Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-07, 01:40 PM   #1
rbonafied
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default Can someone help me with a modeline?

Hi,

I just got a Sharp Aquos LCD 42U. The TV is rated to handle 1080p but I'm totally confused what I'm supposed to do to be able to drive that resolution. I have a FX5200 connected to the TV by hdmi.

This is the info from the Sharp manual... how do I translate that into something xorg will drive?

Resolution H. Freq V. Freq
1024x768 48.4 kHz 60Hz
56.5 kHz 70Hz
60.0 kHz 75Hz
1360x768 47.7 kHz 60Hz
1280x1024 64.0 Khz 60Hz

The manual also says "Some input signals may have to be registered manually
to display properly."

Can someone help?

Thanks in advance!
R
rbonafied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-07, 06:47 PM   #2
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

Maybe you don't have problem at all. If you have digital connection between card and monitor they communicate at startup. The monitor passes info to the computer (called EDID). Video card driver and X compare EDID data to their own built-in resolutions and choose best fit. I'm not sure about the ability of the LCD to support 1080 resolution. The data from the manual does not suggest that.

Suggest you just fire it up and try it. If you don't get what you're looking for you'll need to know how to submit "bug report" with your post (see sticky notes). Nvidia can't be of much help without your bug report.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-07, 07:46 PM   #3
miltiad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

What type of connection between your PC and your TV ?
miltiad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-07, 09:09 PM   #4
rbonafied
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

Hi,

The connection is using a dvi -> hdmi cable. So far the best I've been able to do is 1280x1024 @ 60Hz . Unfortunately, I'm just kind of experimenting blind based on snipets of other posts and such. At the risk of providing way to much information, I'm attaching the output of -logverbose 6.

Thanks again!
R
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (140.4 KB, 95 views)
rbonafied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-07, 10:07 PM   #5
///MVinny
WSP Most Wanted
 
///MVinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

I'll agree with rerushg, you might be good to go. For starters I'd fix this option in your xorg.conf file that's causing this:

Code:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unrecognized ModeValidation token
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     "NoVertRefreshCheckNoEdidModes"; ignoring.
The option line in the xorg.conf should look something like
Code:
  Option    "NoVertRefreshCheck" "NoEdidModes"
Try that and let's see of those take care of the real problem with NV's interrogation of your panels EDID modes, which are:
Code:
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     Mode is rejected: VertRefresh (120.0 Hz) out of range
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     (55.000-76.000 Hz).
[geez that looks familiar -hee ]

Next time around, if this isn't fixed yet post your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file too.
///MVinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-07, 11:20 PM   #6
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

Rbonified:

Check your log file in text editor. Note the EDID data (starts at about 20% scroll down). Note especially the max pixel clock for your display of 150.0
Now scroll further down past the EDID stuff to where "Building ModePool" starts (about 25% scroll down). Note the first mode shown. It's a 1080p mode that ought to work. Note that it is rejected because of the pixel clock.
This might be a glitch. Note that max pixel clock is 135.0 here but was 150.0 in EDID data.
Suggest you try "NoMaxPClkCheck" option.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-07, 07:02 PM   #7
rbonafied
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

Well, I think I'm making baby steps, which is all good. I just wish I understood what the output was telling me.

The good:
The suggestion by ///MVinny got my LCD to go into a 1080i mode.

The bad:
This particular 1080i mode did not fill the whole screen. From the looks of it, the length of the picture is too long and the width is too short. I'm not sure what to do from here. I tried using 'xvidtune' but it wouldn't let me select 'wider' and 'shorter'. It gave errors about refresh rates and such. Additionally, selecting 'next' and 'prev' didn't actual change the geometry of the screen.

