Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-07, 04:18 PM   #25
DMx
*BANNED*
 
DMx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
Thats why I love my motherboard.... it will not post if I set something thats unstable. And a simple flick of the power supply switch off then back on then hitting the power button cycles my motherboard and it will boot up saying "Overclock Failed" and allow me to go back in and change some settings. This was great when I was messing with my memory timings and on other motherboards would have had to use a jumper to reset the cmos every damn time. This will acctually preserve your settings while setting them stable in the backround so you can change them
ASUS MOTHERBOARDS KICK ASS!
DMx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-07, 10:42 PM   #26
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMx
ASUS MOTHERBOARDS KICK ASS!

Hell yes they do! Asus crushes MSI, DFI and anything else I've personally ever used in the past. I'm still running solid as a rock after that vcore voltage error adjustment to 1.90V and no problems since after down clocked to 1.45V OC the cpu to 3.47GHz I know it can go much higher but I'll do that slow and get there carefully.
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-07, 10:45 PM   #27
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffbiff21
wow



set front side bus at 450 (1800), multi 8..
underclock memory at 900.
up the northbridge voltage.
up cpu voltage. (LESS than 1.6)

have a nice day.

Wow, why would I want to under clock my memory? Man your overclocked really high on your Intel Core 2 CPU.
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-07, 04:05 AM   #28
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_Trans
Wow, why would I want to under clock my memory?
read through ALL of these very carefully.

http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=155

http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...rclocking.html

http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=160

conclusion: any memory over ddr2-1000 is basically a waste. The only boards which can hit 500+ mhz front side bus stable that are the Intel-chipset (P965, 975X) boards.

Quote:
Man your overclocked really high on your Intel Core 2 CPU
Im running it sync with the memory, 425x9, (something like 3825 mhz) 1.55 vcore. It is still a Conroe core, just like your X6800. though it only cost 1/3 of an X6800. Though I did waste money on my memory
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-07, 09:59 PM   #29
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffbiff21
read through ALL of these very carefully.

http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=155

http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...rclocking.html

http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=160

conclusion: any memory over ddr2-1000 is basically a waste. The only boards which can hit 500+ mhz front side bus stable that are the Intel-chipset (P965, 975X) boards.



Im running it sync with the memory, 425x9, (something like 3825 mhz) 1.55 vcore. It is still a Conroe core, just like your X6800. though it only cost 1/3 of an X6800. Though I did waste money on my memory

Oh cool! thanks for the links!
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-07, 05:57 AM   #30
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Digital_Trans, you have to be the slyest mofo alive at 1.9v. Just here to point out a couple of things.

First, I found the HT1.2v voltage to be just as important to get right as the vcore. I have the core at 1.425v and the HT1.2v at 1.5. You can up the vcore all u want but if the HT1.2v is not right then it'll be no good. Also, too high and you risk damaging stuff. Just make sure it's not going over 1.55v in the 'Voltage Monitor' in the BIOS (don't trust software in Windows).

Secondly, the Striker Extreme has a problem with going over 420 on the FSB. Any more and the memory bandwidth drops ALOT. U should experiment a bit. Set it at 420 and use Sandra to do a bandwidth test, then try 425. On mine, and on everything i've read they loose 10-15% of the memory speed over 420 which makes clocking sooo high pointless. It's not all about getting the core to silly speeds.

What multiplier u using???

EDIT: This is a MUST read .... http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mai...r-extreme.html . These dudes know there s**t.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-07, 06:14 PM   #31
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
Digital_Trans, you have to be the slyest mofo alive at 1.9v. Just here to point out a couple of things.

First, I found the HT1.2v voltage to be just as important to get right as the vcore. I have the core at 1.425v and the HT1.2v at 1.5. You can up the vcore all u want but if the HT1.2v is not right then it'll be no good. Also, too high and you risk damaging stuff. Just make sure it's not going over 1.55v in the 'Voltage Monitor' in the BIOS (don't trust software in Windows).

Secondly, the Striker Extreme has a problem with going over 420 on the FSB. Any more and the memory bandwidth drops ALOT. U should experiment a bit. Set it at 420 and use Sandra to do a bandwidth test, then try 425. On mine, and on everything i've read they loose 10-15% of the memory speed over 420 which makes clocking sooo high pointless. It's not all about getting the core to silly speeds.

What multiplier u using???

EDIT: This is a MUST read .... http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mai...r-extreme.html . These dudes know there s**t.

Thank you for that great stuff! Keep it coming!
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-07, 11:03 AM   #32
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

So what multiplier u using? I found 8x to give the best performance with the 420FSB, but that's with an E6600, I don't know what the multiplier options are with your CPU. Is it 9x as standard?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-07, 10:30 PM   #33
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

never mind
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 08:17 PM   #34
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Well, after about a week and 1/2 I'm finally able to rebuild my computer again. Intel and Asus replaced everyrthing so who ever commented on Intel not going to replace anything your dead wrong...lmao! I can RMA just about anything trust me. Anyway, I can't wait to set on my big fat a$$ all day and play games once again in a dark room with no windows...LOL well, I'm not fat but I can be extremely lazy.
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-07, 12:49 AM   #35
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

I had a few final questions on the VCore Voltage. I was reading on the Intel retail box the following information..... FPO/BATCH# L632A430 Version: D63545-002 1.35VMAX Does the 1.35VMAX mean 1.35 Voltage Max for the VCore Voltage? or something else?
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-07, 08:31 AM   #36
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Intel Core 2 X6800 Won't OC passed 3.21Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_Trans
I had a few final questions on the VCore Voltage. I was reading on the Intel retail box the following information..... FPO/BATCH# L632A430 Version: D63545-002 1.35VMAX Does the 1.35VMAX mean 1.35 Voltage Max for the VCore Voltage? or something else?
Yeah that sounds like the vCore to me. Mine is 1.33v max, but that's at stock speeds. Overclocking will obviously need more power than 1.35v if ya going for max clocks.

I just got a Q6600 to replace my current E6600 but I aint had chance to start clocking yet as the mobo has been playing up . I took it for testing back where I got it but it tested fine. So i'm gonna try again tonight, hopefully it'll be ok. I've only just found out about the DX10 Lost Planet demo that's out and i'm dying to give it a go, see how it runs
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 08:15 PM
$1,099.99 - CyberpowerPC Gamer Xtreme 1335 Desktop PC Intel Core i7 3770k(3.50GHz) 8G News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-27-12 09:20 AM
$999.99 - iBUYPOWER Gamer Extreme NE945i Desktop PC Intel Core i5 3570k(3.40GHz) 8GB News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-26-12 01:00 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 09:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.