Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-07, 02:49 PM   #1
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Page File and Vista

I have 4 gbs of memory (check sig), and my page file is defined by the system, i have yet to play with it.

When i first boot up the system, it says im using 755 mbs of it in the task manager.

Is that too high? What should i do to lower it?
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-07, 04:11 PM   #2
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: Page File and Vista

Well the reason it is using that much is due to prefetch.

Since you have 4 gigs of ram, I would leave prefetch on though.
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-07, 04:41 PM   #3
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Page File and Vista

What would happen if i turned it off?
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-07, 05:05 PM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Page File and Vista

It could cause problems with software that requires it, like Photoshop.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 04:02 AM   #5
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Page File and Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by breathemetal
When i first boot up the system, it says im using 755 mbs of it in the task manager.

Is that too high? What should i do to lower it?
You don't have to care about it. I have 4GB of RAM and after complete bootup Vista Ultimate x64 takes about 1.2GB of RAM. It preloads a lot of stuff via SuperFetch, runs indexing, and many services. It makes consequent app launches immediate, and offers a lot of "goodies".

If you really want, you can disable some of them, but I think it is absolutely unnecessary, as Vista memory management is smart, and frees memory as needed. I can run Outlook 2007, Live Messenger, Word 2007, Fedora Core 6 linux OS under VMWARE Player, and launch Lost Planet demo at the same time, and memory usage does not go above 70%.

http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/servicecfg.htm

// EDIT as you have Vista x86, you cannot use all 4GB of RAM, but rather 3.2GB (or so).
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 08:04 AM   #6
SlieTheSecond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 703
Default Re: Page File and Vista

With 32 bit windows you get around 3.2GB of memory.

With 64 bit windows you can get around 128GB I think of memory.
__________________
E6400 @ 3200 mhz (400x8) 1.45v || 2x 8800 GT || OCZ 600Watt sli || 22" LG Flatron
2x1GB Apacer PC2-6400 @ 850mhz 4-4-4-15 || Asus P5N32-E Sli Plus || Zalman 9500 AT || 200GB SATA / 320GB SATA WD HD

3D Mark 06: 12461 || 3D Mark 05: 18397 || 3D Mark 03: 40149
SlieTheSecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 08:31 PM   #7
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Page File and Vista

What would be the "cons" of switching to the 64 bit version?

All i mainly do is game, download (via utorrent), watch dvd's, surf the web, and run photoshop, adobe audition, word 2007 (sometimes outlook), and various other apps.
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 08:36 PM   #8
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Page File and Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by breathemetal
What would be the "cons" of switching to the 64 bit version?

All i mainly do is game, download (via utorrent), watch dvd's, surf the web, and run photoshop, adobe audition, word 2007 (sometimes outlook), and various other apps.
Nothing then, Most of those apps are 64bit compatible. Gamers are the ones who should be careful about switching to 64bit.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.