Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-07, 10:49 PM   #25
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senor Hubris
Yes, I do. Which is why I posted the link to the workaround.
Thanks for the quick feedback. Pretty sure I did all that but I'll go back and check closely.
Thanks again. I'll let you know.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-07, 11:28 PM   #26
///MVinny
WSP Most Wanted
 
///MVinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Hold the phone.

Found some modelines here, look for your TV:
http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Modeline_Database

XORG.conf:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "SONY TV"
    HorizSync       15.0 - 46.0
    VertRefresh     59.0 - 61.0
    Option         "DPMS"
    ModeLine       "1920x1080i" 74.2 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1088 1091 1121 +hsync +vsync interlace
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA BUGGY DRIVER Corporation"
    BoardName      "Unknown"
        Option  "ModeValidation" "NoVertRefreshCheck"
        Option  "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
        Option  "ModeValidation" "NoEdidMaxPclkCheck"
        Option  "ModeValidation" "NoHorizSyncCheck"
        Option  "ModeValidation" "NoMaxPClkcheck"
        Option  "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "FALSE"
        Option  "NoPredefinedModes"
        Option  "DPI" "100x100"
EndSection

BERYL is lookin pretty hot.


Result:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snapshot2.jpg
Views:	351
Size:	177.4 KB
ID:	25311  Click image for larger version

Name:	snapshot3.jpg
Views:	292
Size:	174.3 KB
ID:	25312  
///MVinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 04:36 PM   #27
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Senor:

You are indeed correct sir. Thank you very much.

I'm up and running through DVI and custom modeline at 1616x884 @ 50hz. Fits nicely in the frame with no overscan.

Thanks for being persistent. Sometimes you've got to hit us dummies in the head twice with the brick to get our attention.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-07, 07:09 PM   #28
js22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Well, I've progressed to the point of getting custom modelines to work, and I have a 1280x720 mode nicely corrected for my TV's overscan. But for the 1920x1080 interlaced mode I tried the "workaround" referenced above and ran into a deadend.

In brief, the workaround is to take a modeline which works (but has half of the desktop improperly displayed below the TV's physical screen), and then double the pixel clock and the 4 vertical timing parameters. Of course, you have to disable the validation checks on the pixel clock and the vert refresh rate.

The problem I ran into was that by doubling the pixel clock and leaving the horiz settings unchanged, you are doubling the horizontal sync pulse frequency. In my case, the resulting frequency was outside of what my TV's EDID parameters allowed. I disabled the validation check of HSync
and tried it anyway, and sure enough my TV was unable to sync.


So my question at this point : Is there an actual way to fix (as opposed to work around) the problem ? I don't have my xorg.conf and log files, but the problem I am seeing is the same as the original poster : the 1920x1080i mode over DVI (exactly matching the TVs reported EDID mode) is stetched to double its correct height, and only the top half is visible on the screen.


My setup :

ASUS M/B w/ 6150 onboard
AMD64 x2 1.9GHz
Fedora Core 6, fresh install
latest NVidia driver
Sony KV-34XBR970 (34" CRT, native 1080i)
DVI-HDMI cable
js22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-07, 08:24 PM   #29
Senor Hubris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by js22
So my question at this point : Is there an actual way to fix (as opposed to work around) the problem ?
The only fix is for the driver to work properly. The reason there needs to be a workaround is because the driver doesn't currently function properly. Hopefully the bug filed earlier in this thread will (eventually) get this problem resolved. FWIW, until the 9xxx series came out the 8xxx worked just fine (the 8xxx series had other issues, but it was able to display 1920x1080i w/o the need for a custom modeline).
Senor Hubris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-07, 09:08 PM   #30
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

js22:
Have you given up on 1080i?
There must be a modeline that will work with your monitor. Maybe you just haven't found it yet

Did you check closely the MythTV site referenced by MVinny above?
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-07, 09:21 PM   #31
Senor Hubris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by js22
In brief, the workaround is to take a modeline which works (but has half of the desktop improperly displayed below the TV's physical screen), and then double the pixel clock and the 4 vertical timing parameters. Of course, you have to disable the validation checks on the pixel clock and the vert refresh rate.
You shouldn't need to double the pixel clock. I don't.
Senor Hubris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-07, 01:26 PM   #32
js22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senor Hubris
You shouldn't need to double the pixel clock. I don't.

Hmmm... So you double only the 4 vertical parameters and this makes it fit on screen ? I'll have to give that a try.

