Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-07, 12:54 AM   #1
guido1205us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Coolit Freezone Mod

Got a Freezone thinking it would keep my QX6700 cool and was immediataly bummed because the fan burned out about a minute after install. The TCM was cranked up all the way. So, I RMA'd it and got a replacement two weeks later. Bummed again because the TCM would not adjust the fan speed!! Not wanting to RMA it again and thinking it might be the TCM I went to a local MicroCenter and bought another Freezone. It's TCM didn't adjust the fan either?! Drag. So I took the second one back and installed the RMA unit. Got pathetic temps on my QX6700, idle at 58C. Did some research with the great oracle Google and found that many people were having cooling issues with the Freezone and QX6700.

So, being the cheap ass and not wanting to waste my $299 investment, I wondered how could I mod this bad boy? I dumped my old computer trash bin that I have been meaning to throw out onto the floor and found these parts:

Attachment 03

Hmm, can't seem to figure out how to post images within the body. Oh well, just follow the images on the bottom from left to right.

So, I grab the old heatsinks from the Pentium 2 slocket (remember those?) and fan thinking just maybe these will mount on the water blocks. Yes, it works!

Next I drilled out the 120mm fan casing on the back of the Thermaltake Armor and mounted another 120mm fan on the outside. Don't know of the additional fan will do anything but hey, I'll give it a shot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	359
Size:	135.2 KB
ID:	25388  Click image for larger version

Name:	02.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	25389  Click image for larger version

Name:	03.jpg
Views:	285
Size:	180.3 KB
ID:	25390  Click image for larger version

Name:	04.jpg
Views:	299
Size:	91.2 KB
ID:	25391  Click image for larger version

Name:	05.1.jpg
Views:	367
Size:	132.4 KB
ID:	25392  

guido1205us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 12:56 AM   #2
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Unbelievable. 2 more Freezones go down in flames.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMenB9Ywh2Q
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 01:20 AM   #3
guido1205us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by guido1205us
Got a Freezone thinking it would keep my QX6700 cool and was immediataly bummed because the fan burned out about a minute after install. The TCM was cranked up all the way. So, I RMA'd it and got a replacement two weeks later. Bummed again because the TCM would not adjust the fan speed!! Not wanting to RMA it again and thinking it might be the TCM I went to a local MicroCenter and bought another Freezone. It's TCM didn't adjust the fan either?! Drag. So I took the second one back and installed the RMA unit. Got pathetic temps on my QX6700, idle at 58C. Did some research with the great oracle Google and found that many people were having cooling issues with the Freezone and QX6700.

So, being the cheap ass and not wanting to waste my $299 investment, I wondered how could I mod this bad boy? I dumped my old computer trash bin that I have been meaning to throw out onto the floor and found these parts:

Attachment 03

Hmm, can't seem to figure out how to post images within the body. Oh well, just follow the images on the bottom from left to right.

So, I grab the old heatsinks from the Pentium 2 slocket (remember those?) and fan thinking just maybe these will mount on the water blocks. Yes, it works!

Next I drilled out the 120mm fan casing on the back of the Thermaltake Armor and mounted another 120mm fan on the outside. Don't know of the additional fan will do anything but hey, I'll give it a shot.
Since the Freezone took too much space and I couldn't mount the ram cooler, I mounted it on the Freezone radiator instead. Put the whole unit back in and fired it up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	05.2.jpg
Views:	263
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	25393  Click image for larger version

Name:	06.1.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	102.1 KB
ID:	25394  Click image for larger version

Name:	05.3.jpg
Views:	232
Size:	204.6 KB
ID:	25395  Click image for larger version

Name:	06.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	111.7 KB
ID:	25397  
guido1205us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 01:25 AM   #4
guido1205us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by guido1205us
Since the Freezone took too much space and I couldn't mount the ram cooler, I mounted it on the Freezone radiator instead. Put the whole unit back in and fired it up.
Hmm, Not great temps @ 48C idle, but decent enough to try some over-clocking. Guess I'll have to pony up for water-cooling and get a bigger case. The Armour is not big enough for 10 drives, water, and two 8800gtx.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Desktop.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	89.0 KB
ID:	25398  Click image for larger version

Name:	07.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	25399  Click image for larger version

Name:	08.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	80.2 KB
ID:	25400  
guido1205us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 08:26 AM   #5
guido1205us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
Imo the Freezone isn't up to the task for such a CPU. The Zalman 9700 performs better!

But nice mod guido1205us and that's a very impressive setup you got there!
Much thanks! BTW, what temps are you seeing @ 3.33 with the 9700?
guido1205us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 11:12 AM   #6
TiKiMaN1
Registered User
 
TiKiMaN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,409
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

My Revision 4 Freezone has been working flawless since I got the RMA.
TiKiMaN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 11:33 AM   #7
guido1205us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiKiMaN1
My Revision 4 Freezone has been working flawless since I got the RMA.
Really? Is your fan adjustable? Is revision 4 just with a thicker 92mm fan? I might have that then. Also, what are your temps at 3.05? Thanks.
guido1205us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 02:29 PM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
I have to update my sig sorry. The 3.33GHz was a test run with my old watercooling setup (120mm single rad). Temps were about the same as with 3.0GHz because both clocks need 1.30V stayed under 65C during gaming. Around 5C higher with the 9700.

I've ordered a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme to replace the Zalman...
120 extreme is nice

i still don't understant why you replaced si-120 with that zalman. si-120 paired with a good fan, cools much better then zalman.

i want to get 120 extreme too, but when i looked yesterday not a single store in USA has them in stock.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-02-07, 02:48 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

damn why is everyone RMA'ing 680i

i bought one few days ago.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 03:07 PM   #10
guido1205us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
The board wasn't defective.
I got that board from the Quad Core replacement program and it produced very strange sounds. No other problems. My first 680i was great imo, this one also expect the strange noise that came from the vreg.
I was going to RMA my board too but I can't get a hold of the sales slip. Beside the fact that I cannot run three video cards (2 x 8800GTX in SLI, 1 x 7800GT, instant BSOD with the third 7800GT) the system is pretty stable. I hope I don't run into too many issues with overclocking.
guido1205us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 04:09 PM   #11
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by guido1205us
reference pic
Getting good use out of your psych book, eh?
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 09:35 PM   #12
guido1205us
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Coolit Freezone Mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
Getting good use out of your psych book, eh?
Heh Apart from providing knowledge back in the college days, these old books work pretty well propping a up Dell 24" monitor (nutrition book under the psych). Interesting that the newer model Dell 24" LCD didn't have the height range like the older models.
guido1205us is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DayZ mod for ARMA II ATOJAR Gaming Central 42 02-21-13 05:51 AM
GeForce GTX T-Shirt Mod Contest News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 03:00 AM
A Mod Of A Game Of Thrones: Crusader Kings II News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 02:20 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.