I'm including an updated xorg.0.log file, plus the output of xrandr.
# xrandr
SZ: Pixels Physical Refresh
*0 1920 x 1080 ( 826mm x 464mm ) *50 51
1 1600 x 1024 ( 688mm x 440mm ) 52
2 1440 x 480 ( 619mm x 206mm ) 53
3 1400 x 1050 ( 602mm x 452mm ) 54
4 1360 x 768 ( 585mm x 330mm ) 55
5 1280 x 1024 ( 551mm x 440mm ) 56
6 1280 x 960 ( 551mm x 413mm ) 57
7 1280 x 720 ( 551mm x 309mm ) 58 59
8 1024 x 768 ( 440mm x 330mm ) 60
9 800 x 600 ( 344mm x 258mm ) 61
10 720 x 480 ( 309mm x 206mm ) 62 63
11 640 x 480 ( 275mm x 206mm ) 64 65
Current rotation - normal
Current reflection - none
Rotations possible - normal
Reflections possible - none
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (141.0 KB, 87 views)
rbonafied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-07, 09:40 PM   #8
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

sbonafied:

You're doing fine, my friend. Sometimes those darn electrons just won't behave like they should.

It looks like your 1080p modes were rejected due to pixel clock. All that left was the 1080i mode that was accepted since you disabled the vertrefresh check. Unfortunately, you then ran straight into the problem that MVinny and I discussed with Nvidia earlier this week.
See thread "1080i....Sony". It's a current thread and still going strong. See if the sreenshots there resemble yours. If so you're probably stuck until NV gets the bug fixed.

Did you try to disable the pixel clock check? Probably won't work but might be worth a shot.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-07, 10:56 PM   #9
rbonafied
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

Wow ... I could have sworn I turned off the pixel clock check, but I must have missed that. To be honest, I've done so many gyrations of xorg.conf that I don't remember all the combos. In any event, I got it to go into 1080p mode (at least reported by the TV).

Thank you , rerushg, and MVinny!

Now I have a really dumb question ... I had this expectation that 1080p would fill the entire screen ... top to bottom, left to right. However, the picture doesn't fit the full width. The output is perfectly centered but the left and right side have some black space. Was my original expectation misguided or is there some additional tweaking that can be done?

For reference, I am including xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log.

Again, thank you for the time and assistance. Much appreciated.

R
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (142.8 KB, 91 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (4.9 KB, 153 views)
rbonafied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-07, 11:21 PM   #10
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

Way to go!! That's one heck of an xorg.conf you've got there. I guess your name is Rick? So is mine. That file blew my mind when I first saw it.

Listen, I've got to get some sleep. Suggest you PM MVinny. He just got his display up and running on custom modelines as we speak so it's probably fresh in his head. Hopefully you just need to tweak a few parameters to fill out the screen
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 08:17 AM   #11
rbonafied
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Can someone help me with a modeline?

At this point everything has been solved. The biggest impact was turning off the mode validations. Once I started the 'mythfrontend', the screen filled up all the way. It looked great!!

The custom modelines in the xorg.conf were my failed attempts to hit upon the right 1080i/p combination. In the end it was the EDID info that worked. (I know I'm lucky).

Some of the other strange lines in the xorg.conf have to do with using the VNC.so module. This allows us to connect to the TV X display from our laptop and interact with the myth menus as if we were using the remote. (This was before we got a wireless keyboard). My wife loves it because it allows her to stop a show from the other room if the kids aren't listening I think other versions of xorg.conf don't have this module but the x11vnc program can be used instead.

Thank you for the help. I wouldn't have had success if it wasn't for the smart people in this forum.

R
rbonafied is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allow pixel clock > 400MHz waperboy NVIDIA Linux 16 05-08-13 09:44 PM
Manual modelines with current drivers mxxmmxxm NVIDIA Linux 0 06-20-12 05:43 AM
Trouble with SuSE80 & NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.tar.gz mosquis NVIDIA Linux 6 10-08-02 07:20 PM
SuSe 8.0 Problems. GaMMa NVIDIA Linux 19 09-26-02 06:51 AM
nVidia Quadro 4 500 Go Random Chaos NVIDIA Linux 9 08-09-02 01:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.