Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-07, 01:22 PM   #1
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Angry Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

This is driving me completely nuts and is making Vista a lot more irritating than it has to be.

For some reason, all of the games I have played in Vista have mouse acceleration enabled, even though its turned off in setpoint and in windows.

What this means is if I move the mouse 3 inches slowly I can do a full turn in a first person shooter. If I move the mouse 3 inches quickly it will do 1.5 or 2 turns. This makes it nearly impossible to aim accurately, especially since I've been playing games with acceleration off for as long as I can remember.

I've checked Logitech's forums and I've done google and yahoo searches with no luck. In fact I only found one thread on some CS:S forum mentioning this problem with a few posters saying they had it too but there was no fix.

I guess the old mousefix.reg file that worked in XP no longer works, but I haven't tried it (it'd probably just break something else).

I'm curious as to how anyone is playing any competitive games in Vista with this crap turned on...?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 12:39 AM   #2
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

You sure it's not that "Render X frames ahead" setting for you vid card? I think it defaults to 3 and I can really tell the difference between 3 and 2. I haven't adjusted it on my Vista install in awhile, and don't even have Rivatuner installed but maybe you should check that out.

You can set it to 1 also, but that kills your fps.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 06:08 AM   #3
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

Double check that you have 'Game detection' Enabled and 'Keep mouse acceleration off'. Also try reinstalling SetPoint if you've been changing registry options or using some of those 3rd party tools. My G7 seems to work fine with those settings, otherwise spin spin spin.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 06:50 AM   #4
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

I thought a couple of other folks complained about their logitechs performance here...my G5 does exactly what it's supposed to.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 10:04 AM   #5
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

I recently upgraded to the new 2 button G5 mouse and noticed that Vista for some reason still has a control panel setting for the mouse that effects the G5 mouse independent of the Setpoint software. So, I turned off acceleration in the Vista mouse control panel and that did make things better. Have a look at that and see if that might be the problem.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 12:55 PM   #6
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
I thought a couple of other folks complained about their logitechs performance here...my G5 does exactly what it's supposed to.
my replacement G7 is working fine too

but i need to get rid of G15 if i want to play FEAR above 15fps
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 01:13 PM   #7
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
my replacement G7 is working fine too

but i need to get rid of G15 if i want to play FEAR above 15fps
That's what the problem is?! Wow..I wouldn't have guessed. That does make me think of a vista tweak I saw a while back though, diabling all unused HIDs in the device manager. he claimed it cleared up a lot of his problems.

Either way, glad you found the problem!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 01:44 PM   #8
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

Man Cap, Your having all sorts of problems.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-17-07, 02:04 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
That's what the problem is?! Wow..I wouldn't have guessed. That does make me think of a vista tweak I saw a while back though, diabling all unused HIDs in the device manager. he claimed it cleared up a lot of his problems.

Either way, glad you found the problem!
i'm not 100% positive, but i did uninstall G15 driver/sofware rebooted, pluged in an old MS wireless keyboard and played fear for over an hour and no problem.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 05:39 PM   #10
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
i'm not 100% positive, but i did uninstall G15 driver/sofware rebooted, pluged in an old MS wireless keyboard and played fear for over an hour and no problem.
That would bother me..isn't that a $100.00 keyboard?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 07:48 AM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

$65 got it on sale
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 08:03 AM   #12
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Vista Mouse Acceleration in games...

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Man Cap, Your having all sorts of problems.
You have NO idea...

But I did manage to fix this.

In setpoint I had to turn on "Setpoint implementation" under speed and acceleration, then turn pointer acceleration off.

That seems to have gotten rid of it. I tried changing it form OS to setpoint implementation before but I guess it keeps track of the acceleration settings for each mode and I must have forgot to turn acceleration off again after changing it.

1 problem down, 40 more to go.

If I wasn't so damned picky I probably wouldn't even notice most of the "problems" my PC is having.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Op-Ed: E3 games exploit real fears in a tumultuous world News Gaming Headlines 0 06-17-12 09:40 PM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Rumor: Sony Cloud Deal Will Make PS3 Backwards Compatible, Stream PS2/PS1 games News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 01:10 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 11:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.