Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-02, 07:42 PM   #61
Max3D
Quadro2 Pro
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Default

This thread was helpful to me as ive been using 1280x1024 for the last couple years an until now noticed a circle drawn in 2D paint/drawing PS or any CAD program is not accurate (width longer than height), go ahead and draw a circle about 5 inches in diameter and take and measure it on your screen horizontally then measure it vertically and youll see its all wrong, then I tryed 1280x960 and the same circle is equally width/height, if your just a gamer this is no big deal.
Max3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 09:55 AM   #62
Quinn1981
Elite Bastard
 
Quinn1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lyons, GA, USA
Posts: 86
Default

It doesn't matter what resolution you have, you can draw a perfect freggin' circle all the time. The only way something is going to get skewed is if the program is stretching the image to fit the screen and im not aware of any graphics programs that would do such a silly thing. Maybe a CAD program does it, but I don't know why, that would be rather stupid.

Also, I guess all of our magazines should have skewed pictures and design as layout artist for magazines tend to use non-traditional aspect monitors to do their layout work. Same goes for some CAD designers.

Also, in games, nothing will get skewed. or else anyone with 3 monitors hooked up playing Q3 would get a headache. The only thing that might get skewed or spaced out is a 2D GUI. Anachronox is a good example is you edit the resolution in the config file for use something else other that 640x480 or 1280x960.

THE RESOLUTION IS JUST A WINDOW INTO THE SAME STUFF!!!
Quinn1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 03:59 PM   #63
Max3D
Quadro2 Pro
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Quinn1981
It doesn't matter what resolution you have, you can draw a perfect freggin' circle all the time. The only way something is going to get skewed is if the program is stretching the image to fit the screen and im not aware of any graphics programs that would do such a silly thing. Maybe a CAD program does it, but I don't know why, that would be rather stupid.
Your computer/application/printer/plotter all know its a perfect circle indeed but to my eyes its skewed, if I use a wacom tablet to sketch something id like it to LOOK accurate onscreen, just my point of view as a designer, btw: I have a Sony 19" trinitron flat maybe getting a 22" wide screen might not have this issue @1280x1024?
Max3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 05:14 PM   #64
netviper13
Treehugger
 
netviper13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 942
Default

I just made the switch from 1024x768 to 1280x1024 today for my desktop, and all I can say is it looks awesome with my new StyleXP Theme.
netviper13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 11:04 PM   #65
Steppy
Radeon 10K Pro
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 351
Default

Ok, EVERYBODY I know, and probably 99% of computer users set their monitor to go to the edges of the screen(I set mine for each resolution NOT to be skewed). When you do this on monitors a "circle" or a "square" selection in resolutions different from the aspect ratio of the monitor WILL appear skewed ON THE MONITOR....this has NO effect on output devices like printers and such. Somebody that calibrates their monitor for 1280x1024 and make a picture with perfect circles to them will have that picture appear with ovals to somebody who has 1280x1024 set up to "fill the screen". Then, somebody who "fills the screen" at 1280x1024 and makes a picture to have what look like perfect circles to them wil most likely have their picture look like it has "perfect circles" on most other peoples monitors because they are most likely also improperly set. This is actually an occasion where "two wrongs MAKE a right". I think it's a matter of who's looking too. One person may not be able to notice the skew(it's not THAT great a difference), while another can easily(I can and it bugs me). If you want an EXTREME example set your computer to a letterbox resolution(like 1280x720) and make it fill your entire screen(via your monitor controls so that there is no black surrounding the picture if you're not understanding what I say). Go to photoshop and make a 100x100 selection box and tell me that it looks like a square...if it does I want some of what you're smoking.
__________________
Here's my clever comment
Steppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-02, 12:00 AM   #66
zack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Default

Personally, I use 1024x768
zack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-02, 08:29 AM   #67
Quinn1981
Elite Bastard
 
Quinn1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lyons, GA, USA
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Max3D


