Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-07, 09:56 AM   #1
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

This is news to me. Any one else know anything about this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by some other source
Around April 10th, 2007, Intel released a microcode update (BIOS flash to the rest of us) to resolve several major issues with how Intel Core 2 series processors operate.

Intel has provided a microcode update as a critical software fix. This Intel microcode update addresses an improper Translation Lookaside Buffer (TLB) invalidation that may result in unpredictable system behavior such as system hangs or incorrect data. OEM's are making available a system BIOS upgrade that integrates a new version of this Intel microcode to address this potential but extremely rare issue. While the occurrence of this issue is extremely rare, OEM's strongly recommends upgrading the system BIOS to an updated version. Intel has indicated that the microcode update has no known measurable performance impact and provides a complete and comprehensive resolution to this issue.

The issues can affect any workstation that uses Intel Core2 Duo desktop processor E4000 and E6000 sequences, Intel Core2 Quad desktop processor Q6600 and Intel Core2 Extreme processors X6800 and QX6700 processors.

While the implications of the issue are difficult to quantify, any of the following symptoms can occur:

The system may stop responding to keyboard or mouse input.

A system operating in a Microsoft Windows environment may generate a blue screen.

A system operating in a Linux environment may generate a kernel panic.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 09:57 AM   #2
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

Weird...I heard nothing about it and definitely haven't experienced any problems that weren't directly related to video card drivers.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:33 AM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

So it updates something inside the CPU? I've never heard of such a thing...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:34 AM   #4
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

I don't think so Capt. I think it is a change to the code in the BIOS that works directly with the CPU.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:36 AM   #5
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
So it updates something inside the CPU? I've never heard of such a thing...
Yes, when BIOS loads, it will update CPU with new microcode. This is exactly the reason why BIOS must "know" each CPU, to upload correct microcode, and if it does not know it, it may not work correctly. The same stuff applies both to AMD and Intel, all CPUs have bugs, and microcode is the only way to solve them.

E.g. latest BIOS for Asus Commando changelog from 2007/05/04 says:

1 Support AHCI mode SATAII hot plug function
2 Fix after downgrade CPU ratio, the Conroe L frequency not correct under ASUSCPU
3 Add new CPU uCode to support new processors

Microcode update can be also done from within Windows:
http://www.msfn.org/board/Microcode_...YS_t44388.html
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:38 AM   #6
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

^ He knows.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:41 AM   #7
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

I remember Intel did something similar to this 12 years ago for the first Pentium's that had some weird floating point issue. BTW, what is this "some other source"?
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:43 AM   #8
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
I remember Intel did something similar to this 12 years ago for the first Pentium's that had some weird floating point issue. BTW, what is this "some other source"?
As in just go ahead and GOOGLE it.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-09-07, 10:45 AM   #9
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK
As in just go ahead and GOOGLE it.
Well, I'm checking Asus site now and see if there's a new BIOS for my board.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:45 AM   #10
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

Has to be a way without using a floppy. Thats a pain for me because my floppy drive sits up to high from my PSU, and the floppy plug isn't isn't long enough. Its total BS, because if I want to update mine I have to take the side of my case off and hold the floppy up just to update.
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:46 AM   #11
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

Quote:
Originally Posted by gulizard
Has to be a way without using a floppy. Thats a pain for me because my floppy drive sits up to high from my PSU, and the floppy plug isn't isn't long enough. Its total BS, because if I want to update mine I have to take the side of my case off and hold the floppy up just to update.
Why not create a bootable USB disk and flash BIOS from it? HP has a nice little utility for creating MS-DOS bootable USB media:
http://h18000.www1.hp.com/support/fi...oad/20306.html
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 10:48 AM   #12
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Intel releases critical Core 2 Duo microcode update - Silently

Quote:
Originally Posted by gulizard
Has to be a way without using a floppy. Thats a pain for me because my floppy drive sits up to high from my PSU, and the floppy plug isn't isn't long enough. Its total BS, because if I want to update mine I have to take the side of my case off and hold the floppy up just to update.
I use a USB flash drive with EZ-Flash. Works great for Asus boards.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.