Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-02, 07:07 PM   #37
Cotita
Nvidia God
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 341
Default

I've found that these resolutions look better or worse depending on the monitor. On my 17" acerview 76c 1280x1024 looks great, but on my brothers Acer 17" V771 is looks somewhat squashed, and in the 17" LG at work both 1280x1024 and 1280x960 look pretty much the same.

Also 1280x960 is not supported natively by a lot of monitors (mostly 17 inchers and even some 19") and therefore you can't select refresh rates higher than 60hz.


just my 2 cents
__________________
Sometimes I hate being right everytime.
Cotita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 07:14 PM   #38
gravioli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cosmopolis, WA
Posts: 276
Default

Well, I don't use 1280x1024 because my monitor only has a max 60Hz refresh rate at that resolution. I'm my experience however, 1280x960 looks stretched disproportionately. The only games that I recall trying that resolution with were the original GLQuake and I think the original Unreal. Personally, I would rather use 1152x870 or 1024x768.
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate|Intel i7 2700K|Gigabyte Z68XP-3DP|16GB GeIL Enhance CORSA|EVGA Geforce GTX 560Ti|OCZ Vertex2 120GB
gravioli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 10:43 PM   #39
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

He said: IN's are used for everything electrical BUT the numbers themselves are none-existent or something like that.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 05:04 AM   #40
Remi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
He said: IN's are used for everything electrical BUT the numbers themselves are none-existent or something like that.
Well, mathematics were really based on counting stones, at the time were merchant used little stones to precisely represent such quantities as the number of animals in their flock (the word calculation is derived from the Latin word "calculus", stone). So I suppose one such merchant could say INs doesn't exist because he don't use them to count stones. But then the same could be said of numbers with decimal points and negative numbers.
Your math teacher certainly would be very disoriented, to say the least, by research in physical science. Some theories states that our universe is not made of only 4 dimensions (x,y,z and the time) but more than 20, only the other dimensions are so thick that they are not of any practical matter until you go to see and try to understand what's happening at distances smaller than atoms (the extra dimensions, looked which such en enlargement, do not appear so thick then and begin to enter in the game). If one thinks that numbers with just 2 dimensions (which is what really INs are) do not exist, he'll have a hell of a time with numbers of more than twenty dimensions, yet that is still physical science, the science of studying nature. So I would not say those things do not exist.

Even if they are not of practical use to count rocks.

Probably, your teacher really thinks that even if INs may be an interesting matter, as a detailled study of INs is not in your curriculum he just do not want to start the debate. Just a guess.

Last edited by Remi; 07-29-02 at 05:17 AM.
Remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 07:56 AM   #41
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

I love the extra dimensions stuff though. I thought the universe has infinite dimensions.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 08:21 AM   #42
Remi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 169
Default

In each of the three space dimensions, x, y, z, one can say they are infinite because if someone or something would try to go so far as to find "the end of space", that is complete emptiness (no matter, no waves, absolutely nothing at all), he could never find it because the space near him/it will contain waves emitted by him/it (everything emit waves of one kind or another - except may be black holes, but only if you consider that gravity is not a wave, which is still not very clear I believe). So one can say that the space is naturally created when needed, that is when waves expand themselves in the emptiness. So if space creates itself automatically when you're advancing in emptiness, then you could advance infinitely (given enough time, lol!), which is why we consider the space to be infinite.

That is a very simplistic way of explaining complex physics (on which my knowledge is limited), but it gives the general idea.

May be we're a bit off-topic here, hey? It's always funny to see how a discussion can evolve...

Last edited by Remi; 07-29-02 at 08:30 AM.
Remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 03:49 PM   #43
Spiff
GeForce FX 5800 Ultra
 
Spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2
Default

Well, I use 1280x1024 and I was intrigued by what was being said here, so I changed over to 1280x960 to see what the fuss was about.

I must say, it looks damn butt-ugly. It may just be that I'm not used to it, but all the fonts look out of proportion, they look narrower than they should be. In fact, everything looks narrower. And besides, on my Iiyama VM Pro 452 I can't stretch the screen's horizontal width right to the edge of the screen in that resolution. There is a gap of about 10cm.

/me switches back to 1280x1024

Mathmatics can bite me.
Spiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 04:24 PM   #44
RAST
<>
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Spiff

[...]
In fact, everything looks narrower. And besides, on my Iiyama VM Pro 452 I can't stretch the screen's horizontal width right to the edge of the screen in that resolution. There is a gap of about 10cm.

I have the same monitor and I have the same issue too -- can't correct the image. 1280x1024 works great @ 85hz though. Plus most games don't support 1280x960 (Morrowind being an exception).
__________________
ASUS A7n8x
XP 2500 (11x200)
eVGA GeForce4ti 4600 (300/700)
RAST is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-29-02, 08:12 PM   #45
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bleat
I use 1280x1024 soley for the increased desktop area...
same here, I'm a desktop area nut. I have even survived w/ the lowly refresh rate of 60hz to have my 1280*1024 rez on my monitor.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 08:23 PM   #46
SlyBoots
Registered User
 
SlyBoots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Grande, OR
Posts: 339
Default Re: 1280x1024

Quote:
Originally posted by skipparoo
What a shame every last thread had to be removed and a new forum had to be created. In ways this can be beneficial, but in others it is unfortunate that we cannot go back and refer to old threads.

Anyways, I wanted to start off with my opinion on the resolution of 1280x1024. I do not understand why a lot of people like to use this resolution. This resolution is at an incorrect ratio, as opposed to 1280x960, so as a result the picture is slightly distorted.

Most OpenGL applications seem to utilize this resolution instead of 1280x960, which is just wrong. I guess there is no real problems with running a slightly distorted image, and most of the time it's probably not noticeable to the average user, but the fact is it is a resolution at an incorrect ratio, and in my opinion shouldn't even exist.

Peace to everyone, and enjoy the new forums!

-Skippy
Skippy,

My IIyama VMP 510 22" monitor doesn't support 12x9 so I run 16x12.....I use the R8500 on this one so I don't have to bother with the reg hack to enable it.

My Cornerstone p2460 supports 12x9 and is coupled with the Ti4600 ..
SlyBoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 05:06 AM   #47
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Thanks Remi.

to the duck dude:
be carefull maths is always around you. ask and it will bite u in the ass
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 05:54 PM   #48
mcortz_2000
X-Rhodesian
 
mcortz_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 64
Default

I understand what u mean about the resolution but seriously, when rockets are flying at u left and right are u really going to care........LOL hehehe
__________________
P4 2.4B(c1) @ 3014 MhzVolcano7+
Abit IT7-Max2 V.2
1 x OCZ 512MB el PC-3500 @414cas2
1 x 80Gig 7200(2MB) W/D
SB Augidy Gamer
Ati 9700(non-pro) - cat3.1(Omega)
Logitech Z-560's (AWESOME)
Viewsonic 19" P95f (Brilliant)
Lian-Li PC-65 / side window, 430Watt Enermax
WinXP / SP1


The one, the only
-- RanglerGRS --
mcortz_2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia-settings only allowing 1440x900 resolution lumina NVIDIA Linux 4 11-17-12 02:09 PM
Regression with GTK+ menus when using a virtual resolution alex_sh NVIDIA Linux 0 10-20-12 03:20 PM
The Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti GPU is Out Now, Great for 720p S3D News Archived News Items 0 10-09-12 09:40 AM
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.