Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-08, 03:43 PM   #49
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: AOC

Reduce the texture size. You have to think Magus, AOC is a huge game, filled with all the wonderful high rez textures that will keep most PC players happy. To drop it down to 360 level, just reduce the quality and hey presto, uses less space. Probably do something else as well.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 03:56 PM   #50
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: AOC

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf
Reduce the texture size. You have to think Magus, AOC is a huge game, filled with all the wonderful high rez textures that will keep most PC players happy. To drop it down to 360 level, just reduce the quality and hey presto, uses less space. Probably do something else as well.
Yeah the textures would have to be at 512x512 to compress 30GB to 9GB... that would look worse then a PS2 title...

And no the PC version is not using uncompressed textures, I had the Beta installed on my desktop.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 03:59 PM   #51
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: AOC

Was just a guess, but they're probably doing something else. You're right though, compressing 30gb to 9gb would look like ass.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-08, 11:09 PM   #52
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: AOC

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Yeah the textures would have to be at 512x512 to compress 30GB to 9GB... that would look worse then a PS2 title...

And no the PC version is not using uncompressed textures, I had the Beta installed on my desktop.
I thought you used to program games, you cant really think that can you? Oh wait, maybe you're just fishing for insults on the 360....
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-08, 01:16 AM   #53
sharvin
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: brisbane
Posts: 271
Default Re: AOC

lol if you have to use multiple discs on xbox 360.
sharvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-08, 02:10 AM   #54
qube
Bored sins birth
 
qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: GBG Sweden
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: AOC

please load dvd 19 to advance to this cave
__________________
qube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-08, 02:50 AM   #55
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: AOC

the game will probably install on the harddrive and download extra textures and stuff from the server on the x360.
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-08, 06:12 AM   #56
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: AOC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badboy_12345
the game will probably install on the harddrive and download extra textures and stuff from the server on the x360.
That would cause alot of strain on the servers to constantly be streaming the amount of data on a regular basis. I can expect an HD install but it would have to still be pretty large install...

Ninja Prime, It was both. Seriously what do you think this game will look like if they had to compress 30GB of data down to 9GB? MMOs can't be multiple discs really and the default X360 doesn't have a big enough HD.

It's going to end up like EQOA on the PS2, looked worse then the original EQ.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-08, 10:33 AM   #57
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: AOC

We don't really know what the total size of the textures is or what they are scaled for. They might be scaled up to and beyond 1080p (1920x1080) for the PC version.

For the 360, they might just scale the whole thing to run at 720p and use compression. This would lower the space needed dramatically. Some of that 30GB will be audio as well. We don't know how Funcom is storing the data for the PC version, so it's hard to tell.

I could see it being 2 DVD's. One that installs stuff, taking up 5-10GB, the other DVD the game runs off of. You only use the install DVD once, using the "Play" DVD from then on.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-08, 05:00 PM   #58
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: AOC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze
We don't really know what the total size of the textures is or what they are scaled for. They might be scaled up to and beyond 1080p (1920x1080) for the PC version.

For the 360, they might just scale the whole thing to run at 720p and use compression. This would lower the space needed dramatically. Some of that 30GB will be audio as well. We don't know how Funcom is storing the data for the PC version, so it's hard to tell.

I could see it being 2 DVD's. One that installs stuff, taking up 5-10GB, the other DVD the game runs off of. You only use the install DVD once, using the "Play" DVD from then on.
good guess, why have high res textures, when the game is rendered at 720p or in some cases less
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-08, 01:19 AM   #59
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: AOC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze
I could see it being 2 DVD's. One that installs stuff, taking up 5-10GB, the other DVD the game runs off of. You only use the install DVD once, using the "Play" DVD from then on.
there is never ever a "play" dvd for mmorpgs. Because you need to login to a server to play. So the whole needing a dvd to play is useless
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-08, 01:54 AM   #60
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: AOC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badboy_12345
there is never ever a "play" dvd for mmorpgs. Because you need to login to a server to play. So the whole needing a dvd to play is useless
You obviously have no idea how this thing works.

The entire world is on your harddisk, the server only stores the entire database and controls the rules, logic, AI, rolls, basically just serves as a hub, not a "world streamer". Server = service provider.
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$169.99 - AOC 2436Vwa Black 24" (23.6" viewable) 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor News 24-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:35 PM
$149.99 - AOC E2343FK Black 23" 5ms Widescreen LCD News 23-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:30 PM
$239.99 - AOC e2352Phz Black 23" 5ms HDMI Widescreen LED Monitor News 23-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:30 PM
$181.00 - AOC i2353Ph Chrome Bezel and Base, Piano Black Back Cover 23" 5ms HDMI Wide News 23-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:30 PM
$129.99 - AOC e2251Swdn Piano-black Glossy Bezel 22" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor News 22-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.