Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-07, 07:03 AM   #1
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Question E6300/6400 or E6600?

Hi guys,

I'm going to be building a new rig soon. I've only got a small budget, as such I've selected the Asus P5N-E as my motherboard and was looking to probably go for an E6300/6400 and see how far I could overclock the CPU. I know both of these chips are pretty overclockable, but have 2 MB of on-board cache.

However, Tigerdirect has a crazy deal on the 6600 for 300$CDN, so it's priced 20 bucks above the 6400 and 40 more than the 6300. The 6600 is faster and has 4MB of cache. However I doubt it's as overclockable as the lower clocked CPU's.

Which do you guys think I should go for?

Thanks for your thoughts guys.




For those interested in the deal, the special for the 6600 started yesterday and ends tomorrow. (April 12th)Click here for the page.
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 08:10 AM   #2
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Intel drops its prices on April 22. I would wait until then to buy the computer if you're on a tight budget. The E6300/E6400 are going to be replaced by processors with 4mb cache, and the E6600 will drop down to the price of the current E6400. It's a win-win deal to wait.

Also, E6600 gets my vote.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 09:08 AM   #3
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

If you can afford it, I say get the E6600.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 10:07 AM   #4
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Yeah I heard the prices were dropping as well. Didn't know the date though. I'm without a system until then, but I should be able to wait.

I wonder if the 4MB cores which replace the 6300\6400 will be as overclockable as the current 2MB ones?

Also, should the 6600 drop to the current 6400 price, then I could possibly take advantage of the price it's at now 299 rather than 379/389 I've seen currently for the 6600.
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 11:51 AM   #5
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Most E6600s I've seen will overclock to at least 3.4gHz. I haven't seen as many 6400s go that high, although I have seen a # of them that will.

Clock for clock the 6600s are a little faster because of the extra cache.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 11:57 AM   #6
CybrSage
 
CybrSage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 102
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

I have the E6300 with the Gigabyte DS3 mobo. I have it overclocked to about 3.2 GHz.

That said, I would go for the E6600, simply for the extra cache.
__________________
--------------------------------------
CybrSage
CybrSage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 12:44 PM   #7
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanM
The 6600 is faster and has 4MB of cache. However I doubt it's as overclockable as the lower clocked CPU's.
Wrong. I have had both an E6400 and my E6600 now and they both OC similar, E6600 being the slight favorite.

E6600 is easier because of the higher multi, also meaning you can save a little bit of $ on RAM.

Stay away, however, from the E4300 and E6300 as native Allendale cores (e4300) have begun showing up in the E6300s. (week Q640) http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1138241


Anyway, I would only get an E6600 if you encode video/audio alot. In every other application, you will not notice the extra cache..
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 01:16 PM   #8
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffbiff21
also meaning you can save a little bit of $ on RAM.

Anyway, I would only get an E6600 if you encode video/audio alot. In every other application, you will not notice the extra cache..
Not that dirt cheap RAM is hard to find these days...
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-11-07, 06:29 PM   #9
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Well the 6600 is starting to look mighty interesting with all your suggestions.
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 08:22 PM   #10
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

E6600 has my vote! Great chip!
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 09:01 PM   #11
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanM
Well the 6600 is starting to look mighty interesting with all your suggestions.
It is a supurb chip @ stock speeds... OC it a little, and you have one hell of a chip.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-07, 09:01 PM   #12
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: E6300/6400 or E6600?

E6600...no contest at that price difference.

The processor is 1333MHz capable. Combine with a 1333MHz capable motherboard with PC6400 ram set at 800MHz frequency and you have a solid performing 3GHz machine.
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.