Okay, the rest of this post is just me thinking out loud. I haven't tried this yet, but its what I plan to try if doubling the vertical parameters doesn't work.

After some head scratching it seems to me that both the original workaround (pixel clock doubled) and this variation (pixel clock not doubled) both have a flaw. The original moeline gives horizontal timings that work properly. If you double the pixel clock the HSync pulses will arrive twice as fast, which is okay if your TV can sync to them. But you have also cut in half the width (in seconds) of the HSync pulses, which indicate the amount of time needed for horizontal retrace -getting the electron beam back over to the left side of the screen. My understanding is that this time is a property of the TV and should not be changed. OTOH, by cutting in half the amount of time it takes to draw one line, then all 4 vertical timing parameters can be doubled with no ill effects.

The variation on the workaround (double the vertical parameters, but not the pix clock) has similar issues. Since absolutely nothing has changed with the horizontal timing, everything will still work correctly. But when you double all four vertical parameters, you double not only the number of lines you want displayed on screen, but also the width of the VSync pulse - the time your CRT takes to sweep the beam back to the top of the screen.

So my guess as to the "perfect workaround" would be the following :

1) Leave the pixel clock and horizontal values the same.
2) For the vertical parameters (call them V1, V2, V3, V4), record the value of V3-V2. This is the width of the VSync pulse.
3) Double the values of V1, V2, and V4.
4) Add the VSync pulse width from step 2 to the new V2. Use this as the new V3.

Like I said, I'll give this a try tonight and see what happens.
js22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-30-07, 01:33 PM   #33
js22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by rerushg
js22:
Have you given up on 1080i?
There must be a modeline that will work with your monitor. Maybe you just haven't found it yet

Did you check closely the MythTV site referenced by MVinny above?

Well, for use as a compuer monitor, my tweaked 720p mode is pretty nice. But for the main attraction - playing HD content vi MythTV - I'm gonna be really disappointed if I can't get 1080i to work. (c.f. previous post....)

Yeah, unfortunately, my TV isn't in the MythTV modeline database yet. But it's a popular (and cheap !) TV, so I'm sure plenty of folks are working on it.
js22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-07, 02:52 PM   #34
Senor Hubris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by js22
Hmmm... So you double only the 4 vertical parameters and this makes it fit on screen ? I'll have to give that a try.
Yes. I have other problems though. I don't know if the linked problem is related to this workaround or not. Either way I don't actually use 1080i when using mythtv due to this problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by js22
So my guess as to the "perfect workaround" would be the following :

1) Leave the pixel clock and horizontal values the same.
2) For the vertical parameters (call them V1, V2, V3, V4), record the value of V3-V2. This is the width of the VSync pulse.
3) Double the values of V1, V2, and V4.
4) Add the VSync pulse width from step 2 to the new V2. Use this as the new V3.

Like I said, I'll give this a try tonight and see what happens.
Yes, please post back. I'll try this tonight as well. Based on what you say it seems my vtimings should be: 1080 1084 1089 1124. The edid vtimings are: 540 542 547 562.
Senor Hubris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-07, 06:37 PM   #35
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Here are some timings I pulled from Powerstrip in Windpws for 1080i. They might be of interest to you. (All interlaced / + / + ) of course.

"1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124
"1920x1080" 80.183 1920 1984 2176 2432 1080 1081 1084 1099

Finally, The one I actually use:
"1616x884" 54.00 1616 1648 1808 2000 884 885 888 900
This one works well as it is "inside" the timings for standard 1080i @ 60hz and eliminates the need for overscan adjustment.

If you're interested, js22, here's what the timings are in "TV jargon". This pulled from Powerstrip. Taking the first mode listed above:

74.25 Pixel Clock
1920 Horizontal Resolution
2008 HR + Front Porch
2052 HR + FP + Sync Width
2200 HR + FP + SW + Back Porch
1080 Vertical Resolution
1084 VR + Front Porch
1094 VR + FP + Sync Width
1124 VR + FP SW + Back Porch

Also, this link might be of interest:
http://xtiming.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/xtiming.pl
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-07, 07:56 PM   #36
///MVinny
WSP Most Wanted
 
///MVinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

I hope we don't see any, "I've blown up my television" threads anytime soon. This is bleeding edge tweaking at it's finest! Aarrrr Matey!! Think I'll boot over to the dark side, (Windoze) and run that powerstrip thingy!
///MVinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.