Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: What should I do about my RAM?
Ditch 2GB of that RAM Tiki. It is not worth it. 14 30.43%
Keep all 4GB. It will be necessary sooner than you think. 30 65.22%
I would like to buy 2GB from you! 2 4.35%
Voters: 46. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-07, 11:36 AM   #1
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Exclamation 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

This is so fetching frustrating! I really like Vista 64-bit as it will recognize 4GB of RAM. Almost all of my games will install, but a few oldies but goodies don't stand a chance. And so now I'm thinking of installing XP back on my other Raid Partition.



All I can think about is one thing. Is this extra RAM really worth it? Will Crysis and UT3 actually benefit from this extra RAM. I mean if I just end up using 32-Bit Vista someday then having 4GB of RAM is a kick in the nuts since all of the RAM will not be recognized.

What should I do guys? I mean the OS thing is easier for me to figure out since I can Dual Boot. But will this 4GB be necessary for DX10? Will all gamers be eventually moving to Vista 64-bit?
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 11:44 AM   #2
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Sell 2GB for now, stick with Vista 32-bit until they get all the 64-bit bugs worked out (or at least some of them) and go back then.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 11:48 AM   #3
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
Sell 2GB for now, stick with Vista 32-bit until they get all the 64-bit bugs worked out (or at least some of them) and go back then.
That's kinda they way I'm leaning plus I just think to myself of all of the games I could buy selling that RAM.

TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 11:54 AM   #4
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

For Vista I think 4GB is worth it, for XP, not so much. What about XP x64?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 11:59 AM   #5
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiKiMaN1
That's kinda they way I'm leaning plus I just think to myself of all of the games I could buy selling that RAM.

I might buy a pair if you decide on that...
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 12:02 PM   #6
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Lightbulb Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
For Vista I think 4GB is worth it, for XP, not so much. What about XP x64?
I suppose I could get XP 64-bit but I have not purchased that version. I suppose in some ways it really just depends if Vista 32-Bit or Vista 64-bit will be the gamers platform.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 12:07 PM   #7
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
It's good to have 4GB for Vista.
Currently, I have Vista x64 and XP x64 installed. Why isn't this an option for you? Works flawless here.

I can't wait to get my second kit back...
So between Vista 64-bit and XP 64-bit you have not run into one game install problem?
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 12:23 PM   #8
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
You mean install it in Vista and run it from XP?

So far that's what I did. I installed every game in Vista to see how it goes, performance wise. As soon as SLI was needed I booted into XP and created a new shortcut and launched the game.
That's a good way to do it. I'm sure that eventually 4GB would be great. And it is a good investment in the future. I just kinda wish I knew for sure when the extra RAM will start being utilized. The way it feels right now is just like the RAM is only creating extra heat in my case with minimal improvement in performance.

Life would be so much easier sometimes if there was really a date specified for when invetsments would bare their worth.

Kind of like my calculus claas in college.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-07, 12:24 PM   #9
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
I might buy a pair if you decide on that...
I will have to keep that in mind.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 12:48 PM   #10
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,067
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
Sell 2GB for now, stick with Vista 32-bit until they get all the 64-bit bugs worked out (or at least some of them) and go back then.
Agrees.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 12:48 PM   #11
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Keep em of course, later on with Vista im sure you gonna need em all
I will go 4 GB as soon I get some cash!
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 12:53 PM   #12
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Talking Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
Agrees.
The thing is right now I know that NewEgg would give me $409 back if I returned 2GB these sticks right now. And as many of you know I'm not the type of guy to hold on to hardware for long when the new stuff comes out. I mean by the time 4GB is truly necessary wouldn't there be RAM that would just blow away what I've got right now. I mean like faster DDR2 possibly DDR3. If I was actually seeing the difference in performance I would never have made this thread. Hmmmmm.....

$409 back in my pocket is extremely tempting if I am seeing no performance gain right now.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable muelo1000 Microsoft Windows 7 29 05-01-12 10:08 AM
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 11:41 AM
Ideal 9700 review pelly Other Desktop Graphics Cards 19 09-07-02 03:00 PM
The ideal review would include... pelly Benchmarking And Overclocking 26 08-05-02 04:32 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.