Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-07, 01:31 PM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Conroe C2D Voltage?

Hi, ive been doing a bit of testing on my cpu... ive managed to get my overclocked 3.0GHz E6600 voltage down to 1.2875v and tetsted for 3 hours(for now, gonna test overnight tonight)with Orthos and came back with no errors. will lowering the voltages affect the performance of my cpu? i figure lower voltage = lower temps = longer overall lifespan... right?

1.2875v is the lowest i can get it at 3.0GHz stable with Orthos.

Heres the results.

My zalman LED aero fanmate was on the lowest setting and the cpu has AS5 applied.

Conroe C2D @ 3.0GHz @ 1.2875v.

Idle: 36c.

Orthos: 47c load max temp(using Intel Thermal Analysis Tool to read temps).

Intel Thermal Analysis Tool for 30 mins: 53c load max temp with 100% workload on both cores.

As i said will lowering the voltage affect the performance of the cpu?(i would have though not).
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 01:45 PM   #2
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Conroe C2D Voltage?

I believe it will only affect stability and heat. I don't see a good reason to undervolt a cpu except for reduced heat for special cases like quiet pc with passive cooling. To ensure a long life of the cpu, your best bet is to leave it at default clocks and voltage. These days, I don't think cpu life is an issue. Yesterdays top model will be next years entry level with a price to match.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 02:01 PM   #3
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Conroe C2D Voltage?

Agree with the above comment. Although from what i have came across heat is not much of an issue with clock speed as is voltage.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 02:57 PM   #4
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Conroe C2D Voltage?

All i want to know is will lowering the voltages affect the performance of my cpu? yes/no? ..... if not then its doing no harm if its running cooler and still stable right?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 04:36 PM   #5
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Conroe C2D Voltage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
All i want to know is will lowering the voltages affect the performance of my cpu? yes/no? ..... if not then its doing no harm if its running cooler and still stable right?
If it's stable, then I would say you're fine.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 04:52 PM   #6
wollyka
From the Land of Cedars
 
wollyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Beirut-Lebanon
Posts: 449
Default Re: Conroe C2D Voltage?

lower voltages don't affect the performance of the CPU as far as i know (unless it is not stable ).
My E6600 at 3.0 GHz is stable at 1.265v (bios) CPUZ is reading 1.256v
__________________
System:
-Intel Core i7 2600 @4.2 Ghz
-ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3
-G.SKILL SNIPER SERIES / 1600MHz
-evga Geforce 680GTX
-X-fi Fat1ality FPS
-Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W PSU
-LG LED E2380
wollyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 05:20 PM   #7
Aphot
lol wut?
 
Aphot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to Aphot Send a message via MSN to Aphot
Default Re: Conroe C2D Voltage?

I have my E6300 at 2.8ghz and 1.200 volts.
__________________
Intel I7 920 4.0GHz (Noctua NH-D14)
Asus P6X58D Premium
6GB G.Skill PC12800 (2GB x 3)
2 HIS HD6970's in Crossfire
Western Digital;
2 Velociraptor 300GB in Raid 0
2 Caviar Black 1.0TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Denon PRA-1000 , POA-1500
Celestion Ditton 442's
Corsair HX 1050
Antec P183
Dell U2410
Sennheiser HD 555
Razer Deathadder / Razer Lycosa
Aphot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-07, 06:48 PM   #8
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Conroe C2D Voltage?

Cheers guys.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-07, 06:52 PM   #9
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Conroe C2D Voltage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wollyka
lower voltages don't affect the performance of the CPU as far as i know (unless it is not stable ).
My E6600 at 3.0 GHz is stable at 1.265v (bios) CPUZ is reading 1.256v
Damn you guys... mine is at 1.425V to remain stable at 3.02Ghz Yet it still idles at 29C and full load 47C
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce4 Ti 4400 voltage question SCoFF NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 2 10-07-02 08:49 AM
Athalon 1900+ what voltage should it be? MUYA CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 10-06-02 12:37 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.