Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-07, 10:53 AM   #37
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilchris
I don't get info from magazines.
I do, because I can't afford the things they write about, myself...
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 11:00 AM   #38
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
Everybody, everybody, let's get into it.
Get stupid.
Get Kevpla, get Kevpla, get Kevpla.
Let's get Kevpla (ha), let's get Kevpla in here. Let's get Kevpla (ha), let's get Kevpla in here.
Let's get Kevpla (ha), let's get Kevpla in here. Let's get Kevpla (ha), let's get Kevpla in here.
Yeah.


Please stop ,i'm dying here
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 11:36 AM   #39
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthBeavis
I HAVE a Toshiba A1 dude (first gen HD DVD player - the lowest end). It is now collecting dust because it was a pain in the ass to use. God damned thing was slow as hell to use and buggy as hell. The 360 HD DVD gives just as good a picture and is way easier to use. If you walked a block in my shoes with this HD DVD deal you would totally see where I am coming from. I am not a fan boy of any paticular technology I just want decent HD dude. The setup I have now works well. Would a top-of-the-line HD DVD and BR unit work better? Sure. I don't care to shell out another couple grand for a slight improvement. As it is I am having custom speakers built (several thousand dollars) and am looking for a good receiver to pair with them (likely Denon). I am also looking for a sub.

A Toshiba HD-XA2 is $500, not a couple grand. If you think an X360 HD DVD addon even comes remotely close to it in A/V quality then you are a lost cause. The improvement isn't slight, it's massive. I've ran an HD-A1, XA1, A2, XA2 and X360 addon. I don't need to "walk a block" in your shoes as I've been further.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 11:37 AM   #40
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toss3
I do, because I can't afford the things they write about, myself...
It's worse than reading about cars in magazines. They all have an agenda, are paid by manufacturers in free stuff etc..
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 12:21 PM   #41
Ruined
Registered User
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

I have the HD-A1 and its a fantastic player. Its built like a tank and has outstanding picture quality in both HD and upscaling. Standard DVD players with similar upscaling cost twice as much.

Yeah, it takes a while to load but that has been reduced significantly in the 2nd gen which is available now for less than $250 (HD-A2). However, long load times do not make the HD-A1 a 'POS', it is simply one of the few CONs the device has.

Also, the HD-XA2 (~$550) does indeed smoke the X360 addon in image quality because it has a Silicon Optix Reon-VX video processor chip integrated for both HD DVD and SD upscaling which is much better than the software processing offered by the 360.
__________________
We're all in it together.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU | Intel G965WH mobo | 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2-667mhz CAS5 RAM (1066MHz FSB) | BFG GeForce 285 GTX OC 1GB | Dell E228WFP 22" DVI-HDCP LCD Monitor | 1TB Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Main Drive | 500GBx2 Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Scratch Drives in RAID0 | Western Digital RE3 1TB SATA2 Media Drive | External 2TB Western Digital MyBook Backup Drive | Adaptec eSATA 3.0gbps PCI-E interface | Sandisk External 12-in-1 Flash Card Reader | LG GGC-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD writer | LG GGW-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD/BD writer | Microsoft E4000 Ergonomic Keyboard | Logitech Trackman Wheel | Antec P182 ATX Case | Thermaltake ToughPower XT 850w modular PSU | KRK RP-8 Rokit Studio Monitors | Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Ruined is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 12:32 PM   #42
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Is the Reon VX for both HD and SD content? I could've sworn it was only used for SD content.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 02:27 PM   #43
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

The A1 does decode Dolby True HD. All stand-alone HD DVD decks must. It's a standard.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 02:56 PM   #44
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butter Bandit
My Jeep is a standard.
I don't think I follow you.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-29-07, 02:57 PM   #45
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthBeavis
U picked one out of several requirements dude. A1 <> 1080p and <> operating like a standard DVD player (meaning lame operation). It is ghey to have company over and have to wait 5 minutes for the HD DVD unit to warm up and load . . .


A1 = teh SuX, if you think otherwise then you just allowed yourself to settle for lameness. If the later models have improved then great for them. It still does not take away from the A1 sucking. Does the 360 do everything? hell no. There is definately a trade off. For me the convenience outweighs cons. Once the format war is settled maybe I will pop for a dedicated unit. Until then the consoles will suffice.
Load times aside, why is 1080p important? You have the same TV as evilchris and he's stated on numerous occasions the TV has a built-in scalar or whatever you want to call it that takes 1080i60 feeds and deinterlaces them to 1080p30
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 03:18 PM   #46
Ruined
Registered User
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthBeavis
The A1 is buggy as hell and I don't mean just bad load times. It takes an act of congress to get the damned thing to even play or eject a dvd. I guess I would consider a dedicated unit if it offered 1080p, TrueHD, and worked like a standard DVD player in terms of load time. I use my Sony 5 disc upscaling DVD changer for SD DVDS so upscaling does not matter (the only SD DVDs I watch are Taekwondo training DVDS anyways). I stand my statement the 360 HD DVD add on is superior to the A1 or at least equal to it.
If you find the A1 is "buggy as hell" and you have the latest 2.2 firmware loaded, it sounds like you have a defective or failing unit. There are no significant bugs to speak of with the latest firmware, and if you have such problems your unit likely needs to be repaired.
__________________
We're all in it together.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU | Intel G965WH mobo | 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2-667mhz CAS5 RAM (1066MHz FSB) | BFG GeForce 285 GTX OC 1GB | Dell E228WFP 22" DVI-HDCP LCD Monitor | 1TB Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Main Drive | 500GBx2 Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Scratch Drives in RAID0 | Western Digital RE3 1TB SATA2 Media Drive | External 2TB Western Digital MyBook Backup Drive | Adaptec eSATA 3.0gbps PCI-E interface | Sandisk External 12-in-1 Flash Card Reader | LG GGC-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD writer | LG GGW-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD/BD writer | Microsoft E4000 Ergonomic Keyboard | Logitech Trackman Wheel | Antec P182 ATX Case | Thermaltake ToughPower XT 850w modular PSU | KRK RP-8 Rokit Studio Monitors | Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Ruined is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 03:40 PM   #47
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined
If you find the A1 is "buggy as hell" and you have the latest 2.2 firmware loaded, it sounds like you have a defective or failing unit. There are no significant bugs to speak of with the latest firmware, and if you have such problems your unit likely needs to be repaired.
Quit speaking facts...
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 06:20 PM   #48
Ancient
Occasional User
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Too far from the beach
Posts: 619
Default Re: I've got to admin, Sony's got brainwashing down perfect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthBeavis
U picked one out of several requirements dude. A1 <> 1080p and <> operating like a standard DVD player (meaning lame operation). It is ghey to have company over and have to wait 5 minutes for the HD DVD unit to warm up and load . . .


A1 = teh SuX, if you think otherwise then you just allowed yourself to settle for lameness. If the later models have improved then great for them. It still does not take away from the A1 sucking. Does the 360 do everything? hell no. There is definately a trade off. For me the convenience outweighs cons. Once the format war is settled maybe I will pop for a dedicated unit. Until then the consoles will suffice.
I prefer the 360 add-on connected to the HTPC. You get the benefit of good load times, PQ that easily can rival the best stand-alone unit, and fine-grained control of the picture and sound that a stand-alone can't match. The only drawback is that it's uglier than sin. Though if internal HD DVD drives ever come out in the US that will be a problem of the past.
__________________
"You know the difference between cannibals and liberals? Cannibals only eat their enemies."
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.