Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-07, 09:23 AM   #1
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

on the intel side I have
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813188015
for mobo

and
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820145033
for RAM

I would be up for an AMD platform, but I am worried that they will change sockets on me making it impossible to upgrade in a year if I want to.
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 09:32 AM   #2
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

First, and most importantly, do not go with a 680i motherboard if you want any kind of stability with your system. There are some around who will tell you "ohh.. it works great.. no problem, etc." but about 30-40% of the people who have them, hate them. Another 10% or so go on liking them even though they've had to RMA already. They're buggy as hell, the southbridge overheats like the Sahara, and they have a very poor reliability record.. no matter who manufactures them.

Some good alternatives to the 680i would be the board I have (Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus, not the P5N32-E SLI), which is a 650i hybrid with the 650i northbridge and 590SLI southbridge. This is the only Intel LGA775 SLI board I have owned that's been stable/reliable. I've had it for around two months now after going through 3 680i boards in 2 months that all died on me.


Secondly, AMD is moving to a new socket.. this fall, supposedly. AM2+. The desktop variation of the native-quad Barcelona chip will be coming to that platform. The current AM2 platform will be compatible with the Barcelona desktop variation but will not have the full 3.0 Hyper Transport memory controller that the AM2+ board would have. It will operate on 1.0. How much of an effect this will have on performance is questionable at this point, but I wouldn't want a native quad chip to be handicapped by my platform.

Have I confused you enough now?
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 09:39 AM   #3
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Ah the Nforce 680i is quite stable platform if you have it hook upto water cooling lol. If i was you as X2 said go pick up a 650i they run way cooler. My board runs 35C and 78C for the power regulators which is insaine. By far the hottest part in the system Not even my Geforce 8800GTX gets that hot!!
But it's stable for me but you would expect better temps considering my case has 5x 120mm fans 1x 40mm attached to the board & 4x 140mm fans AND IT STILL GETS DAMN WARM!!
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 10:07 AM   #4
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

so then it sounds like intel wins, not just to find a motherboard.
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 10:17 AM   #5
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

is this thread a joke?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 10:20 AM   #6
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

no really, I am looking to build a new system.
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 10:24 AM   #7
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

not sure if I like that board or not. ATM, I only have the one 8800 GTS to plug in , and SLi is not really needed. It just happends that the only way to get my 5+ SATA ports is on SLi boards
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 10:26 AM   #8
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thor1182
so then it sounds like intel wins, not just to find a motherboard.
For SLI:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131153

Single card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131045
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-16-07, 10:34 AM   #9
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

going to go with the single card suggestion unless I see better.
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 10:56 AM   #10
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Do you need SLI? If not, buy E6600 and P965 mobo, the best performance and stability you can get for you money. AMD X2 is a joke, had X2 4400+ and was very UNHAPPY with it..
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 11:18 AM   #11
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Do you need SLI? If not, buy E6600 and P965 mobo, the best performance and stability you can get for you money. AMD X2 is a joke.
Pretty much sums up my opinions.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 12:10 PM   #12
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
E6600, definitely!
+1
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
AFDS 2012: AMD Wireless Display to compete against Intel WiDi with open standards News Archived News Items 0 06-10-12 09:20 PM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM
AMD and Intel both need to improve their Linux support News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 02:20 PM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 01:09 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.