Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-07, 02:32 AM   #1
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Question Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

Is enough a WD raptor 36G for Vista install only? I plan to make the move to Vista Home Premium without dual booting, programs and games will go on other partition,temp files and user folders will go in other disk, I know that Vista take 15Gigs on a fresh install, have other WD raptor 36G I can go to RAID0 if needed.
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 05:08 AM   #2
Single Player
Бля, нахуй в рот!
 
Single Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 579
Default Re: Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/pro...m/default.mspx

check System Requirements
Single Player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 06:17 AM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

Wow! I can't believe it takes 15GB. I'll have to look to see what Ultimate takes...

EDIT: Eh, it's the same 15GB.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 06:22 AM   #4
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

Quote:
Originally Posted by Single Player
Yeah, I saw them, but I want your advice...pleaseeee...
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 07:19 AM   #5
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

it should be enough... dont know how it wont be enough as vista only takes 15gb lots of headroom there..

so go for it
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 07:28 AM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfhound
Yeah, I saw them, but I want your advice...pleaseeee...
I had it installed on a 74GB raptor, within a week I wiped it and moved it to a 250GBWD.

Some games and progs can get squirrely trying to direct them to install somewhere other than the default directory, not often, I just don't want to deal with it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 07:58 AM   #7
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
I had it installed on a 74GB raptor, within a week I wiped it and moved it to a 250GBWD.

Some games and progs can get squirrely trying to direct them to install somewhere other than the default directory, not often, I just don't want to deal with it.
A lot of programs? or some?..
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 08:19 AM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfhound
A lot of programs? or some?..
No, I think Doom 3 and FEAR were 2 of them, mostly minor stuff. This was with the beta, though I don't know how much difference there would be.

I have seen someone post here about an easy way around that, I just don't remember what it was. I'm sure several of the folks reading this could tell you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-27-07, 09:36 AM   #9
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Windows Vista Install on WD Raptor 36G

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
No, I think Doom 3 and FEAR were 2 of them, mostly minor stuff. This was with the beta, though I don't know how much difference there would be.

I have seen someone post here about an easy way around that, I just don't remember what it was. I'm sure several of the folks reading this could tell you.

Thanks grey
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Hands-on: Windows 8's SkyDrive News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:30 PM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.