Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-07, 07:32 AM   #13
Capt. Picard
Registered User
 
Capt. Picard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 6,386
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Tell me, this new Barcelona, will it require a new mobo or will it be compatible with the current mobo design.
__________________
If beer is not the answer, you're asking the wrong question.
Capt. Picard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 08:32 AM   #14
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
I believe it is summer for Barcelona?
I heard it will be early summer/late spring...
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 08:34 AM   #15
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Hmm... I don't really want to wait, but I think I'm going to.

I'd really be kicking myself in the ass if Barcelona came out and stomped core 2 right after I invested in an Intel rig.
That's why you need to buy my 5200...it's dirt cheap!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Picard
Tell me, this new Barcelona, will it require a new mobo or will it be compatible with the current mobo design.
From what I read, it will require a new motherboard to use the ht 3.0, but you can use the AM2 socket if that won't be a biggie...
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 09:40 AM   #16
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC
That's why you need to buy my 5200...it's dirt cheap!
I'm still on socket 939!!

Besides, my 4200+ is clocked at 5000+ speeds already.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 10:08 AM   #17
Tuork
Official pain in the ass
 
Tuork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,197
Send a message via MSN to Tuork
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Hmm... I'm currently selling my gaming rig... almost done parting it out.

Looks like I will have more options for when I decide to buy a new rig.
__________________
My avatar: "An obscure and non sensical pattern made to get people to post what they think it is" - Vamp

Dimitri:
Dell XPS M1530
Core2Duo T5550 1.86Ghz | 3GB DDR2 | 8600M GT 256MB | 250GB Hdd | BenQ FP202W 20" LCD | MX1000 mouse | Inspire T5400 5.1
Tuork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 02:43 PM   #18
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
Amd created "new architectures" too, with their hammer tech.

Intel btw has not really created anything totally new. Look at their "previous generation" dothan tech and other developments from their p3 core, merge it with some of the tech you have with the p4, insert a highly talented design team and you have conroe/merom and so on (i.e. core2).

AMD has tech that has survived till now and continues to perform relatively well. But they really do need Barcelona to debut, perform well, consume low power AND have few, if any issues. A tall order but lets see.
thank you. i was just about to say that.

they just mitched and matched their best tech. rumor has it Barcelona will be 128-bit
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 06:28 PM   #19
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

I am just a little concerned about the issues barcelona has been having even at this late stage in development.

Fortunately many have been ironed out but still, this is a product that is already very late and if I am going to be dropping top dollar, I am not looking for a partially working product.

I had no issues with going with a sckt 754 proc when a64 first came out because it was rock-solid, even if it wasn't dual-channel. Barcelona? I WANT to get it but if penryn/nehalem continue to appeal, I might just have to go the route of the lower TDP product.

Besides, I have a lot of confidence with intel's second round with an integrated memory controller.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 06:32 PM   #20
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
I am just a little concerned about the issues barcelona has been having even at this late stage in development.

Fortunately many have been ironed out but still, this is a product that is already very late and if I am going to be dropping top dollar, I am not looking for a partially working product.

I had no issues with going with a sckt 754 proc when a64 first came out because it was rock-solid, even if it wasn't dual-channel. Barcelona? I WANT to get it but if penryn/nehalem continue to appeal, I might just have to go the route of the lower TDP product.

Besides, I have a lot of confidence with intel's second round with an integrated memory controller.
So now it seems that you are losing faith in Barcelona? Not that long ago you were chanting how it should give AMD abit more than a fighting chance.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-13-07, 06:47 PM   #21
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
So now it seems that you are losing faith in Barcelona? Not that long ago you were chanting how it should give AMD abit more than a fighting chance.
Perhaps you were reading too much into what I wrote

Or perhaps you mis-understood my point.

I have no issues with the core marchitecture design AMD has, I have an issue with the problems that AMD has been having, even now, with that design.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 07:18 PM   #22
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
Perhaps you were reading too much into what I wrote

Or perhaps you mis-understood my point.

I have no issues with the core marchitecture design AMD has, I have an issue with the problems that AMD has been having, even now, with that design.
Fair enough.

Now, care to list said problems?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 07:30 PM   #23
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

My main point of interest is the memory controller. But there's much better news on that front.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-07, 07:32 PM   #24
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
My main point of interest is the memory controller. But there's much better news on that front.


So now they are having issues with their memory controller- or are you referring to Intel implementing an on-die memory controller?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD FX-8120 Black Edition CPU Review (with Asus M5A99X EVO) News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:30 AM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM
NVIDIA Kepler GK110 Architecture White Paper News Archived News Items 0 05-20-12 09:00 PM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 01:09 PM
AMD 333MHz and nForce Speculation TheTaz Rumor Mill 5 08-17-02 11:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.