Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-07, 01:50 AM   #1
bagman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 223
Default Measuring Dual Core Performance

Hi there
I'm running a FX-60 and am curious to see how the CPU's are performing.
I find that Ctrl-Alt-Delete pauses games and therefore yu see nothing under the graphs in Performance Tab of Task Manager.
Is there some piece of hardware that you can plug in via a USB port to do the same work as Task Manager ??

On a related question, when running AVG Antivirus and Ad-Aware at the same time, I not in task manager that both graphs are occupied and the CPU usage rate is around 50pct.
Does that mean both CPU's are running at 50pct or 100pct ??

cheers and thank you in advance for your replies

cheers
bagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 01:54 AM   #2
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Measuring Dual Core Performance

Ctrl-Alt-Del should work. I can do that in the middle of games and see CPU usage.

Go by each individually. If you're at 50% in both graphs, then it means each core is being utilized 50%.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-07, 05:36 AM   #3
bagman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 223
Default Re: Measuring Dual Core Performance

Have managed to get this sorted.
Opened up Task Manager and minimised to tool bar.
Ran a game then quit.
Enabled Task Mgr from tool bar and there are both graphs occupied.
Left one slightly higher than right one.
Tried some game that are single threaded and some that claim to be optimized for dual cores.
Each time the graphs are occupied...some more than others e.g COD2 which had both graphs running at the very top

cheers
bagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-07, 09:01 AM   #4
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Measuring Dual Core Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by bagman
Have managed to get this sorted.
Opened up Task Manager and minimised to tool bar.
Ran a game then quit.
Enabled Task Mgr from tool bar and there are both graphs occupied.
Left one slightly higher than right one.
Tried some game that are single threaded and some that claim to be optimized for dual cores.
Each time the graphs are occupied...some more than others e.g COD2 which had both graphs running at the very top

cheers
Windows XP sets itself the affinity forr 2 processors (50% each) without the need of the application being multi-threaded, that means that the load for both cores should be 50% (on one core that means 100% of CPU use), but true multithreaded app or "dual core ready" like COD2 should use 100% of each core.
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting The 'Ultra' Into New Dual Core Ivy Bridge Ultrabooks News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 04:41 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 09:32 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.