Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-12, 02:39 PM   #1
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Booting from DVD...

Having some issues getting my computer to boot to a Windows 7 Ultimate upgrade DVD. i copied iso to a blank dvd using this method, with no errors: http://maketecheasier.com/burn-a-win...dvd/2010/04/22

I looked at the boot priorities, and tried many different combinations (all CD-ROM, or only the first CD-ROM, and the rest disabled, and others). When the computer is booting after the loading screen, it says press any button to boot from CDROM, and I am mashing the keyboard like crazy, and then it just boots regularly from HD.

Even though it seems DVD works fine, I am going to try a different DVD. The one I am using now is a maxell DVD+R

As always, help is appreciated.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-12, 03:06 PM   #2
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

Try another bootable DVD that you know works and go from there. Make a Memtestx86 bootable disc, although that might be a CD, but it should still be the same process.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-12, 04:01 PM   #3
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

Odds are the disc isn't correctly made. So it attempts to boot the disc, but then can't find a boot sector.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-12, 04:03 PM   #4
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

Those instructions are missing the boot sector I believe. Try these: http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=11194
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-12, 04:08 PM   #5
Cylphid
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 444
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

Plug your keyboard into another port and/or make sure all things usb are enabled in the bios.

A friends pc will only enable the keyboard off certain ports (P5Q I think) but I have no idea why.

EDIT:
Never mind - run the install from within Vista.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ows-7?T1=tab03
Cylphid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-12, 05:15 PM   #6
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cylphid View Post
Plug your keyboard into another port and/or make sure all things usb are enabled in the bios.

A friends pc will only enable the keyboard off certain ports (P5Q I think) but I have no idea why.
Yes ,I found that to be the case with the P5Q, ps2 port worked I think but then it changed with a bios update. Specific P5Q issue I think.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-12, 10:54 PM   #7
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

For some reason, still nothing is choosing to boot. A memtest CD did boot, and the test ran successfully, but when the prompt came up to press ESC, pressing ESC did nothing, and I had to force restart. The instructions vin suggested didn't work. I think what I am going to result in doing is just keeping a copy on the DVD, and then first installing Vista, and then from within installing 7 when i need to. Oh well...
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-12, 12:04 AM   #8
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
For some reason, still nothing is choosing to boot. A memtest CD did boot, and the test ran successfully, but when the prompt came up to press ESC, pressing ESC did nothing, and I had to force restart. The instructions vin suggested didn't work. I think what I am going to result in doing is just keeping a copy on the DVD, and then first installing Vista, and then from within installing 7 when i need to. Oh well...
Hmm, something must still be wrong with the boot disc. You have an 8GB USB key bob? If so, try this:

Install: http://arstechnica.com/business/news...lash-drive.ars
Download tool from here: http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/...usbdvd_dwnTool
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-01-12, 03:48 AM   #9
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

i will buy one tomorrow. they should be about $10. thanks.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-12, 07:05 PM   #10
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

Do you have a USB keyboard?

If so, try getting a USB->PS/2 adapter. My keyboard didn't do anything either when trying to boot from disc. Switched to using the adapter and it worked on the 1st try.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-12, 11:55 PM   #11
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

Thanks jcrotch. That worked But now Windows 7 does not recognize my X-Fi Fatality soundcard device manager keeps seeing something called AMD high definition audio device and high definition audio device.
I am trying to install the sound drivers but it won't let me.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-12, 09:59 AM   #12
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Booting from DVD...

I had that problem once, it kept seeing my X-Fi as a Intel HD Audio device. I forgot how I fixed it. I think I removed the device and reloaded the Creative drivers and kept rebooting. I might have manually tried to install the driver and pointed the install folder to the Creative drivers INF.

On my EVGA x58 MB, my USB mouse and keyboard work before the OS. There's an option for legacy support or something.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.