Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-20-07, 02:48 PM   #1
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default 8800 GTS and TV screen size

I've connected my brand new 8800 GTS to my TV on SVIDEO output. ( The tv only accepts SVIDEO.)

It seems that the picture sent to the TV is too big and I dont see any way of changing it to a smaller size, so I can see it. I've tried 800x600, 1024x768, both wrong. (TV has no changeable parameter regarding picture size, so my only choice would be on my PC.)

Is there a way to improve it in xorg.conf, set something like modeline? Any ideas how to change TV output picture size in my Xorg?
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-07, 04:16 PM   #2
emo367
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: 8800 GTS and TV screen size

I have the same problem. The way it works for me is adjusting both screens (TFT and TV) with the same resolution (1024x768).
I am with GF6200 and Slackware-current (Xorg 7.2).

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA0"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA1"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "NoLogo" "1"
SubSection "Display"
# Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "NVIDIA1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVOverScan" "0.5"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection
emo367 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-07, 04:51 PM   #3
krionius
Asus 8800GTS 320M
 
krionius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest, HU
Posts: 249
Default Re: 8800 GTS and TV screen size

Quote:
Originally Posted by emo367
I have the same problem. The way it works for me is adjusting both screens (TFT and TV) with the same resolution (1024x768).
I am with GF6200 and Slackware-current (Xorg 7.2).
Weird, indeed! I use to have good tvout with my GF7600GT and GF6800... I thought it's a 8800GTS thing.

Also I noticed that changing contrast/brightness in nvidia-settings on screen0 affects screen1 too and vica versa. Quite a step backward after my good working 7600GT...
__________________
SK - Java Classic RPG http://zaza.uw.hu/mrp/index.html http://linuxrpgs.blogspot.com
Asus GF8800GTS 320M DDR3 PCI-E - nvidia 169.09
Abit KN9 SLI (nforce570),AMD64 X2 3800+@4800+,2x1GB 800MHz DDR2,160G SATA2 WesternDigital,430W Chieftec PSU
gentoo linux (since 2003) 2006.1 amd64 kernel 2.6.22-suspend2 X.Org 7.3 | gnome 2.20.0, kde 3.5.5, beryl 0.2.1

Samsung SyncMaster 913N@1240, Tatung "32 @1080i, Pinnacle PCTV Rave, Pioneer DVR110D
Abit AN-M2HD NVidia 7050PV Noiseless HTPC, Ubuntu Linux 7.10 64bit kernel 2.6.23.8, nvidia 169.04, FSP Zen 300W,
Thermaltake Sonic Tower, AMD64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR2, 400G SATA2 WD, Asus TVTuner (saa7134) Silent Linux HTPC

Asus TravelMate 4100 NVidia 6200 Go, Ubuntu Linux 8 32bit kernel 2.6.24, nvidia 169.12, Intel32 1.6G, 1.5GB DDR2,
krionius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.