Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-07, 09:23 PM   #1
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default 4gigs.... worth it?

Well to cut right down to it, I currently have 2gigs (2 1gig sticks) of DDR2 PC2-6400 running duel channel and overclocked. Worth noting is that everything runs great on my PC (i.e. no slowdowns or stuttering). My question is, is getting another 2gigs (2 more matched 1gig sticks) really worth the extra money at this time? This would mean a total of 4 1 gig sticks running in my system. I am currently running Vista Business 32bit and do a lot of heavy gaming. Worth noting is I plan on sticking with 32bit Vista untill the bugs are worked out of the 64-bit version. This leads into my next question which is if more ram is worth it... will Vista 32-bit only being able to see 3gigs mess up anything or add instibility to my system because it can't see or use all the ram? Thanks!
__________________
Intelģ Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-07, 09:28 PM   #2
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
Well to cut right down to it, I currently have 2gigs (2 1gig sticks) of DDR2 PC2-6400 running duel channel and overclocked. Worth noting is that everything runs great on my PC (i.e. no slowdowns or stuttering). My question is, is getting another 2gigs (2 more matched 1gig sticks) really worth the extra money at this time? This would mean a total of 4 1 gig sticks running in my system. I am currently running Vista Business 32bit and do a lot of heavy gaming. Worth noting is I plan on sticking with 32bit Vista untill the bugs are worked out of the 64-bit version. This leads into my next question which is if more ram is worth it... will Vista 32-bit only being able to see 3gigs mess up anything or add instibility to my system because it can't see or use all the ram? Thanks!
I think it would be a good idea to go up to 4 gigs of ram. I'm sure there's a setting that allows you to disable a module.
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-07, 09:31 PM   #3
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

You might lose your dual channel.
Not 100% on this, someone else will know I'm sure.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 04:08 AM   #4
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Many boards reduce your FSB from using all slots. I think your best bet is to wait for your next upgrade and get 2x2GB modules.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 04:43 AM   #5
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

I have 4GB of RAM / Vista Ultimate x64 and truly love it. I have browser (Opera) running, Outlook 2007, Word 2007, Live Messenger, Fedora Core 6 (full OS) under VMWARE Player with MySQL/Apache, UEStudio IDE, and I can still launch Lost Planet demo and enjoy it without shutting down any applications. 4GB of RAM and quadcore handle all this with real ease.

4x1GB runs at DDR900 / dualchannel with no problems, P965 chipset can handle well up to 8GB (4x2GB).

Older config of my PC (with E6600), but shows the memory well: http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 07:17 AM   #6
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

4GB really makes a difference is Vista 64. Everything is smoother, more responsive and I hardly ever hit the pagefile. Because of compatibility issues with a previous BIOS on my motherboard, I went with a 2x2GB configuration.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 08:20 AM   #7
DHP
Graph-X-Freak
 
DHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 347
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Well, I have a P5N32E-SLi, witch is the same board as the Striker Extreme, only less heatpipes and no LCD Poster, but everything works fine here.... See sig.
__________________
Lian Li PC-A71A | ASUS P6T Deluxe | Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz 1,25V | Thermalright Ultra 120 + Scythe S-Flex 1200
HD5870 1GB Crossfire | 3 x 2GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHz | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
2x Intel X25M 80GB @ RAID0 | 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB RAID0 | 1 x Seagate Barracuda 1TB | 1x Western Digital Caviar GP 1TB
Cooler Master Real Power M1000 | Samsung 245B 24" Widescreen LCD
DHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 08:59 AM   #8
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHP
Well, I have a P5N32E-SLi, witch is the same board as the Striker Extreme, only less heatpipes and no LCD Poster, but everything works fine here.... See sig.
Yeah, the problem was with Corsair memory on an earlier BIOS. That problem was fixed, after I went with 2x2.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-17-07, 09:04 AM   #9
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

If you're not gonna use Vista 64bit anytime soon, don't go to 4GB, because 1GB of it will just go to waste. So either stick with 2GB dual channel or 3GB single channel.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 09:36 AM   #10
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

4 gigs might be worth it, but my question is this... if you aren;t having any problems, why mess with it just yet?

just use Readyboost! get a 2 gig USB stick! hahaha!! readyboost FTL!
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 09:36 AM   #11
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
If you're not gonna use Vista 64bit anytime soon, don't go to 4GB, because 1GB of it will just go to waste. So either stick with 2GB dual channel or 3GB single channel.

4 sticks, where only 3 are seen by the OS is still better than 3 sticks, where you would have to run single channel. And, XP runs even better with more than 2gb of ram, so even if 1gb is wasted, you still get the benefit of having more than 2gb.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 09:58 AM   #12
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slammin
4 sticks, where only 3 are seen by the OS is still better than 3 sticks, where you would have to run single channel. And, XP runs even better with more than 2gb of ram, so even if 1gb is wasted, you still get the benefit of having more than 2gb.
No, XP does not run better with more than 2GB of RAM. You'll barely notice any performance gain from 2GB to 4GB. In fact it may run slower. Vista 32-bit with 4GB may give you BSODs and memory dumps.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flame's crypto attack may have needed $200,000 worth of compute power News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 09:40 PM
Water cooling, is it worth it? VoltFox CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 15 09-28-02 03:53 AM
AthlonXP 1700 to 2200: is it worth it? Gator CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-06-02 02:45 PM
Is the GeForce 4 Ti still worth buying? netape NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 51 09-05-02 10:53 PM
Is AGP 8x worth the wait? nvnews-reader CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 08-11-02 03:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.