Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: What should I do about my RAM?
Ditch 2GB of that RAM Tiki. It is not worth it. 14 30.43%
Keep all 4GB. It will be necessary sooner than you think. 30 65.22%
I would like to buy 2GB from you! 2 4.35%
Voters: 46. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-07, 02:43 PM   #25
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

And there was I thinking that money wasnt an object for a Tiki rig.

Crysis will use every available resource, it will thank you for keeping hold of 4gb.

What I just said had better be true otherwise some germans are getting a kick in the nuts.

Overclocking ram for its own sake is pretty fruitless, Maybe sell your flash name brand and get 3gb of the cheapest good timings stuff if you need the money.

Some people on ebay pay retail prices for second hand !!!???

If anything ,just offload one stick.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 02:50 PM   #26
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Using Vista x64, I love 4GB of RAM. I can have Outlook, Live Messenger, Word, text editor, Apache and MySQL server running, and launch Oblivion or whatever for 20-30 minutes, without closing anything, and work after that. 4GB gives you "freedom" and SuperFetch gives you speed (preload of common apps to RAM).

Of course, 4GB does not have sense with 32-bit OS, as only 3-3.5GB is available.
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 02:57 PM   #27
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Decisions....decisions. Seriously guys I don't need the money. It's really not the issue. I just don't want RAM that costs over $400 sitting and doing nothing. It makes me think of the Wii I could be playing instead of RAM sitting. Or PC games I could be playing that I have not purchased yet.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 03:00 PM   #28
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Has Crytek or Epic released any info that points to the fact that 4GB is necessary to run their upcoming games on full detail. I see some of the Crysis pictures and think.....geez thats going to need tons of RAM and a screaming CPU.

I don't know I just have a hard time seeing all enthusiasts and gamers going 64-bit. But to play games that keep getting more demanding one has to wonder.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 03:13 PM   #29
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

As far as ive read they just say it will use what ya got,

By the way ,the cheapest price in the uk for twin 1gb dominators is 276.13
Thats $276 each!(1gb) , at least it was the last time I looked.

Id ebay them and allow shipping to the uk ,but then I am an ebay freak.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 04:43 PM   #30
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

The more memory the better, especially right after a new OS is released.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 04:48 PM   #31
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

I suppose I could always just keep the memory and the 64-bit version of Vista and Dual Boot to XP. I don't have a copy of XP 64-BIt so that won't do any good. XP 32-bit will be fine when I'm playing games that wont install in 64-bit OS. Like Sam and Max and....fetch Fear Combat hates 64-Bit Vista.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 04:54 PM   #32
wollyka
From the Land of Cedars
 
wollyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beirut-Lebanon
Posts: 449
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Keep the 4 GB ram.. For me i have XP x64 (more stable than Vista x64 at the moment) and i love it with more ram
__________________
System:
-Intel Core i7 2600 @4.2 Ghz
-ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3
-G.SKILL SNIPER SERIES / 1600MHz
-evga Geforce 680GTX
-X-fi Fat1ality FPS
-Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W PSU
-LG LED E2380
wollyka is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-07, 07:38 PM   #33
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

I'm still undecided. I will let you guys know what I do.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 07:42 PM   #34
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiKiMaN1
I suppose I could always just keep the memory and the 64-bit version of Vista and Dual Boot to XP. I don't have a copy of XP 64-BIt so that won't do any good. XP 32-bit will be fine when I'm playing games that wont install in 64-bit OS. Like Sam and Max and....fetch Fear Combat hates 64-Bit Vista.
Sam and Max works fine for me in Vista 64bit....

I say keep the RAM. Dual boot Vista x64 and XP 32bit. That's what I plan on doing with my new rig I'm building.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 07:50 PM   #35
nvnews-reader
Registered User
 
nvnews-reader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 333
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

Return it asap. Put the $400 in the bank. Then next time you might not need to sell your computer.
nvnews-reader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 07:57 PM   #36
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: 4GB of RAM Really Ideal?

I'm in the same boat, I bought 4GB for Vista 64 then reinstalled XP I think I'm gonna keep the other 2GB around just in case
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable muelo1000 Microsoft Windows 7 29 05-01-12 10:08 AM
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 11:41 AM
Ideal 9700 review pelly Other Desktop Graphics Cards 19 09-07-02 03:00 PM
The ideal review would include... pelly Benchmarking And Overclocking 26 08-05-02 04:32 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.