Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-07, 11:08 PM   #1
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

I'm no CPU expert but isn't AMDs current CPU still an evolution of the original Athlon? Intel has created TWO totally new and different architectures in the same time period AMD has been milking the same basic design. Why havn't they attempted to create something new? Seems they are so far down now they'll never regain.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 11:42 PM   #2
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

They have created a new architecture. It's code named "Barcelona" We're waitng to see it hit the market. Just be patient.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 11:57 PM   #3
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Oh ok, shows how much I've been paying attention to the CPU scene. lol
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 12:09 AM   #4
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

They've also gone to 65nm with some of their chips, like the X2 3600+ Brisbane. Overclocks like a motha from 1.9-->3.1 rather easily.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 12:34 AM   #5
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyeagle
I'm no CPU expert but isn't AMDs current CPU still an evolution of the original Athlon? Intel has created TWO totally new and different architectures in the same time period AMD has been milking the same basic design. Why havn't they attempted to create something new? Seems they are so far down now they'll never regain.
Amd created "new architectures" too, with their hammer tech.

Intel btw has not really created anything totally new. Look at their "previous generation" dothan tech and other developments from their p3 core, merge it with some of the tech you have with the p4, insert a highly talented design team and you have conroe/merom and so on (i.e. core2).

AMD has tech that has survived till now and continues to perform relatively well. But they really do need Barcelona to debut, perform well, consume low power AND have few, if any issues. A tall order but lets see.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 12:55 AM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Are there any estimated release dates for Barcelona? I really want to upgrade my CPU some time, but I know there are a lot of changes coming soon and I'd hate to upgrade to something that is outdated in a month.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 01:05 AM   #7
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

I believe it is summer for Barcelona?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 01:16 AM   #8
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

"CHIP FIRM AMD is continuing to talk up its forthcoming K10 "Barcelona" microprocessor, and to insist it will beat the competition hands down.
Guiseppe Amato, AMD's European technical director, said: "Barcelona is an architecture that must be faster."

He said that people wanting to move to the redesigned K10 core using Socket F would only need to change the BIOS - the chip would otherwise be comfortable in its surroundings.

And AMD will migrate the Barcelona core to both desktop and mobile designs, with some further tweaks.

He laid a lot of emphasis on the ability of the Barcelona to deliver four FPs ber clock cycle, as well as having a bigger buffer and L1, L2, and L3 caches. He also claimed that the memory connect design of the microprocessor will give it an inherent advantage over Intel's designs.

AMD claims Barcelona K10 will knock Intel dead"
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-13-07, 02:04 AM   #9
seastar
Registered User
 
seastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 92
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?op...d=456&Itemid=1
seastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 02:05 AM   #10
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Hmm... I don't really want to wait, but I think I'm going to.

I'd really be kicking myself in the ass if Barcelona came out and stomped core 2 right after I invested in an Intel rig.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 03:51 AM   #11
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

I'm pretty much being forced to wait until the end of the year before I can build my new system because of... well, not having money. I suppose my forced wait is both a blessing and a curse.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 07:28 AM   #12
j0j081
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

NO IT'S BECAUSE THEY ARE LAZY I TELL YOU!!!
j0j081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD FX-8120 Black Edition CPU Review (with Asus M5A99X EVO) News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:30 AM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM
NVIDIA Kepler GK110 Architecture White Paper News Archived News Items 0 05-20-12 09:00 PM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 01:09 PM
AMD 333MHz and nForce Speculation TheTaz Rumor Mill 5 08-17-02 11:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.