Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-07, 04:38 PM   #1
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

I'm currently running my Q6600 at 3ghz (333x9) using EasyTune5...

For some reason, my bios can't boot at even (267x9) and autorecovers to defaults.

The only thing I need to do is get my fsb from 266 to 333 every time windows starts.

So I was just wondering what software everyone else is using? I find EasyTune 5 a bit bloated.

Should probably mention its a 965 board (Gigabyte DS3P)
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 06:25 PM   #2
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

People still use software to OC thier CPU's?? I just do it in the BIOS.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 07:25 PM   #3
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

I'd use the bios as well if Gigabyte would fix it!
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 09:48 PM   #4
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

If you can overclock from windows but not from bios. Then one of two things are happening.

A) You are not properly overclocking in bios. And the software is making adjustments other than just upping the FSB.
B) You computer is not stable which is causing it not to boot.
Have you ran stability tests after overclocking in windows?
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 01:08 AM   #5
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

I use my bios. It's been completely reliable thus far. Why use anything else when something is working perfectly to begin with?
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 04:10 AM   #6
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

Quote:
If you can overclock from windows but not from bios. Then one of two things are happening.

A) You are not properly overclocking in bios. And the software is making adjustments other than just upping the FSB.
B) You computer is not stable which is causing it not to boot.
Have you ran stability tests after overclocking in windows?

From what I have read on various forums, there is an issue a fair number of people are getting where the Gigabyte DS3P bios won't allow overclocking to be enabled when using an Nvidia card. The only solution that has been found is to 1:- Use an Ati Card or 2:- Boot from a PCI card, enable overclocking then shut down and put your pci-e graphics card back in.

In windows, my computer is stable at 3ghz and I have tested it as 100% stable... and have in fact clocked it higher as of last night.

I can't even enable the overclocking options in the bios at the moment.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 09:03 AM   #7
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

You can't enable overclocking? I thought you said you could increase your fsb in bios and it will not boot?

(I have never used your mobo, not sure what you mean there)
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 09:21 AM   #8
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

Quote:
You can't enable overclocking? I thought you said you could increase your fsb in bios and it will not boot?

(I have never used your mobo, not sure what you mean there)
The bios basically has [Host clock speed] : [enable][disable]
Then it has the fsb setting.

If I enable Host clock speed and then just leave the fsb at the default 266, when I reboot it auto recovers. There is a massive 65 page thread about it on vr-zone. It appears to be a conflict between the motherboard and nvidia graphics cards.

Which is why I need some nice overclocking software cause EasyTune5 works great... but its very in your face.

This is from an unofficial FAQ:

Quote:
[Q] Why can’t I overclock at all?
Symptoms of no o/c’ing at all (may be one, may be all):
Cannot change PCIe bus speed, after changing to anything from Auto the system resets in POST before mem testing.
Cannot change fsb because system resets as above.
Changing any V in BIOS doesn’t make any difference in o/c.
Changing timing in BIOS doesn’t make any difference in o/c

Changing in my mind means ex. 267fsb (stock 266), 265fsb and so on. These are slightly (and more significant) changes which cannot be done. This is not a problem of >450fsb or sth. This is a problem of no o/c at all!
This is not a problem of a fsbwall – this is not for you if you have already overclocked even a 1Mhz!

[A]Your VGA card is probably making MB not to overclock. Try buying some crappy PCI /not PCIe/ VGA 1MB card (or 2, 4 MBs ) and putting it in, booting with only PCI VGA. It worked for me, I could overclock and when I finished I put my 7600GS inside. Everything is working quite ok If not, just try another video card but a different model.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-07, 04:00 PM   #9
darkrider01
A little rough at first
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The DEEP South - North Carolina
Posts: 483
Red face Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

This may or may not apply to your situation:

In several of the Gigabyte mobos I have used as of late, most of the overclocking options are hidden. When you come into your BIOS main screen, Press CTRL+F1. Then, when you go into your "M.I.T." section, you'll have a ton more options available.

If you already knew about all that, sorry I couldn't help more.
__________________
School Bus - Intel i7 4770K * ASRock Z87 Extreme6/AC * EVGA GTX 590 * Kingston HyperX Beast 16GB 2400MHz DDR3* Alienware TactX Keyboard * RAZER Mamba * Pioneer DVR-212D * Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD * 10+TB Other Storage * Ultra X3 1000W PSU * Dell U2913WM * Beats by Dr. Dre headphones * Klipsch Promedia 2.1 * Cooler Master HAF XB * Cooler Master Hyper N520 * Windows 7 Ultimate
Mass Transit - Xeon E3-1275 V2 * G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 * EVGA GTX660 * Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB SSD * Seagate Momentus XT 750GB * Dell 2001FP * Viewsonic VX2250 * Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 * Windows 7 Ultimate
RV - Alienware M18x * i7 2670QM * Dual 560 GTX * 1.25TB Storage * Windows 7 Ultimate
Van by the River - Panasonic PT-AX200U * Homebrew 9' x 5' screen * Pioneer VSX-1121-K * Bose Acoustimass 6 * Velodyne VX10 Subwoofer * PS3/Xbox/Xbox360/Wii/WiiU/DirecTV HR22
Packin HEAT
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 05:25 PM   #10
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

I've had a breakthrough... its currently overclocked to 3ghz in the bios!!!

It turns out after trying everything I could think of... the ds3p board can't overclock with ANY USB devices attached (except keyboard or mouse). So tomorrow I need to pick up an internal usb card.

Strange but true! But given the choice between a 2.4ghz quad core and usb hub or 3ghz quad core and buying a cheap internal usb card... I know which one I'll be doing.

Thanks for all the suggestions.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 06:20 PM   #11
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

My dads MSI board hides the overclocking options. Why with everyone OC'ing these days would you hide something so important?!?!
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 06:33 PM   #12
Aphot
lol wut?
 
Aphot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to Aphot Send a message via MSN to Aphot
Default Re: What software do you overclock your cpu with (Intel)?

BIOS,
__________________
Intel I7 920 4.0GHz (Noctua NH-D14)
Asus P6X58D Premium
6GB G.Skill PC12800 (2GB x 3)
2 HIS HD6970's in Crossfire
Western Digital;
2 Velociraptor 300GB in Raid 0
2 Caviar Black 1.0TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Denon PRA-1000 , POA-1500
Celestion Ditton 442's
Corsair HX 1050
Antec P183
Dell U2410
Sennheiser HD 555
Razer Deathadder / Razer Lycosa
Aphot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 08:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.