Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-07, 07:27 PM   #37
miltiad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///MVinny
I hope we don't see any, "I've blown up my television" threads anytime soon. This is bleeding edge tweaking at it's finest! Aarrrr Matey!! Think I'll boot over to the dark side, (Windoze) and run that powerstrip thingy!
*praise for driver fix*
miltiad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-07, 11:13 PM   #38
Senor Hubris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senor Hubris
Yes, please post back. I'll try this tonight as well. Based on what you say it seems my vtimings should be: 1080 1084 1089 1124. The edid vtimings are: 540 542 547 562.
FWIW, none of the suggested modelines in this thread help me with my 1080i problem.

Of course, I don't actually think its a modeline problem. Probably a driver issue.
Senor Hubris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-07, 03:32 AM   #39
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///MVinny
I hope we don't see any, "I've blown up my television" threads anytime soon.
Of course not! That is something that happened with CRT screens designed over 10 years ago. Newer CRTs have circuitry/software that displays a message when you send invalid signals, and LCD or Plasma screens don't even have the component that would fail when invalid signals were sent to a CRT.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-07, 10:47 AM   #40
js22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Well, I tried my idea last night and had no luck. The TV simply failed to sync. No explosion !

At this point I'll try the modelines rerushg posted, but I'm thinking it's time to go out and get an SVideo cable to tide me over until the driver gets fixed.

I finally got Mythtv installed and configured and started playing around with it. The 1080i content displayed on a 720p screen loocks okay, but there are some de-interlacing artifacts when objects move. Just for fun I fired up 1080i mide and watched some video, and the top half of the image looks great !
js22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-07, 04:41 PM   #41
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Well js22, it just doesn't sound like you can get any satisfaction. Here are a couple more thoughts on it.

I bit the bullet and booted up WinXP to pull some more modelines from PowerStrip. Hope they don't just increase your frustration. All are based on an industry standard as specified.

(EIA/CEA-861B)
"1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2448 2496 2640 1080 1084 1094 1124
(25PsF)
"1920x1080" 74.184 1920 2408 2496 2640 1080 1084 1094 1124
(24PsF)
"1920x1080" 74.238 1920 2520 2608 2752 1080 1084 1094 1124

Other thought is this: I mentioned much earlier in this thread that an S-video/Component splitter works for HDTV. You just have to change xorg.conf for a TV-out configuration. See "Appendix H" in nvidia docs for detail.
Frankly, I'm at a loss to understand why NV can push 1080i in analog form out the S-video port but can't push it out the DVI port. Go figure.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-07, 05:05 PM   #42
Senor Hubris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by rerushg
Other thought is this: I mentioned much earlier in this thread that an S-video/Component splitter works for HDTV. You just have to change xorg.conf for a TV-out configuration. See "Appendix H" in nvidia docs for detail.
Frankly, I'm at a loss to understand why NV can push 1080i in analog form out the S-video port but can't push it out the DVI port. Go figure.
Wow. I missed that (the s-video splitter comment). And it looks good? I just can't imagine...
Senor Hubris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-07, 07:14 PM   #43
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Senor:
Actually, the S/Comp setup works very well. I compared DVI vs S/Comp in WinXP. With equivalent resolutions I could not tell any difference between them.
Might even help with your blurriness issue though I can offer no rational logic for this. Perhaps the NV analog circuit might have a better ability to sync with your TV.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-07, 07:18 PM   #44
Senor Hubris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by rerushg
Senor:
Actually, the S/Comp setup works very well. I compared DVI vs S/Comp in WinXP. With equivalent resolutions I could not tell any difference between them.
Might even help with your blurriness issue though I can offer no rational logic for this. Perhaps the NV analog circuit might have a better ability to sync with your TV.
That is my thought as well. Can you recommend a particular adapter?
Senor Hubris is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-01-07, 08:01 PM   #45
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Senor:

Mine is S-video plug with 3 wires (RBG) coming out, about 8" long, terminating in female "audio" plugs. Then I use a male/male extension to the TV.
Came with my 7900GS card. I just checked TigerDirect online but could not find it. Might be hard to find. Any chance you got one with your card and just put it aside as a "curiosity"? That's what I did.

Edit: Another thought on bluriness. Have you considered the "depth" option in xorg.conf? Are you running 24? Note that this depth calls for 32 BPP (bits per pixel). Changing depth to 16 would change BPP to 16, effectively cutting video memory requirement in half, possibly with no perceptible loss in video quality.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 04:54 PM   #46
js22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by rerushg
Well js22, it just doesn't sound like you can get any satisfaction.
Yeah, first Mick and now me...

Actually, I don't know why I was thinking of S-video as a fallback, b/c my mobo has component out as well. I tinkered with it early on before I got DVI out working. I've made so many tweaks and changes that I don't remember how good/bad it looks compared to DVI. But now that I've got everything else (cross fingers) straightened out, I think I'll go back and give it a try. For use as a computer monitor, I like the custom DVI modeline I tweaked to correct for overscan. But for video, I think it's best to keep the display at the original resolution and keep the overscan. I've been noticing jagged lines at the top of the screen (closed captioning ?) and a green line at the left edge of the video. Keeping some overscan would hide these. Also when I view 1080i HDTV material on a 720p screen, I get motion artifacts from the de-interlacing. The same material played back in 1080i was perfect (the half that I could see, anyway !)


Anyway, hopefully the component out will look good enough to hold me over until DVI out issue gets fixed.
js22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 05:44 PM   #47
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by rerushg
Frankly, I'm at a loss to understand why NV can push 1080i in analog form out the S-video port but can't push it out the DVI port. Go figure.
That is not true. My 6600GT outputs a perfect 1080i VGA signal on its DVI-I port(s). Just a matter of setting the correct modeline and ignoring EDID.

Of course it is RGB, not component. But that is not a problem here in Europe as RGB is the standard here.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 08:15 PM   #48
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1080i Resolution unused by nvidia-auto-select on 60-inch HDTV, [ Sony KDS-R60XBR1

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl
That is not true. My 6600GT outputs a perfect 1080i VGA signal on its DVI-I port(s). Just a matter of setting the correct modeline and ignoring EDID.
Not sure what you mean by "not true". VGA is an analog signal. Please explain. Thanks.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.