Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-07, 07:38 PM   #1
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default DreamScene a game borker?

Well, I've been having a bunch of problems gaming in Vista Ultimate x64. I'd always get some sort of Runtime error or such.

So... I disabled DreamScene and that seems to have solved the problem. Anybody else experience problems gaming with DreamScene?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 07:44 PM   #2
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

I run dreamscene all the time without any problems. My major agrivation with it is when explorer crashes it turns off and sets my desktop black. Then I have to go in and restart it again. Why no right click->restart dreamscene, why?!
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 08:35 PM   #3
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LycosV
I run dreamscene all the time without any problems. My major agrivation with it is when explorer crashes it turns off and sets my desktop black. Then I have to go in and restart it again. Why no right click->restart dreamscene, why?!
Yeah, I hate that to. So far, with DreamScene disabled, I haven't had any issues. What video card are you using?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-07, 09:04 PM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

Okay, before when I had DreamScene running I'd always get a runtime error while gaming. Well, the only games I've played since I installed Vista was Battle For Middle Earth (the first one), CS:S, and Half Life 2. I have yet to try FEAR, FEAR:XP, Quake4, BFME II, CoD2, STALKER, GRAW, AoE III, and some of my other favs.

Anyhow, with DreamScene running I'd always get the run-time error. Since I have disabled DreamScene I've played about 20 rounds in CS:S error-free, and just did a game in BFME for like an hour, error free. I'm thinking it was DreamScene that caused the problem. Nobody else has experienced such issues? I'm the only one?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 12:40 AM   #5
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

I got that error with the early nvidia drivers but it's been fixed in the last few sets. However I'm running the 32bit OS
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 07:53 PM   #6
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Yeah, I hate that to. So far, with DreamScene disabled, I haven't had any issues. What video card are you using?
I have an ATI x800.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 09:18 PM   #7
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LycosV
I have an ATI x800.
Oh. I'm running 8800GTSs (well, was- the second card produced too much heat in my rig so I'm only running one untill I can go water cooling). Probably a driver related issue.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-07, 11:11 PM   #8
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

Dreamscene is one huge problem, full stop. It's a nuisance.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-07, 01:42 AM   #9
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peoples-Agent
Dreamscene is one huge problem, full stop. It's a nuisance.
I'm not so sure about that. Before I installed that "DX9 Update" I could game with DreamScene on no problem. So I think that some how that DX9 update did something to effect dreamscene. Anyhow, it works great now that I have DreamScene disabled. I've been gaming a good part of the day and so far not a single problem.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-09, 11:10 AM   #10
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

i have an issue with dreamscene. i game @ 1600x1200 and my desktop is 1024x768. now the problem is after exiting a game my dreamscene is 10x or so bigger than it was, icons are HUGE also. the only way to fix this is rebooting or manually changing resolution. it does this with Win 7 and Vista. anyone experience anything like this? i want to run dreamscene, but this issue is a royal pain?
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-09, 02:40 PM   #11
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

Why not have your desktop at 1600x1200 too?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-09, 05:30 PM   #12
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: DreamScene a game borker?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Why not have your desktop at 1600x1200 too?
it just doesnt look right on my crt crainger. even 1280x1024 looks odd. plus i can only do 75hz @ 1600x1200, i dont notice the flickering in games but desktop i do.
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 12:35 PM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 12:10 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Diablo 3: Give a knight a shield, and he kicks you from the game News Archived News Items 0 05-15-12 12:10 PM
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: The Next Generation News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 01:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.