Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-07, 01:29 PM   #37
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
Windows can recognize the ext3 partition via the use of a separate driver. As FYI, the ext3 filesystem manages fragmentation to the point that there is no need to defragment, another benefit of Linux.

http://www.fs-driver.org/

ext3 is essentially ext2 with a journal.
I hope you were responding to grey_1, because most of that was greek to me. I got the fragmentation part; I had heard this previously. Are you presented with filesystem choices during install, as you are w/Windows? So I would just choose "ext3?"
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 01:30 PM   #38
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic
I hope you were responding to grey_1, because most of that was greek to me. I got the fragmentation part; I had heard this previously. Are you presented with filesystem choices during install, as you are w/Windows? So I would just choose "ext3?"
It'll default ext3 which is fine, I was stating for both of ya'lls benefit that you can have Windows see your Linux partition and Linux see your Windows partition.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 01:32 PM   #39
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

Thanks again to both of you for the answers.

I'm probably going to try the Live CD and play around w/that for a bit. Then, if I continue to be intrigued, I'll try grey_1's "bios install" method and give it a go.

Expect more questions!
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 01:38 PM   #40
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
Here's a step-by-step walkthrough:
http://patrick295767.pa.funpic.org/cvs.htm
Missed this, I see it now. Thanks.
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 04:08 PM   #41
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

The easist way to "try" Linux, or to use it professionally, is via virtualization on Windows XP/Vista.

Download free VMWARE Player: http://www.vmware.com/products/player/
And Fedora Core 7 pre-installed image: http://www.thoughtpolice.co.uk/vmware/

Within few minutes, you will run Linux on Windows (with 99% of native performance) I use it daily, work on Windows Vista, as it has the best UI and best /most SW available, but also run Linux inside virtual machine (VMWARE) to have MySQL, PHP and Apache in the same environment (=Linux) as my webhosting. No need for a separate server anymore.

Can use excellent Outlook 2007, Dreamweaver CS3, Photoshop CS3, DX9/10 games, while developing on native Linux x64 machine, running in the second window; have best of both worlds available...

__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 04:30 PM   #42
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
911medic, I'll leave my email address/IM address for you if you run into any snags or need help if you'd like a more "live" support function. I'm sure grey_1 would be happy to help as well.
Absolutely if I can! Sorry I missed most of the chat.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 08:03 PM   #43
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
The easist way to "try" Linux, or to use it professionally, is via virtualization on Windows XP/Vista.

Download free VMWARE Player: http://www.vmware.com/products/player/
And Fedora Core 7 pre-installed image: http://www.thoughtpolice.co.uk/vmware/

Within few minutes, you will run Linux on Windows (with 99% of native performance) I use it daily, work on Windows Vista, as it has the best UI and best /most SW available, but also run Linux inside virtual machine (VMWARE) to have MySQL, PHP and Apache in the same environment (=Linux) as my webhosting. No need for a separate server anymore.

Can use excellent Outlook 2007, Dreamweaver CS3, Photoshop CS3, DX9/10 games, while developing on native Linux x64 machine, running in the second window; have best of both worlds available...
My Allendale CPU doesn't have virtualization technology, so I assumed that I can't run virtual machines.
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 08:55 PM   #44
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic
My Allendale CPU doesn't have virtualization technology, so I assumed that I can't run virtual machines.
I think you can, just that VM will not be accelerated by VanderPool, but it will run; you only cannot run x64 code in x86 VM / host OS (otherwise it is possible, you can e.g. have XP 32b host os and run x64 Fedora Core guest on it, with VanderPool).
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-07, 12:39 PM   #45
esaym
Friendly Guy
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to esaym
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

I moved to linux and stopped gaming a year ago. My life couldn't be better and I have so much free time now, it's great!

There are plenty of games that run in linux.

I have the old UT installed and it is great, still has a large community.

I recently installed Tremulous http://tremulous.net/ and it has been eating up alot of my time. Almost too much!

More good games from what I have heard:
http://www.urbanterror.net/news.php
http://www.s2games.com/savage/

Moar games: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Linux_games

UT screen shots: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...2&postcount=44
esaym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-07, 05:42 PM   #46
atriq
Registered User
 
atriq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 34
Default Re: Thinking of trying Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
I think you can, just that VM will not be accelerated by VanderPool, but it will run; you only cannot run x64 code in x86 VM / host OS (otherwise it is possible, you can e.g. have XP 32b host os and run x64 Fedora Core guest on it, with VanderPool).
I can confirm that. I use qemu quite frequently on my 754pin sempron64.

Also, some fun linux games:
Armagetron AD
Frozen Bubble
NeverBall
SuperTux
atriq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
173.14.34 (legacy prerelease) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-19-12 11:27 AM
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 01:52 PM
295.49 (long-lived branch release) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-03-12 11:42 AM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 11:13 PM
Linux VS. Windows XP! XP wins! dostler NVIDIA Linux 20 09-15-02 04:47 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.