Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-07, 02:33 PM   #1
kying
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Default 3 Monitors

I am trying to add the 3rd DFP to a TwinView setup using Xinerama. The goal is set a uniform screen across all three DFPs. I have 2 Nvidia cards: one is Quadro FX 1000 (the TwinView runs on 2 DFPs); another GeForce FX 5200 connected to the 3rd DFP. The OS is RHEL3. startx only displays the window on the TwinView DFPs. The 3rd DFP gets a blue screen after flipfloping a few time as NVIDIA log comes up. See below for my XF86Config. What am I missing?

- Kevin Y.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Screen0"
Screen "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
Option "Clone" "off"
Option "Xinerama"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "vnc"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "True"
Option "BlankTime" "600"
Option "StandbyTime" "0"
Option "SuspendTime" "0"
Option "OffTime" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "NEC"
ModelName "NEC GT6000"
HorizSync 29.0 - 130.0
VertRefresh 60.0
Option "CalcAlgoritm" "CheckDesktopGeometry"
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "NEC"
ModelName "NEC GT6000"
HorizSync 29.0 - 130.0
VertRefresh 60.0
Option "CalcAlgoritm" "CheckDesktopGeometry"
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "NEC"
ModelName "NEC GT6000"
HorizSync 29.0 - 130.0
VertRefresh 60.0
Option "CalcAlgoritm" "CheckDesktopGeometry"
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"

Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "TwinView" "true"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "29.0-130.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "MetaModes" "1400x1050,1400x1050"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,DFP"
# Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "true"
# Option "MultiGPU" "true"
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP,DFP"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NV30GL [Quadro FX 1000]"
Option "UseInt10Module" "true"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "CRT, TV"
#Option "ProbeAllGpus" "true"
Screen 0
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP"
Option "MetaModes" "1400x1050"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "CRT, TV"
Option "UseInt10Module" "true"
Option "ProbeAllGpus" "false"
BoardName "Nvidia GeForce FX 5200"
Screen 0
BusID "PCI:5:14:0"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 2800 1050
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor2"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1400 1050
EndSubSection
EndSection
kying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 03:56 AM   #2
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 3 Monitors

You cannot use twinview across 2 boards and so you cannot have a twinview setup with 3 monitors. You will have to use xinerama instead.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Quadro 420 and dual 30" monitors quickSTi NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:04 PM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:10 AM
quadro 1000m with 2 external monitors stephenh NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 04:04 PM
How's Phillips for Monitors? Switch General Hardware 11 10-09-02 07:40 AM
Monitors found but no configuration suitable bluephile NVIDIA Linux 4 08-31-02 06:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.