Your computer/application/printer/plotter all know its a perfect circle indeed but to my eyes its skewed, if I use a wacom tablet to sketch something id like it to LOOK accurate onscreen, just my point of view as a designer, btw: I have a Sony 19" trinitron flat maybe getting a 22" wide screen might not have this issue @1280x1024?
i give up, i must be wrong or something. its just i can do anything at this resolution and print it out looking just like I made it...

ok, im going to test this out... brb
Quinn1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-02, 08:47 AM   #68
Quinn1981
Elite Bastard
 
Quinn1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lyons, GA, USA
Posts: 86
Default

ok, when im wrong, ill be the first to admit it. it does do that. the reasoning behind made sense, but i had never noticed it. making a perfect circle at 1600x1024 using a perfect circle tool didnt look to pretty. i noticed the slighest squish at 1280x1024, but not enough to warrent changing as i never trust my eye and always use presise measurements to do graphics. still, it opened my eyes on the subject.

it just makes everything having to do with how stuff is displayed at different resolutions so silly. it does make sense though. windows would have to know the aspect of your monitor to make the right perspective correction.

monitor aspects need to be saved and utilized in monitor inf's so it can be used to display correct proportions by windows.

it just made sense to me that if 720x480 worked on my television playing movies (the tv chip determines the size of the signal all the time, duh) and 1280x1024 didnt look any different, that the actual display image would display correctly, but again, its imposible without the drivers, windows or a certain program knowing the monitors size.

sorry all for babling on and such. i didnt research before i opened my mouth this time and im a dummy for it.

seeing is believing!!!
Quinn1981 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-10-02, 10:00 AM   #69
Nvnutter02
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Actually 1280x1024 is a vaid resolution -its x2 pal underscan

640x512 - is pal underscan (doubled 1280x1024)
640x480 - is ntsc underscan (doubled 1280x960

yep pal has more pixels
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-02, 10:21 AM   #70
RAST
<>
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Steppy
Go to photoshop and make a 100x100 selection box and tell me that it looks like a square...if it does I want some of what you're smoking.
Strangely for me a perfect square does not LOOK perfect. This is actually not that unusual. But for me all this talk of slightly skewed circles, squares, etc. is pointless. I can't tell even if it's spot on ;-)
__________________
ASUS A7n8x
XP 2500 (11x200)
eVGA GeForce4ti 4600 (300/700)
RAST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-02, 11:34 AM   #71
bleat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9
Default

You definitely seem confused.... It appears you are referring possibly to the screen resolution having an adverse effect on multiplayer control in FPS games unless you have a high resolution optical mouse?

There's more games out there than just online FPS's... I used to play nothing but, but for the last couple years I haven't played an FPS online period.. just got boring...

Pick up a good RPG..

Quote:
Originally posted by nvambat
AHAHAHHHAHAHAHAH..........childrenzzzzzz.......... ..before you jack in that TIIIII444446666600000000.....go found youself a real good real optical resolution of at least 800dpi mouse first, wireless model need not apply at da moment........AHAHAHAHAHHAAHA.......b4 I frag u into crushes.......with your finger movin nuts across the mat.......AHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA....
bleat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-02, 04:11 PM   #72
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default I agree

I agree, i thinkit really is a load of crap that everyone uses 1280x1024, 5:4 instead of 1280x960 4:3 like our monitors are at, it pisses me off because my laptop can do 640x480, 600x600, 1024x768, 1280x1024, 1600x1200 but it cand do 1280x960, and let me tell you doing pixel interpolation at a bad aspect ratio is just play bad, and really distorted, and it pisses me off.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia-settings only allowing 1440x900 resolution lumina NVIDIA Linux 4 11-17-12 02:09 PM
Regression with GTK+ menus when using a virtual resolution alex_sh NVIDIA Linux 0 10-20-12 03:20 PM
The Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti GPU is Out Now, Great for 720p S3D News Archived News Items 0 10-09-12 09:40 AM
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.