one is faster for scientific computing? I'm not that familiar with the Xeons and basically the only ones we have at work are for a file server and video analysis system. Basically, is the Xeon better suited for running Mathworks (Simulink, Matlab, etc.) than the regular dual-core/quad-core desktop cpus?

Also, I've seen some mention there being issues with using 4 Gig of RAM. We were thinking of getting 4 gig but it would be under XP. Don't want to order it configured like that if it can't be used though.

Thanks for any input. Basically, we're trying to find the fastest computer we can for around $5k. Note, this usually doesn't involve needing a gaming graphics card.
Simulink is crazy, i use that in my Process Control course.

is the program multithreaded? cause honestly you may be best with getting the fastest clock speed possible in some form of Conroe-based (or w/e Intel new gen) core.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 02:30 PM   #10
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
Simulink is crazy, i use that in my Process Control course.

is the program multithreaded? cause honestly you may be best with getting the fastest clock speed possible in some form of Conroe-based (or w/e Intel new gen) core.
BTW, what type computers do y'all use to run simulink?

I asked about that (multithreaded) when they started asking me for computer specs and a co-worker sent me the below quote from the help file.

Quote:
Simulink Help, "Simulink is single threaded and runs on the one MATLAB thread".
But then he sent me this screencap of the matlab options and it seems to say that multiple cores/threads are supported.



The other thing they want to run is FlightGear. Heh, I thought it was a Matlab plug-in or something but after I asked for more info, found it was the freeware PC flight sim that has been around for a while. I guess that explains the Saitek X52 on his desk. Its requirements don't seem all that high but I've heard them complain about performance of FlightGear on a really high-end PC so I'm not sure what they're doing with it or maybe they just have it configured for software mode so that everything is being rendered on the CPU.

Edit: Actually, it is kind of being used as a plug-in. FlightGear interfaces with simulink/matlab. At least I know they're not just playing games now.

Edit 2: It's more like FlightGear just receives packets of info from simulink and not really a plug-in. We also verified that the dual-core support does work and it helps quite a bit. In light of that, I think we're going with a quad-core cpu. We've priced out a quad-core xeon based system and a quad-core extreme based system.

Thanks for all the input.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-07, 04:26 PM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
BTW, what type computers do y'all use to run simulink?

I asked about that (multithreaded) when they started asking me for computer specs and a co-worker sent me the below quote from the help file.



But then he sent me this screencap of the matlab options and it seems to say that multiple cores/threads are supported.



The other thing they want to run is FlightGear. Heh, I thought it was a Matlab plug-in or something but after I asked for more info, found it was the freeware PC flight sim that has been around for a while. I guess that explains the Saitek X52 on his desk. Its requirements don't seem all that high but I've heard them complain about performance of FlightGear on a really high-end PC so I'm not sure what they're doing with it or maybe they just have it configured for software mode so that everything is being rendered on the CPU.

Edit: Actually, it is kind of being used as a plug-in. FlightGear interfaces with simulink/matlab. At least I know they're not just playing games now.

Edit 2: It's more like FlightGear just receives packets of info from simulink and not really a plug-in. We also verified that the dual-core support does work and it helps quite a bit. In light of that, I think we're going with a quad-core cpu. We've priced out a quad-core xeon based system and a quad-core extreme based system.

Thanks for all the input.
sorry it took me so long to respond.

i run Simulink on a Pentium M at 1.8GHz. it runs ok. im pretty sure a C2D (with the fastest clock possible) would give you the best performance. a lot of it is memory based too, so get some nice DDR2-1333.

btw, i cant find the multithreaded option in my MATLAB. maybe its cause its on a system that only has one CPU? maybe i just dont have the multithread pack installed...
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-07, 08:05 PM   #12
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quad-core Xeon vs Intel Core™2 Quad-core?

No problem. I think you have the have the latest version of Matlab. When we were going through their help/FAQs, etc. most of it mentioned multithreading not being suppported but then you'd find a blurb at the bottom saying unless you have version xx or later. I think he ended up having to verify all this with his home laptop since it's dual-core and his work one isn't. So, it's possible the option doesn't show up unless you have dual-core (like you suggested). I'll check that tomorrow.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.